We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice in Obergurgl”
Review of Hotel Bergwelt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bergwelt
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Hotel Bergwelt exceeded all of our expectations. Fantastic food, a very comfortable and well appointed bedroom (modern junior suite), classy & comfortable public areas, a fabulous spa and lovely friendly staff. There were no end of extra special touches on offer that go to make a wonderful holiday such as a warm welcome with a glass of prosecco, complementary nibbles and off the menu cocktails at the bar, complementary cakes and light bites in the afternoon and a little gift upon departure. We stayed at the Edelweiss & Gurgl last year and can honestly say that the Bergwelt is in a different league. It is easy to see why so many people keep going back to the Bergwelt year on year. Obergurgl is a fantastic place to ski and the Bergwelt is a fantastic place to stay. Hopefully, we'll return to the Bergwelt next year and add to their list of regulars!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikkifEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 311 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's clear people come back repeatedly to the Bergwelt but sadly we felt it had a bit too high opinions of itself. There is no doubt the staff are friendly enough but scratch the surface to complain and the wrath of the family seem to descend.

Starting with the location. There was little snow at the bottom of the mountain but even so it was difficult with the layout and where cars were either parked or needed access to see how ski in and out would ever be achieved. No real worries though. Our rooms were not particularly luxurious. The whole place looks like several copies of Interior design magazines have been thrown in a blender. Think Austin Powers leather sofa meets chandeliers meets stuffed moose and elk and you may be close. Our daughters' twin with balcony and view had a great aspect over Hochgurgyl if you craned over the industrial extractor. Room 103 by the way and also great for an early wake up call from the drinks delivery drivers and the clunk of the trudging boots up from the boot room that empties out beneath the terrace. our room 109 was ok but the furnishings are weird.. Chintz inset fabric panels and a door that opens into the bedroom trapping you by the bed. The terrace overlooks a sad old tree and the public sun terrace. Very overlooked. Three days on we never got a light bulb for the loo so my husband climbed on a chair and replaced it himself with one from a lamp in the sitting area.

Arriving to a glass of Prosecco is nice although the heated hot towels oddly reminiscent of a trip to Japan...however we were placed in a back dining room (yes you guessed it beneath my daughters, room). A bit shell shocked we said nothing about the disappeared panoramic restaurant view until day 3 when we realised we were sitting with the guys with babies and small children just off their own dining area. Our daughters are 18 and 21 although appreciated the nutella crepe breakfast! We asked to move the next day but had no response. Ploughing on we opted for a fondue evening at a supplement of about a hundred euros for four. We had cheese thinking it would be as usual with bread and cold meats. Entering was like sitting next to several fat fryers from those having meat fondue. We got bread and a plate of fruit. When we asked for some ham we had a small bowl dumped on the table with several sheets of Parma still stuck together . Had to call the restaurant manager twice who then started to argue with us that this was a local dish (dragon fruit and pineapple grow naturally in Austria?). He told us we should have complained earlier and did not accept that us asking for a meat platter was relevant. Anyway he at least agreed that we should not be charged. Fondue was very sour and unpleasantly runny although we have by the way strangely eaten a superior local version before including at the Crystal in Obergurgl a few years ago, widely in France and Switzerland and indeed at home. Moving tables was going to be a problem as we couldn't have one until after 9am the next day. We said this was fine but thereafter felt the disapproving gaze of the family Faulkner and staff.

Food generally is a mixed bag. They throw everything at it but nothing stands out. Breakfast is good but we wished we had opted out more on dinner as it seemed to have to be 7 courses packed out with a soup course, salad course, cheese course etc of low cost to prepare. Wine was great but expensive €59 for a bottle of Chateau Musar. We never partook, nor did my sweet toothed girls, in the afternoon puds as they looked ghastly.

Spa is lovely but marred by the worse problem with this hotel which is the lack of discipline of the children who are left, lord of the flies like, to roam, bullying each other and generally being ignored by parents and staff alike. One child climbed across the banquette of the family next to us and roosted there until mummy brought his plate of chips up to him. The family left ASAP.

So good things..

Spa
Cocktails
Some food


Not so good

decor
Room aspects
Lack of enough water in fridge...

Did I mention water. Try €4 plus for a bottle OR €1.50 yes €1.50 for tap! Too cheapskate for somewhere trying to be so grand. And please think how you would feel if you were charge €3 for them calling you a cab!

I suggest the Faulkners take a visit to Chateaux Tremblant and Whistler and see what real quality looks like and what money can buy elsewhere. Bergwelt at nearly €6k for a week is not for us...oh and someone get those horrendous parents a decent nanny.

Room Tip: The 500 looked a good bet but ask if is overlooked
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Malforda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Another return visit to The Bergwelt ,this time in Easter did not disappoint. Especially as we found they have spent 5 Million Euros renovating their Spa and swimming facilities since last season.Result......stunning but still with a reasonable price tag. This Hotel has one of those uncanny abilities of seeming empty when it is in fact full . The bar area is one of the best encountered in the Alps with service to go with it. The staff even have their own hotel next door with its own bar and restaurant! Happy staff= Happy customers. Being a wino it was perfect as they have one of the most experienced sommeliers (RalpH) I have come across in a non starred restaurant. The Austrian wines offered where extensive with the pinnacle being "M" from FX Pichler. I won't repeat the food description opf the previous contributors but needless to say it was top quality. Top Points........Personal Service.....spacious suites....Skis dellivered and collected after hire...ski pass purchase at hotel.......Wine List......food /buffet choice huge......Spa.....Gym.....Kids games area.........Outdoor heated pool.........Cake/sausage buffet tea time.........shuttle service to village......sensible wines @30-35 euros if you wanted to budget.
Go there,you will not be disappointed! Easter is cheaper than half term and snow is almost as good.

Room Tip: 510 room suite for 2 adults and 2 kids with partition doors, only downside 1 toilet between 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WineloverWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A true luxury hotel. We spent at week skiing at the Bergwelt with our two children ages 12 & 13 and had a fantastic holiday. We were greeted with a glass of prosecco by one of the hotel's welcoming staff and shown to our family room that was absolutely perfect for the 4 of us; a large suite with a king size bed in one room with sliding doors to another room with two twin beds. We had a terrace and the room was immaculate and beautifully decorated. The spa included indoor and outdoor pools as well as sauna and jacuzzi, all new and beautifully kept. The food was simlpy delicious. Breakfast was buffet and included everything from freshly made carrot/apple juice to eggs of any kind to salmon and pancakes. Dinner included a lovely fresh salad bar and extensive cheese buffet all week. Entree selection was usually about 4 choices with some excellent fish and game offerings. We all thought the food was about the best we've had on a ski holiday. This is excellent hotel superbly run by wonderful, friendly people. We look forward to another holiday there and will recommend it highly to our friends!

Room Tip: Family rooms include two twin beds as opposed to one pull-out sofa bed so are able to accommodate 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzys968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed at the Bergwelt with my mother for our first skiing holiday together for 15 years. Upon arrival we were greeted with a glass of bubbly and a very warm welcome. We were given a short tour round the hotel, then to our room. Everything ran smoothly and they even sorted out our ski passes to pick up in the morning.

The room was clean and had everything we needed, plus we had a stunning view from our balcony.

The food was wonderful, a lot of local dishes and a different theme every day. The hotel had a large selection of wine to choose from, some which were very good. We had the same table for all our meals throughout the week and the same delightful waitress who was polite, accommodating and efficient.
The breakfast always included a large buffet selection, plus a counter where hot food was made to order. I loved the touch of juicing your own fruit every morning.
I particularly enjoyed the cake put out every afternoon after a long day skiing, though there was sometimes so much food it was hard to find space in the day to eat it all.

The pool and spa facilities were nice, though the opening times for the outdoor pool and saunas were sometimes a bit inconvenient. It would have been nice to use the outdoor pool later on in the evening and the sauna in the morning.

We already plan on returning next year, which seems to be common for a lot of guests.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesCooling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wow. Superb in every detail. Everything was spotlessly clean and looked as though it had been decorated yesterday. Immaculately presented. The food was plentiful and very good. Varied cuisine ranging from suckling pig to sushi all of which was presented excellently and tasted great. You certainly won't go hungry. We signed our two daughters up to ski school and as they were novices, used the hotel's shuttle bus service rather than ski to the school. Both are easy to do. Luxurious pools (indoor and outside) and whirlpool. Saunas a plenty and a spa. The skiing suits beginners and intermediates with plenty of picturesque blue and red runs. Perfect for families. Worth the money.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Randl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just returned from a one week ski holiday at the Bergwelt. The real positives - service is excellent, luxurious but homely (a great balance), small & friendly feeling, food is superb and a good choice of wines (loved the Austrian selection). Evening meal needs to be ordered at breakfast and there are usually about 4 choices. There are some nice little touches - glass of fizz & hand towels on arrival, the Daily Post newspaper the hotel produces each day and placed on the table at breakfast, 4 separate dining rooms (the hotel seem to seat families, groups, couples together), free cocktail or two on the cocktail night, gift upon checkout. Overall we found the hotel great. The rooms were lovely. Out party had booked a mix of double rooms, one bed (junior) suites and two bed suites. All were nice and more roomy than some reviews on tripadviser would lead you to believe. The two bed suite was a bit more 'dark and romantic' whilst the one bed suite had more of a light and airy typical Austrian feel. All rooms were clean and had wide screen TV (including UK channel) and the hotel has free WiFi. The location is great just a 2 minute walk to/from the slopes. I slept well every night - no noise inside or outside the hotel. Each afternoon after skiing there was a selection of hot food and cakes. If you can manage without lunch on the slopes, there is plenty to fill you up from about 3pm at the hotel! Good selection of cocktails. We only had one complaint about the hotel which related to the spa. The hotel has clothed and nude spa areas. The clothed area was open to children so could be quite noisy. We asked whether we could access the nude areas wearing swimming costumes etc but were told not - it is purely naked! (being British and with a mixed group of friends we didn't want to get that friendly!!). The clothed spa comprises a small salt pool, indoor pool, steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi alongside some sun loungers which look out onto the mountains (the spa is glass fronted so great views). Ski hire I easy at Lohmann which is just opposite the garage entrance to the hotel. The ski shop drop off and collect skis (and boots) so you don't have to carry them up and down the lift/hill. So onto the skiing - no queues at all on the lifts. Tuesday seemed busier than other days (maybe because that was supposed to be the day for night skiing - albeit it was cancelled - and maybe people visited from Hochgurgl or Solden?. All runs were wide, good powder conditions. We tried a few blacks and all were manageable for reasonable intermediate skiers (not overly difficult). There are a couple of ski tracks - no 2 is an excellent introduction to off piste moghuls! Hochgurgl was a lot colder than Obergurgl so just remember if crossing the valley. The cross valley gondola takes about 10 minutes and can sometimes be closed if windy. There is however a free ski bus which takes a similar amount of time so don't worry about getting stranded! Overall we loved the Bergwelt and Obergurgl. This was a bit pricier than other ski hols we have booked in Austria but we could see what extra we got for our money. We are already planning a return next year.

Room Tip: I personally liked the one bed suite (as opposed to two bed one) - it was lighter and more tradition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Madeleine
Hotel Madeleine
#1 of 33 in Obergurgl
273 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#3 of 33 in Obergurgl
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#5 of 33 in Obergurgl
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpen-Wellness Resort Hochfirst
0 mi away
Hotel Alpina deluxe
Hotel Alpina deluxe
#8 of 33 in Obergurgl
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bergwelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergwelt

Address: Kressbrunnenweg 9, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Obergurgl
#2 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
#3 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range: $316 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the ski slope and only a few steps away from the village centre, our hotel is situated on a sun plateau above Obergurgl.A member of “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”, Hotel Bergwelt offers beautiful panoramic views of the surrounding Ötztal Alps.The luxurious spa affords breathtaking mountain views and features various steam baths, divers meditation and relaxing areas, several saunas, a hammam and a infrared cabine . Additional we offer a seperate Ladies Spa.The beauty farm provides a wide range of relaxing beauty treatments, as well as classical and Asian wellness treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bergwelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bergwelt Hotel Obergurgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing