We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and service”
Review of Hotel Madeleine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Madeleine
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Had a fantastic week staying at the Hotel Madeleine from 22 March 2014. I definitely recommend this hotel and also skiing in Obergurgl, and hope to go back again soon!

The Madeleine is one of the best located hotels in Obergurgl and is a 3 minute walk to the 2 main lifts, Hohe Mut Bahn I Gondola or Rosskarbahn Charlift. Also just 1 minute from the bus stop, with regular buses to Hochgurgl or to Solden.

Good size clean and modern bedroom with everything you need on a ski holiday, including daily maid service. Lots of choice for breakfast, including some hot food, and excellent evening meals and great service throughout my stay. All hotel staff were friendly and welcoming from the moment I arrived.

Hotel has a nice bar and seating area to relax in after dinner. There is a good size ski and boot room with boot warmers. I never had time to use the spa facilities, although they looked very good too and I heard favourable reports from other guests.

Skiing conditions, especially on the high, quiet and wide slopes at Hochgurgl, were the best I've had for many years, which was helped by the heavy snow on the first day plus cold temperatures and sunny weather that followed. Make sure you pay the extra 10 Euro to upgrade your ski pass at the start of the week, so you can ski in Solden for 1 day (skiing on the glaciers was amazing!)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil_Ski2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Madeleine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 269 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is our 12th yr.going to Obergurgl and this year we decided to change hotel to the Madeleine which was highly recommended by friends who had stayed there for two consecutive yrs.
We found the location very convenient for two main lifts,ski bus terminus for Hochgurgl and ski hire shops.The room we had was on the 3rd floor and was very well appointed,with separate w/c area,well fitted bathroom with heated towel rail ,bath with excellent shower,and a balcony which conveniently caught the mid afternoon sun - the servicing of the room each day was first class.
We found the breakfast selection to be very good with hot or cold food provided,evening dinner was 5 courses, superb and beautifully presented.
Ski and boot room was easily accessable on the 1st floor and exited by external stair.The adjecent intragal Pizza resturant proved valuable for lunch especially on our day of late departure.
All staff were welcoming,friendly,helpfull and polite,in conclusion we found it to be a very well run family hotel which we would be happy to return to.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterinverkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Super hotel located in the centre of the villiage. Easy access to both gondola stations ( take the free resort bus if you wish). On arrival we were warmly welcomed and given key to our room. We were on -4 which had good views of the valey mountain. Bed was most comfortable and room ideal size for our ski gear and personal effects. Bathroom and toilet very clean. Daily cleaner tidied up for us and made beds.
Breakfast was a usual mixture of British ( eggs and bacon ) + cold meats and cheeses. Cereal choices, breads and jams. Fresh juice and tea/coffee. A weather update was provided daily on your table. Evening meals were high quality and varied. If you fancy something from the restaurant next door which is connected to the hotel, ask the waitressess in the moring for the menu and select an alternative, we tried the pizza which was heaven.
Our daily beverages bill was left in our key hole which helped keep track of spending which was really useful, no suprises at check out. I drank the house white which was very nice.
Our only disappiotment was the daily ski snack, which was the same throughout the week.and somewhat limited
We were so lucky, on our first day it snowed over 12 inches and that made for spectacluar skiing for the remaining week. The boot staff at Schrieber were helpful when we needed our boots and skis fitted and we left the 5 euro ski pass deposit as a thank you.
The piste are well looked after and there many runs to keep you happy. We skied in Hochgurgl and few days which has great slopes as well as Obergurgl, it was nice to flit between the two, dependent on weather conditions.
The mountain hut provide a good menu and we mostly stuck to white beers and wine.
If you are a couple/family looking for a relaxed resort with a quite evening then go Obergurgl all the time. It is a bout a 1 3/4 hr tranfers but the journey passes quickly through beautiful scenery.
We would definately go back to the Hotel Madeleine.

Room Tip: we were on ground floor but were not dsiturbed by the road, infact we were not woken or distrubed by...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trikiviki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our fifth visit which says something! The hotel maintains its charm and high level of service. Many of the rooms have been refurbished making them feel light and airy. It is very close to the lift system so very well located. The food continues to be of high quality with excellent presentation. The breakfast is everything you would wish for before a days skiing. The internet access is free but does not reach all of the bedrooms and requires a login each time it is used, which is annoying. Children are not supposed to be in the spa area but this rule is ignored so the relaxation is not as relaxing as it might be.
But to get us back there yet again they cannot be doing much wrong!!

Room Tip: All pretty much the same and we have now stayed in six different rooms
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mottyandfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great hotel in a convenient spot a few minutes walk from the main lift. We had a very comfortable room which was modern and well appointed. It was kept spotlessly clean at all times as was the rest of the hotel. The food was excellent with a great variety of choices on each day. The staff were always extremely helpful and charming. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albatross96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Just back from our first stay at the Madeleine and what a great hotel it is. We have stayed at other hotels in Obergurgl on a good many occasions and really enjoyed them, but the Madeleine is certainly the best, and best all round value, of them. We will certainly make it our first choice for future visits whenever it is available - book early. The hotel is family run and their warmth and attention to detail and guest satisfaction is reflected across the attitude of all the staff, restaurant - bar - cleaning etc. The food was excellent and there was more than plenty to re-fuel after a day on the slopes, the quality and variety of dishes along with its presentation would put many so called "superior" hotels to shame. Good wine list but the house red and white by the glass or "feertel" (250ml) is great for the very reasonable price - yes you do have to buy bottled water at dinner but it is a business and the great value overall should not really bother you. Very cosy bar with friendly staff, happy to chat and make you feel welcome. Great rooms, we were in one of the larger ones with a nice balcony and view, with lots of storage and very comfy beds. The spa area is of a very high quality, not large but easily big enough for the hotel size, with a good selection of facilities, which we used to refresh tired legs every day. It also has a wonderful separate relaxation room with great views if you just want to relax. Good ski room with boot warmers and only 4/5 minutes to the main lifts or 1 minute to the ski bus if heading to Hochgurgl direct.
We will definitely return to the Madeleine - a superb hotel all round.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Madeleine, Nicole, Michael, Sandy and all the team could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The food was excellent, some nights were Michelin Star quality! Spa and sauna area really fab. We would definitely recommend anyone to stay here and will return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinhollinrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#3 of 33 in Obergurgl
432 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#5 of 33 in Obergurgl
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bergwelt
Hotel Bergwelt
#2 of 33 in Obergurgl
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#19 of 33 in Obergurgl
99 reviews
2.3 mi away
Alpenhotel Laurin
Alpenhotel Laurin
#4 of 4 in Hochgurgl
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeleine

Address: Gurglerstrasse 116, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Obergurgl
#1 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
#1 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
#2 Family Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range: $262 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madeleine 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...The charmes of specialness! The wellness area at the Hotel Madeleine Lean back in a comfortable armchair. In front of you, a crackling fire. Feel the warmth. Savour the taste of your drink. The memories of a wonderful day out in nature will remain with you for a long time... Varied living. We will fulfil your every comfort wish. Our suites, apartments and rooms are appointed with a love of detail and personal involvement. Quality and sophisticated standards await you. Immerse yourself in the good feelings of relaxation and enjoyment. Regenerate and reconnect in our leisure area. At the Madeleine**** the sun shines even on cloudy days. Our wellness area is equiped with infrared cabin, whirlpool, steam bath, finnish sauna, biosauna, ice fountain, warm relaxing seats, relaxing area and vitamin bar. We are looking very much Forward to welcome you at the ****Madeleine! Yours Family Michael Gstrein and the whole staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Hotel Obergurgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing