We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
132
81
27
13
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
132
81
27
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews frau steiner outdoor pool next year ski school underground tunnel tap water lovely hotel boot room easy access to the slopes eggs and bacon soup each evening spa facilities booked last minute end of the day steep slope heated racks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 265 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

This was our second year in obergurgl and we booked this hotel through Crystal. I have to stay I was very impressed with this hotel. It is situated right in the centre of everything - ski in ski out via a short path to to right of the ice bar. The boot room was modern clean and very well equipped. A heated locker activated via your room key kept our skis safe and there was plenty of room for boots (heated storage) and our helmets (shelf above). This hotel is ideal for families with children. You’re so close to everything including the ski school which is a short trip via your skis down to hohe mut 1. There is a children’s area downstairs with toys books seating etc. and there is a pool table and table football for older kids.
This hotel and the Bellevue are connected via an underground tunnel which is how you access the beautiful spa area. I love to be able to swim and sauna after a day on the slopes and this didn’t disappoint. A robe and slippers come with your room so you can use this when in the spa. There is an adult only spa area where no bathing suits are allowed. I didn’t venture in because I was here with my 13 year old lad. The room was typical of Austrian ski hotels, beds firm and comfortable and throughly clean. The family who own both hotels obviously take a pride in what they do and look after their property. The food was excellent - breakfast was buffet style with cereals, breads and pastries, cheese ham and smoked salmon. Fruit, yogurts and a host of other things were also available. Dinner in the evening was a very high standard. Most evenings were 5 courses. My only slight complaint was the grumpy waitress we had all week. I don’t know if I’d said something to offend her or if she just doesn’t like brits but whilst polite, it was obvious she would rather not be talking to us. I speak a little German and try and make an effort but she never cracked a smile once!
We didn’t bother with lunch most days because there is so much food at breakfast and dinner ! There is apres ski cake available from 3pm everyday too.

There are no tea making facilities in the room but I always bring a travel kettle. Our room had a lovely balcony with a table and two chairs.

I would like to return next year. The ski area is ideal for learning and improving. If you want to harder stuff go across to Hochgurgl or get a short bus ride to Sölden.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 45caroliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel between 23rd to 30th of March. 8 family members and a friend were booked in via Ingham’s for a Ski holiday.
The location of the hotel is good, but NOT Ski in,Ski out.
It is however, only a relatively short walk via the “Ice Bar” exit from the ski slopes.
The hotel IS on a fairly steep, upward, hill from the main road. This makes getting to and from shops, ski hire, ski schools difficult, especially if you are wearing ski gear/ski boots.
There is a bus service (free) serving all the main Ski Resorts that runs along the bottom main road, but these large buses cannot access the Bellevue. A small “Hopper” type mini bus serves the village and the Hotels, but this does not run very frequently. We were left to walk as there was a 2hr gap at lunch times!! Be warned!! And, do not believe the reps that there is a frequently service here, there isn’t.
So, to the hotel it’s self. Rated a 4 star Superior, it definitely is. Outstanding evening food, 5/6 courses, mostly silver service. Really large and varied selection of salads and relishes. Children and vegetarians were very well catered for.
Not so good is being charged €4 per bottle of re-filled Tap water (no, really) and the €30 charge per bottle of “House Red wine”. Breakfasts, again, superb selection and hot food cooked to order, silver service.
Afternoon tea, serves at 15:30. Honestly, we’ve had better in catered chalets and 3 star accommodation in France. No tea or coffee served, this had to be paid for (again). Only a very small choice, one day it was warmed tinned sausages!! Big room for an improvement here, skiers be warned!!
Ski, board, separated rooms for Skis/boards and another for boots on warmed racks.
Very clean, well maintained, wonderful Spa, indoor/outdoor Swimming pool (we swam outside on a snowy evening!!). Every facility you could want for.
Our room (115) on the 1st floor was adequate, no real views, small shower/bathroom. Modern facilities, great “Grohe” shower. Again kept very clean.
A Family couple travelling with us (with 2 children) had a junior suite (Room 106).
Amazing room, large(very), walk in shower, separate toilet, wash area, dressing room. Patio, patio doors, outside table and chairs and views over the village and mountains. A really wonderful room, can’t recommend it enough.
The hotel has a nice patio area off of the main resturant, again over looking the village and mountains. Public areas were well looked after, clean, tasteful and beautifully decorated. Open log fire in the bar. Hotel has a sister Hotel “The Austria” which can be reached via an underground passage, again lovely hotel, sharing the facilities of the Bellevue.
Some of the staff were warm and friendly but some seemed austere. The owner included!!
Shame, wonderful hotel that could be really outstanding. Just a few changes could really make a difference.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank davep201g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

Picked this hotel because of its proximity to the slopes, it's a 5 minute walk at the back of the hotel to get on the slopes which lead directly to the ski lifts which take you up the mountain. You can also ski directly back from where you started at the end of the day. We were shown to our room which was one of the best we have stayed at, newly renovated and very big with nice views of the mountains. The hotel has everything people need regarding pool sauna etc. We found the staff very friendly and helpful although the wine was on the expensive side. One thing that has nothing to do with the hotel is the cost of ski and boot hire at this resort, it is twice the cost of other Austrian resorts with all the shops and travel companies ganging up to charge the same amount.

Room tip: get a room that can accomodate 4 people with a fold away sofa even if you are only a couple, the extra space is well worth it.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2019 via mobile

The hotel itself is fantastic and most of the staff are very friendly and efficient. We read lots of reviews regarding the steep slope down to the village but this was not a problem for us with our 4 month old in a pushchair.
The pools and spa are fantastic.
Our room was vast and the cleaning staff efficient and friendly.
The manager is very hard working but not friendly. This in itself is not cause for issues but as many have noted previously was defensive and haughty meaning we tiptoed around her for most of the week.(we seemed to fall out of favour because our friends were travelling on a Bristol flight and we wished to sit with them every evening meaning the seating plan she'd previously prepared needed to be amended) We'd initially explained this issue to a chap on checking into the hotel but the information was not passed to the manager who insisted we should have spoken to her instead.
Our main cause for complaint is the repeated overcharging of drinks. See previous reviews!! You sign for the previous days bill the following morning at breakfast and on 3 days our bill was incorrect. (on the first day we pointed out they'd NOT charged us for 2 items but then on the final weekly bill these were charged twice)
On returning to the room after final payment we noted we'd been charged for 8 days on a 7 day holiday. I was given a €45 refund promptly but the hotel does not have the ability to charge accurately and I will be bring this up with the crystal rep.
One last point is that there was no kettle in the room. Apparently this is normal for Austria but did cause issues in our preparation of baby formula every evening. We were provided with boiling water at no extra charge but is something to bear in mind if travelling with young children.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank naticle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2019 via mobile

Six of us males stayed here for 4 nights. We were lucky to get there from Innsbruck as the road into the resort had been impassable for the two previous days. We were greeted at the hotel by the delightful Anne Marie who was very smiley and friendly and told us everything we needed to know about the hotel. The Spa facilities after a hard day’s skiing were exceptional and the indoor /outdoor pool was the best we had seen. We enjoyed jumping in having doused ourselves in snow. The rooms were spacious and the food delicious with the portions about the right size bearing in mind we had to tackle the salad buffet at the beginning of each meal. Paying for carafes of water and water glasses is standard in Austria so you just accept it. The wine and drinks costs weren’t unreasonable and the system for signing off drinks bills at breakfast time was effective and apparently foolproof. Staff were for the most part friendly - we noted the slight aloofness (mentioned in reviews below) in certain family members though we worked hard to amuse them with our pretty hopeless attempts to speak the local language.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 630angusm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews