We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and friendly”
Review of Hotel Alpenland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alpenland
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was our first trip to Obergurgl. We chose this hotel on location, price and facilities. The location was great for skiing as the run "Blue 6" is at the rear of the hotel, just a few steps away from the boot room. This is even better at night as "Blue 6 is illuminated for night skiing from the Nedderhutte Apris-ski Party or the ski show on a tuesday evening. The only downside to the location is that it is at the top of the hill but as there is not a lot in the village this was not a problem.

The only facility that the hotel semed to be missing was a swimming pool but the wellness area more than made up for this. This has a steam room, sauna, ice room, relaction beds, etc, etc, massages are also available. There is a bowling ally, darts board, pool table in the lower bar area next to the ski and boot room.

The food is excellent, at the welcom evening it was explained that the head chef had been at the hotel for 15 years. The breakfasts are served buffet style but consist of jucies, fresh coffees, fresh breads, meats, cereals and hot eggs (boiled or scrambled), sausages, bacon and more. The evening meals are of a 5 course format, the main course is a choice of 3 options which have to be chosen at breakfast. Each course was exceptional and perfectly sized so as not being left bloated or uncomfortable.

After skiing there was always a selection of fresh homemade biscuits at the bar to welcom you home.

The room we had was very spacious, large bed, sofa, tv with BBC1 HD, ITV etc. The bathroom actually had a bath and the toilet was in it's own room. The only thing that was missing in the room was tea and coffee making facilities.

We will certainly be returning to Obergurgl and to the Hotel Alpenland.

Congratulations are thankyou for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 190 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Have recently returned from a weeks stay at the Alpenland hotel in Obergurgl and cannot recommend this hotel enough! The hotel is spotlessly clean and decorated to a very high standard. The temperature in the hotel was always comfortable despite outside temperatures of more than minus 10 degrees centigrade. The hotel is family run and the owners are very helpful - there was a delightful welcome reception on the Sunday evening when they informed the guests about events which would be taking place during the week which was accompanied by a glass of bubbly! The staff of the hotel are all wonderful especially Johnny, Kristiana, Margaret and Andreas.
We had a 'comfort' room which was enormous with a large austrian bed, a sofa area and plenty of storage space. There was a separate toilet and a large bathroom which included a bath with a shower over it. There was always copious amounts of hot water and the towels were changed daily. There was a safe in the wardrobe which was free to use and the television channels included BBC1 so you could keep up to date with the news back home.
The spacious ski room was in the basement of the hotel and had plenty of storage racks for skis and there were heated boot racks so your boots were lovely and warm to put on in the morning. You could be on the slopes within a minutes walk from the boot room and this gave you access to the village or the nearby gondalas.
The food - well this was delicious! The breakfast was an expansive buffet with hot and cold selections. There was a good choice of fruit juices and hot drinks including delicious coffee from the machine. The dinners in the evening were five courses with a choice of three main courses (you make your selection at breakfast). There were several buffets during the week including starters and desert buffets. The service was friendly and efficient!
I thoroughly recommend the hotel Alpenland and could not fault it in any way. I would certainly return to this accomodation without any hesitation!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiverLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The first time we've chosen Alpenland three years ago by two main reason: ski in and ski out, and price of single room - the offering price was the best! Reality turned out better than could be expected: the staff was friendly, the food was delicious, the rooms were cosy! Next year we hope to return to open ski season!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olesja-Voronina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

we went to this hotel after being moved there by inghams and only being informed days before we went on holiday we should have been staying in the weisental but they had not finished alterations. this hotel was very friendly and the food was very good .we where not very pleased with the room as we had paid for an upgrade and didnt think the room was to good , it was on the frount of the hotel and had north facing view and a very small balcony which you couldnot use as no chairs or table and very dark. but i cannot complain about any other aspect of the hotel it was very good so welcoming where the owners and could not do enough for you .

Room Tip: dont have room on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolenaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at the Alpenland and have enjoyed it more each time. In fact, we are planning on returning next year for two weeks. The owners are so helpful and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. The food is excellent and the dining room has a lovely setting. The rooms are very nice with a great view. The quiet setting of the town is perfect at the end of the valley and the sound of nearby cow bells can be heard. The town itself offered all we needed and everyone we met was very friendly. There are plenty of hikes from Obergurgl.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have stayed many times in this delightful family owned and run hotel. All the staff are friendly and most speak excellent English. The food in the hotel is superb and the facilities are excellent, including a basement spa to relax and unwind in. We go to walk the mountain paths in the summer months and to enjoy the breathtaking scenery and flora. The weather can be lovely and warm or very cold with snow depending on the altitude. We sleep at two thousand metres and often walk at three thousand metres. Obergurgl is at the head of the Oetz valley and within the valley there are numerous lifts and trails to follow. Paths are clearly marked.

Room Tip: South facing rooms give stunning views of the glaciers at the head of the valley and have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JHO950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Alpenland the week before Easter. The hotel is fairly traditional and located next to the slopes - good for ski in ski out - but toward the top of a steep road, which having never skiied before caused us a bit of a problem on our first day. After a lesson at the ski school we were able to ski down to the Pirchutt meeting point without any problems. After lessons the ski school very kindly gave us a lift back to the hotel in their skidoo!

The welcome in the hotel reception on arrival was very friendly and we immediately felt at home. There is a choice of lift or stairs to the rooms. Downstairs from the reception is the wellness area - which we didn't use - play room, library, luggage room and boot/ski room.

On the ground floor you find the reception, bar area, lunch room and restaurant.

We had a family room with balcony and a standard room with balcony and both were very clean, comfortable and a good size. The balconies adjoined and faced the ski slope at the back of the hotel - fantastic view! The beds were Austrian twins and very comfy, the bathrooms very clean with shower gel, soap, fresh towels and hairdryer. The very substantial wardrobes held a safe for valuables and the satellite tv showed several English channels. We also had a sofa and a coffee table.

The food and service in the restaurant were exceptional - the best I've ever experienced anywhere. Staff dressed in traditional clothing and service was very friendly and efficient. You will definately not go hungry here! Choices of main course, a childrens menu and different buffets each day. We spilled a drink at one meal and this was very quickly mopped up and replaced by staff with no fuss at all. You choose what you would like for evening dinner at breakfast time and also sign for the previous days drinks and meals. The breakfast was an amazing array of different choices including cooked bacon, sausages, eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms, cereals, cheese, yoghurts etc,........ You can help yourself to fruit juices, tea, coffee.

Drinks at other times were a reasonable price if you stick to regular/smaller sizes of water/soft drinks. There is a Spar supermarket in the village, about a 5 minute walk, if you want to stock up on drinks to keep in your room. On Wednesdays there is a lovely cake buffet mid afternoon, but you will need to buy coffee/hot chocolate as drinks are not included.

We ate most of our lunches at the hotel, soup for around 4.50 euros and a sandwich for less than this. Again, with a smaller sized drink you could do lunch for 4 people for under 30 euros. Service excellent and very quick. We ordered packed lunches for our last day which contained two filled rolls, fruit, a drink and chocolate wafers.

Obergurgl itself is a stunning place to visit with magnificent views, traditional buildings and several good bars and cafes. It did seem quiet most of the time with no lift queues except at ski school start times even though it was the Easter holiday. Ski hire could be arranged at the Riml shop next door to the hotel. We found the ski school and instructors to be very good and my daughter really enjoyed herself in the childrens ski school and made alot of friends. We used the Pirchutt meeting point which catered for the whole family in one area - as beginners. Everybody I met on the holiday was friendly and patient. Always happy to encourage a nervous beginner!

The whole family, including the children, had the best holiday ever at Hotel Alpenland and we were very sorry to leave. We even asked if they had any jobs going in the hope that we could stay :) Will just have to start saving hard now so that we can return!

Just to mention, we travelled with Crystal Ski. Transfers etc went smoothly and the reps helped me out with a refund on childrens ski helmets which I had prebooked but should have been free.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShropshirePoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.2 mi away
Josl Mountain Lounging
Josl Mountain Lounging
#22 of 33 in Obergurgl
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#20 of 33 in Obergurgl
99 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenaussicht
Hotel Alpenaussicht
#17 of 33 in Obergurgl
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina deluxe
Hotel Alpina deluxe
#7 of 33 in Obergurgl
185 reviews
2.3 mi away
Alpenhotel Laurin
Alpenhotel Laurin
#4 of 4 in Hochgurgl
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenland

Address: Kressbrunnenweg 6 | 6456 Obergurgl, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Price Range: $211 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpenland 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ,,Alpenland" was built in Tyrolean Style with the love to the detail. The wooden interior and the light elegance style give the hotel harmony. - ..... Just to feel good.Already in our second generation, we look forward to welcoming both our new and returning guests annually with genuine hospitality.All rooms combine latest comfort with cozy atmosphere. After a good sleep a varied breakfast buffet is waiting for you. During the evenings dine and enjoy the excellent cuisine.Relaxation after an exciting day outside you find in our generously extended Sauna area with five different kinds of Saunas, Showers, Relaxation Areas and Massage.Our location is unique!In Winter directly at the slopesIn summer the numerous walking paths start right in front of our hotel.The philosophy or our house is, that you as our guest will always be on centre stage of our efforts and we aim to do everything possible to ensure a perfect stay. Enjoy relaxing days and the nice feeling of "being home" a bit. - For more than 50 years already.Your Host Family Hansjorg & Cornelia Kieler ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alpenland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing