We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant”
Review of Haus Gurgl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haus Gurgl
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A small but pleasant hotel.Very clean,good breakfast,excellent access to ski area.Very helpful staff/owners.We opted for half-board with Crystal Ski,the evening meals were taken at the Alpenaussicht Hotel directly accross the road,great food & plenty of it.
Obergurgl is a great resort for blue run skiers,also a good family resort & few queues for the lifts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yachter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Not really sure this is linked to the E&G but otherwise reviews are fair and worth reading for the small details e.g if it worries you the keys are so exposed or the sauna is nude or the pizzeria can't be booked and its bar is small or the lift goes to level 2 not 3 etc. Basically this is a really good B&B hotel and you can access some other facilities eg bowling at Alpenhotel?, restaurants and possibly swimming at one of the big hotels but otherwise it is what it is and does it well. BTW if your coronaries can't stand 7 pizza pastas in a row, other than eating elsewhere the mini market near the lift sells cheap salad, dressing salami/tuna and wine and save youself 30E.

Skiing Obergurgl/Hochgurgl spring has many positives - warm, v. high (don't bother making tea at 2000m) and reasonably easy (ignoring the last 1km of slush at the bottom) until the moguls appear but if you are intermediary or better there is 1 days of pistes and another day or two of offish piste fun plus the day in Solden (make sure you ask for this on the pass when you buy it, you can't add it later).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laozhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is the second time we've stayed at the Haus Gurgl and both time it's exceeded our expectations. Very friendly, great service, roomy and clean rooms!. We stayed B&B so we eat in either the Pizzeria attached to the hotel which again has great5 service and very good food. Pizzas (obviously!) pasta, etc... We didn't seem to get organised to book a table for the 2 of us but they always found a table. One night when it was really busy they took our room no. and gave us a call when the table was ready. Excellent!
The hotel is located right next door to the nursery slope and drag lift that takes you towards the Festgoglebahn which goes right up into Obergurgl skiing area.
Nedderhutt apres ski is brilliant...

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are smaller than rooms without. And how often do you sit outside on the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Haus Gurgl is a friendly, clean, comfortable hotel. It is very well positioned for the ski lift and the rest of the town. The staff were excellent. Friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is plentiful. Belmonte is very good although very busy and we were suprised hotel guests were unable to make a reservation. Also, the bar was always over busy and apart from the bedrooms there is no other public space for guests to sit. However, on balance it was a good choice and we will have no hesitation returning to the hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

A good , clean , friendly bed and breakfast pension in Obergurgl. Having visited this resort twice now, i would go back to a hotel where meals are included. Restaurants are far and few between. The pizzeria, also owned by Haus Gurgl , which is underneath the property, is lovely, but not for 7 nights, it becomes a bit boring. When the weather is very bad i found this year all i wanted to do was go downstairs for my meal and this is when i missed going half board on a ski holiday. We booked bed and breakfast and were not offered the half board for meals at another hotel which other guests were as quoted on trip advisor.
There was one worry. Keys are left in the small reception during the day whilst the owner is not present. Anyone can walk into this pension and access the keys and go to the rooms. Surely this is not totally safe. The owner usually comes on duty at 5pm so all day keys left on show unguarded is a concern.
The sauna is lovely and there are towels provided. No bath robes so take your own.
Breakfast continental . On the menu was also scrambled egg. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We really liked this family run hotel, service was excellent, rooms were spacious and kept very clean. We opted for bed and breakfast which gave us the opportunity to try the local restaurants. Belmonte Pizza is part of Haus Gurgl with an excellent choice, provided either as a sit down or take away. Prices were better than France and Switzerland, so feeding a family of 5 was reasonable and the size of the meals were huge! Will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vodka&Limes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Stayed at Haus Gurgl on a ski trip with friends and children and it was superb. It is a really easy walk from the nursery slope - almost ski-in-ski-out - and easy access to the town centre.

We were on half-board with dinner provided at a nearby hotel, the Alpenaussicht, which supplied a wonderful buffet and was really close, but we did eat dinner at Haus Gurgl one night. The pizzeria is cosy, pizzas amazing and Erich was a really charming host. We had drinks in the bar several times and it was really friendly.

Breakfasts were plentiful and tasty.

The boot room was large and warm and easy to access.

Our room was just fab - we were staying with our three kids and had what I can only describe as a mini-apartment with entrance hall with HUGE cupboards (ideal for all that ski gear), large bathroom with great oval bath and a separate shower, master bedroom and lounge/second bedroom (sleeper sofas for the kids) AND a mini-bedroom off this with a bunk bed. Room was clean and comfortable.

I would highly recommend this hotel as a great family ski holiday base.

Room Tip: If you have kids try and get the room with master bed, twin sleeper sofas and bunk room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tkny44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Madeleine
Hotel Madeleine
#1 of 33 in Obergurgl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#19 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenland
Hotel Alpenland
#11 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#3 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#5 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lohmann
Hotel Lohmann
#6 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Gurgl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Gurgl

Property: Haus Gurgl
Address: Gurglerstrasse 121, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haus Gurgl 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopening Winter 2014/2015Having inspired its guests for more than 20 years as a charming B&B, Haus Gurgl will reopen from November 2014 as a standard ski hotel offering unforgettable skiing holidays.Our family-run hotel with a capacity for up to 70 guests is located right in the heart of the Ötztal Alps, at the entrance of Obergurgl which in turn is situated in the picturesque Obergurgl-Hochgurgl skiing and hiking region. Featuring 110 kilometres of perfectly groomed pistes serviced by a state-of-the-art lift system, the Obergurgl-Hochgurgl ski resort is considered to be one of the most snow-sure ski resorts in the Alps. Our hotel is located only 100 metres from the ski lifts in the centre of town and your last run will even take you right back to our hotel.With the hotel located right at the bottom of the ski resort’s final descent, all you need to do after a long day on the pistes is to unstrap your skis or board and put them in our heated storage room which is right in front of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Haus Gurgl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing