We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in good location”
Review of Pension Martinshof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Martinshof
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Short stay over christmas.
Lovely family run B&B.
Friendly host full of local knowledge and info.
Rooms spacious and clean - bathroom compact.
Good choice of cold breakfast.
Only 200 m from lift.
Opposite ski school at back of Alpin fitness hockfest hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterball-49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 18 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2011

We had a great holiday here with our children 12/13 yrs ideal for this age. We were in the middle of Obergurgl with the ski bus stop just outside. Rooms were clean and the family were most helpful. We would go back again and again....I would stay at a more central hotel with young children.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahmskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

we got in two days later than scheduled because of flight delays and baggage delays, but Haus Martinshof was very nice to keep our room for us. we did pay a deposit of 478 euros before we arrive to secure the room so we weren't too worried about not having a room for us eventhough we were a couple of days late!
anyways, they were really nice people BUT we were very disappointed with the room. We booked a room with a balcony. Turns out, the room has a balcony but there was no view...in fact, our balcony looks out into a walking ramp so the curtains would have to be drawn the whole time or else people walking by could just look into our room. there was no privacy at all.
the room smelled musky / in fact the whole hotel has this strange old smell!! and it felt like we walked into a 70s time capsule. We thought the room looked bad but when we walked into the bathroom, we were shocked. first, it was really old looking, and again there was a window in the shower that looks out onto the same ramp that people walked on. no privacy at all. The towels in the bathroom were not even of the same color, one was blue and one was pink, with a striped floor towel that didn't match. The bathroom smelled like old pee.
it was pretty bad. so bad that immediately after getting into our room, and I walked out going from door to door of hotels in obergurgl looking for an available room. it was carnival week and all the hotels seemed fully booked. fortunately, we managed to find a room in Jenewein Hotel and we moved there the next day and stayed there for the rest of our stay in obergurgl.
we didn't ask for any of the deposit back from Haus Martinshof for they were nice enough to keep the room for us. BUT i did tell the lady that it wasn't what we expected. their website and pictures were misleading. And though she said it was a Bed and Breakfast and it isn't a hotel, we have stayed at another Bed and Breakfast in Obergurgl in our last stay and it was WAY BETTER than this place/ and even a little cheaper!!! the room at our last B&B was way nicer, with nicer views, though smaller but much updated and cosier. Becuse we were able to compare our last stay at a B&B with this one, we were very very disappointed! Thank god we got a room elsewhere though we had to pay lots more but at least our vacation wasn't ruined!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2008

We found Haus Martinshof by accident on the web, our friends had booked to stay at Wiesenthal Hotel about 5 minutes walk away which was full at the time we wished to join them. However, we weren't let down by the Martinshof experience, Anneliese, the owner, runs a beautifully appointed hotel offering bed & breakfast and immaculately appointed/kept accommodation - no faults or complaints - this was a first rate experience in large guestroom that offered all the amenities you would want of a ski village hotel. There is even a luxuriously appointed wellness room with sauna, steam room, relaxation loungers and every morning a sumptuous alpine breakfast selection with boiled eggs on request! We stayed here over New Year and the atmosphere was most pleasant. Obergurgl celebrates New Year in some style with huge fireworks and partying in the streets. Quite full on for what is a laidback and upscale ski village.
Martinshof lies only 2 mins walk from the Hochgurgl gondola and approx 5 mins walk from central Obergurgl's ski hire, shopping, ski school centre and the main gondola and chairlifts onto the mountain. You have the choice of Obergurgl or Hochgurgl skiing from here and there's a fast gondola (the Top Express) between the two mountains, for those that have skis on their feet! The range of ski runs here is awesome, great for beginners (like us), intermediate, family and advanced. Our friends are advanced / off-piste skiers and they have been skiing in Obergurgl for about 15 years! We will certainly back and wouldn't hesitate to book Haus Martinshof once again ... for the room rate, this is an excellent great value and quality base at which to stay, as most other hotels are pricy and in the 4 or 5 star half-board category.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWood_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank N v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nr.1 - nomen estr omen-Blick zur aufgehenden Sonne über den Gipfeln.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fritz088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nr. 1-Doppelzimmer garantiert "Zimmer mit Aussicht"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fritz088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
2.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Laurin
Alpenhotel Laurin
#4 of 4 in Hochgurgl
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Josl Mountain Lounging
Josl Mountain Lounging
#22 of 33 in Obergurgl
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lohmann
Hotel Lohmann
#6 of 33 in Obergurgl
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenland
Hotel Alpenland
#12 of 33 in Obergurgl
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#20 of 33 in Obergurgl
99 reviews
0 mi away
Timmelseck
Timmelseck
#19 of 26 in Obergurgl
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Martinshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Martinshof

Address: Gurglerstrasse 98, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Obergurgl
Price Range: $136 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Martinshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing