We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Madeleine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Madeleine
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have just returned from a week in obergurgl at the Madeleine. The hotel is a smaller family run hotel. The food is of a very high quality with 4 courses every night. The staff al speak very good English and are helpful. The hotel can organise your lift passes at the hotel, and taxis. The spa was first class. The hotel was spotlessly clean through out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    38
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
88
114
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

A great little hotel in Obergurgl. The rooms are newly refurbished and have a contemporary feel. Our standard room was very spacious with settee, large flatscreen TV and loads of british TV channels. We quite enjoyed taking a glass of wine back to the room after dinner and chilling out in front of the TV (I even got to watch the Strictly final!!!)
Food was fabulous with plenty of choice and Madeline who runs the bar and dining room was an absolute star, with nothing too much trouble (even translating so we could talk to our neighbours!)
Its a few minutes flat walk to the ski lift, easily manageable in ski boots....but if you hire from Scheiber by the ski lift you can store your skis there - perfect.
My only criticisms would be 5 euro for bottled water, gggrrrrr....and at dinner we felt we were sat in "naughty corner" - next to 6 kids for the first night (thank goodness they moved ;) and either no-one or single german guests (which with Madeline's help, we tried our best to converse with) I'm sure they could easily move the tables around to stop a couple being stranded here

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emskilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Fabulous. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Warm, comfortable, exceptionally clean and one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The food was exceptional, the menu written in English a bonus and there was always a delicious vegetarian option. The small skiers afternoon snack was extensive and by no means small - diets all round now we are home! The staff were very friendly, fluent in English and nothing was too much trouble. Our bedroom was generous, the beds comfortable and the modern bathroom had a bath and shower with endless hot water and clean towels every day.The TV in our room had English channels which made a great change from the endless CNN we usually experience. The spa was beautiful, again exceptionally clean, a lovely way to relax at the end of the day. The boot room was secure and the boot pegs really were heated making that early morning foot squeezing session so much easier! The lift stations were only a short walk, 2 or 3 minutes one way from the hotel and 4 or 5 minutes in the other direction; the ski bus stop again only 2 minutes from the hotel. There is just nothing to say about this hotel that is not complementary and having visited 2 or 3 of the other hotels during the week I can only repeat that The Madeleine is the only place to stay when visiting Obergurgl.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HilarySolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

This was our first visit to Obergurgl, We booked the Madeline on the strength of comments on trip advisor and below are our thoughts on this relaxed family run hotel.

We have just returned from a superb blue sky weeks skiing in Obergurgl staying at this hotel

We stayed in one of the newer family room gurgl rooms.

The room was excellent, large spacious and a bathroom with heated floor, a comfortable bath and shower which never ever suffered from the hot water shortage i have experienced in many ski resort hotels.

The bed was firm and very comfortable and the bedding excellent quality. (The only annoyance was the corner pieces at the bottom of the bed, we kept banging our shins or knee's on these, they could do with being round not square!)

The food in the restaurant was very good and plentiful, the only real fault we found is that the service could be very slow at times and there didnt appear to be a waiter/waitress that covered any one area. Often the wait between courses was frustrating. The drinks we thought were very reasonable for such a remote location, typically water on the table is expensive though but this seems to be the case throughout Austrian hotels.

The weather was so good throught our stay we never even got to check out the Wellness facilities (Sauna/jacuzzi etc) So cant really comment on these.

If Wifi is important to you we had a good strong signal from the free wifi throughout the hotel.

The hotel is situated midway on the main street into town, The views from the rear look out over a small car park with the mountains behind, They do not look out over the sking areas though.

The walk to nearest lift station is approx 300m away (If you hire your skis/boots at the Schieber sport shop you can leave your skis and boots there overnight) The ski bus service between all the lower lifts is superb and departs every 10 mins throught the day.

Apart from the frustrations over the service in the dining room we really do recommend this hotel. We enjoyed our stay and are seriously looking at returning next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank stewart d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We booked late so checked out the reviews for Hotel Madeleine and decided to go for it.We weren't disappointed.
After 1 1/2 hour transfer from Innsbruck we were dropped off at about 2030hrs.We went straight in for dinner which was first class.It was a 5 course meal with 3 choices for main meal (meat,fish,or vegetarian) I have never met such friendly and helpful staff.
We then went to our room.It was spacious with adequate storage space.The bathroom had a fantastic power shower which was great for aching muscles.It also had a large radiator for drying wet clothes etc.and a hair dryer.
Some rooms have balcony's some don't.
Breakfast is a variety of hot and cold.You won't go hungry.
The spa at Hotel Madeleine had a jacuzzi,sauna and steam room open from 1500-1900hrs.Very clean and spacious.
The boot room has plenty of room for everyone's skis and also heated boot racks.
It's a 5 minute walk (if that) to the gondola and ski school meeting point.
We didn't experience any queueing for lifts.The slopes were perfectly maintained,wide and not too busy.We couldn't have asked for better skiing conditions.The cost of lunch on the slope was similar to other resorts.
It is fairly easy to get to Hochgurgl either by skiing or getting the bus(lovely wide runs)Some people went to Solden for the day but you have to increase your ski pass to cover this area.
Obergurgl is a small village and only has a few number of bars and shops.It has a small Spar for your essentials.
All in all this is an absolutely fantastic hotel being in a great position with the most fantastic staff.I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Favro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

I stopped going half board when skiing as usually the food is bland and of poor quality, even in 5 star accomodation in France,Austria and Switzerland. However on a short notice booking to join friends this was all I could get. They were in a higher rated hotel and thier food was not up to standard. All I can say is if you are going half board this is the place to stay. Spotlessly clean, friendly and just the best to date. Fully recomended.

Room Tip: Try not to be near the lift. Not a noisy hotel but never be near a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haygrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

It would be impossible to give this property anything but five stars - encouraged by previous reviews our expectations were high and the Hotel Madeleine exceeded these on every front. A fabulous five course meal on the first night set the tone for the holiday - beautifully presented and plenty of variety were the norm - always a choice of meat, fish and vegetarian and not one meal disappointed - service was always with a smile and the efficiency of the staff puts many of our home establishments to shame. We opted for a large room - lovely new bathroom, big austrian twin bed (crisp white linen) - in essence very very comfortable and very peaceful.
To summarise a truly proper holiday in every sense of the word - we could not criticise this hotel in any way and enjoyed every aspect of it - if you get the opportunity BOOK IT!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.4 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#4 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#5 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bergwelt
Hotel Bergwelt
#2 of 33 in Obergurgl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpen Wellness Resort Hotel Hochfirst
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#20 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeleine

Property: Hotel Madeleine
Address: Gurglerstrasse 116, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
#1 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Obergurgl
#1 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
#2 Family Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madeleine 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...The charmes of specialness! The wellness area at the Hotel Madeleine Lean back in a comfortable armchair. In front of you, a crackling fire. Feel the warmth. Savour the taste of your drink. The memories of a wonderful day out in nature will remain with you for a long time... Varied living. We will fulfil your every comfort wish. Our suites, apartments and rooms are appointed with a love of detail and personal involvement. Quality and sophisticated standards await you. Immerse yourself in the good feelings of relaxation and enjoyment. Regenerate and reconnect in our leisure area. At the Madeleine**** the sun shines even on cloudy days. Our wellness area is equiped with infrared cabin, whirlpool, steam bath, finnish sauna, biosauna, ice fountain, warm relaxing seats, relaxing area and vitamin bar. We are looking very much Forward to welcome you at the ****Madeleine! Yours Family Michael Gstrein and the whole staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Hotel Obergurgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing