We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, don't be put off by the head waiter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Austria Bellevue
Ranked #1 of 26 Obergurgl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Lovely family run hotel, very close to the slopes but NOT ski-in ski-out as claimed in some brochures. The rooms were excellent, food quality very good and a fantastic indoor and outdoor pool area (the latter being south facing), with jacuzzi, sauna and solarium. My main criticism would relate to the head waiter. The wine was expensive (starting price €31 for a bottle) and even the bottled water was €5 for 75ml. If you were not ordering the wine the head waiter was suddenly very disinterested in you and at least two guests were refused a free glass of tap water in the bar area - hardly an acton to build up customer satisfaction.
Obergurgl is a lovely resort for intermediates who like medium length runs of medium difficulty - its virtually impossible to get lost and you do not have to refer to the piste map every few minutes. There are not many black runs and most of the red runs are wide and well marked. Solden, a resort about 20 minutes away is on a glacier, has many more runs but to get up on the slopes there is a substantial queue for the 20 person capacity Gondola at the start of your day. This is certainly not everyones ideal way to start the days skiing. In Obergurgl and adjacent Hochgurgl you just sit on a 4 man lift and you are up high in no time!
The Austrian ski instructors are great - all happy (and keen) to speak English and the resultant standard of tuition is second to none - why on earth would you go to France? Apres ski - the Nedderhutte -just above the resort centre, fantastic. live music from the owner and his staff starting at 4.30. Everyone dances on the tables (even wearing ski boots). Ski down the floodlit slopes or if too 'out of it' the owners will happily ferry you down in their skidu.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robinjn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 108 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2010

This was our second visit to this hotel and standards are as high as ever. Location, Rooms, Spa, Ambience and of course the food are all of exceptional quality. Ignore negative comments from previous visitors, the staff are friendly and attentive and I found the Steiner family extremely welcoming and warm. Some guests may find some of the food a little too adventurous, but the quality of ingredients and abilities of the chefs is without question. The Spa has excellent facilities and everything is absolutely immaculate, we will be back next year.
Tim and Lorraine

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank george1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

We stayed at the Bellevue between Christmas and New Year when it is very busy. Even so we can not find anything uncomplimentary to say about this hotel. It is quite frankly the most perfect base for a relaxing skiing holiday ever. It has a ski and boot storage room and is less than 5 mins walk from the slope and a further 3-4 minute ski to the main lifts.
It is hard to pick out what is best about it - comfortable beds with fluffy warm duvets, a spa to die for or the food which is faultless and includes something for everyone. On New Year's Eve the kitchen excelled with a 7 course dinner ( course portions are not too huge) of exceptional quality even by the high standards of London restaurants. Waiting and bar staff all speak English and are friendly and not pushy if you don't order wine at each dinner - which if you do but don't finish it they will keep for the next evening for you.
Nothing else to say - a great hotel, great staff and we had a fantastic time there.
Only one word of criticism and it's not really just for this hotel - it goes for everywhere here- why do you still allow smoking in bars?

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janegardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Arrived on the 5th December 09 (with friends, their fifth visit) we were greeted by Simone and given a heart felt welcome and a superb evening meal. The decore and environment are typical Austrian / German, warm and comfortable. The service and staff were excellent; the staff being a credit to the establishment. The food and its presentation were more than adequate even for the most demanading of apetites; excellent table. I had to ask for a third pillow and contrary to some reviews was provided with said item without a blink of the eye. I tried the dirt test but found none not even above door ledges! The hotel facilities were a welcome relief after a hard days attempt at skiing; heated indoor and out door pools, spar, loungers etc etc. All in all an execeptional Hotel practically located with good views. Obergurgl is charming; a little over blessed with boutiques. The Church is a typical jewell with regular services. If you are skiing in Hoch Gurgl then try the Top Hotel (*****) for lunch very nice, very comfortable and modest tariff. All in all avery good experience.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSmiths8771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We stayed at the Bellevue in April this year having also previously stayed at the Austria, its sister hotel nearby in 2006. The Bellevue ceratinly lives up to its name , with its wonderful light and airy aspect from the vast , immaculately clean and beautifully decorated restaurant, where you can dine overlooking the snow covered mountains.The service was excellent, staff polite and very pleasant. The manager/owbnre is extrenely efficient and focused on the standard of tis excellent hotel , and we found her to be very charming and extremely helpful. High standards are clearly important to her, and we like this . If only a few more hotels could be so efficient ! The skiing was superb, and everything very conveniently situated too. There is a lovely swimming pool . partly openeair when the sun shines, which was a real bonus at the end of the day. Ignore the moaners in previous reviews; we have stayde at both hpotles and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maisyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

I booked this hotel for my husband as a surprise birthday present. A few days before we were going I was very worried by the bad reviews on the hotel and wanted to change. Unfortunately I was unable to so just had to go and make the most of it. What a surprise I had. The hotel was brilliant! We were booked into 2 rooms (our mistake) next door to each other, but the hotel kindly changed us to a family room which was lovely, very clean, and spacious. I had very sore shins the first day and they kindly made up ice packs for me. Location was great. only 5 min walk to ski school or opposite the hotel was ski in and out. OK a little tiring with the hill to walk back but excercise does you good! It was always a pleasure to return to the hotel. The food was amazing. We loved breakfast, their eggs were always cooked to perfection. Coming back in the afternoon to cakes, jackets or soup was a lovely treat before relaxing. We always really looked forward to our evening meal. Taste and presentation were top class. 5 to 7 courses every night (if you could eat it, we had a good go) A little fancy for my 11 year old fussy eater but she still ate some and they always gave her a lovely desert. Yes a couple of the staff didnt make much conversation but I think that's just their way but didnt get put off by it. Staff were always willing to help. This was our first family ski holiday. Obergurgl was amazing, ski school was brilliant, especially the kids, Hotel was great would definitely recommend this holiday and hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlymouthBean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Above the slopes and good if you are early to bed. Clean and spacious with the best food I have had in a hotel anywhere. Obergurgyl is quiet delightful and you could not fault the ski instruction No fighting for lifts.
The Hotel Management are surly, the restaurant staff OK. The wine waiter is arrogant, pushy sarcastic and seems to hate the English. Gerhart will try to trick you every way he can to spend more on wine, water, small measures etc. If you watch out for him you will have a delightful holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherubcambridge268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Alpina deluxe
Hotel Alpina deluxe
#7 of 33 in Obergurgl
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lohmann
Hotel Lohmann
#6 of 33 in Obergurgl
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#16 of 33 in Obergurgl
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpen-Wellness Resort Hochfirst
0.2 mi away
Josl Mountain Lounging
Josl Mountain Lounging
#20 of 33 in Obergurgl
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenaussicht
Hotel Alpenaussicht
#17 of 33 in Obergurgl
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria Bellevue

Address: Kressbrunnenweg 3, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Obergurgl
Price Range: $189 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Austria Bellevue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Austria Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing