We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Austrian twins available”
Review of Hotel Wiesental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Wiesental
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Only Austrian twins available”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Please be warned that the Wiesental only has Austrian twin rooms to offer. So if you have two 20 year old males in your party they must be prepared to share what in essence is a double bed - i.e. one sold bed frame - which is very up close and personal. Unfortunately we experienced this first hand and the management and Inghams, our tour operator, weren't interested in trying to sort this out without further costs to us.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyP650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    20
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bn133lr
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Just back from Obergurgl for the 20th year running and this time stayed at the Wiesental.
After leaving home at 2am for a 6am flight, we were looking forward to an afternoon ski and arrived in good time at the hotel just before 10am. Greeted by the lady of the house our welcome was "put your luggage downstairs out of the way, your room is not available until 2pm!" Not really the kind of welcome I was expecting when you consider this was the 1st week of the season and they really do charged TOP dollar!!!
So with the holiday off to not the best start we looked forward to dinner. We were the only 3 english guests and at times I think we became invisible. Service to our table was very slow and mid week our table was moved to accomadate a german family who wanted to sit near some friends.
Tap water is not an option in the resturant, bottled water is 5euros a time.(rip off)
Having been a regular in Obergurgl for approx 20yrs, and tried out many of the hotels available the Weisental is near the bottom of the league. The food was avarage and portions were small, drinks were overpriced and staff were slow to respond.
Our room was the best feature, good size, plenty of storage and a few english TV channels.(that is very rare in austria).
To sum up, there are many hotels in Obergurgl that rank a lot better and are of simelar price, I personally would not revist this hotel as I belive in value for money and this place just does not cut it!

Room Tip: in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dommelfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Stayed in the suite with our two daugthers. The suite is spacious however not cosy at all, eg no small lamps to give atmophere, no minibar etc. Apparently it is not allowed to eat in the room. Good location. Very unfriendly service from the Lady of the House. It really did seem like that she was very tired of the ski season. It states everywhere that the food should be something special; we started of with an austrian buffet (apparently every wednesday) - not very fancy at all! The wine list was good though.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maiand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Stayed for.a week here on a cheap allocation on arrival deal with in gams. Hotel is near the main lifts and ski school shops etc. We initially were given a small room but this was changed free of charge the next day to a lovely south facing room with large balcony and a sofa area. All the hotel was very clean and food lovely. Breakfast offered fresh orange juice not concentrate etc. Only gripes were that water was only free is you had wine, lack of wi fi, and staff having poor English in the restaurant. There was plug in net access but this was not much use with iPads. Many of the larger hotels have wi fi available. The owner said he was looking into it. Overall would recommend but I guess it depends what deal you get price wise. I would not pay their rack rates but these are often hypothetical in most hotels anyway.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELLIK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filey UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Stayed at the Weisental over Christmas this year. We have been to Obergurgl many times and stayed at a number of places. The room we had at the Wiesental was by far the best we have had. The view from the floor to ceiling windows straight up the valley was super. The room was very well presented and could not be faulted. I have read previous reports complaining about a charge for water etc, this is not unusual for Obergurgl where everything has a price! That said you always get free water at dinner if you ordered wine.

The food was top class with a good selection to suit most tastes (though Austria is not a good place for vegitarians)

The only problem I found was a lack of WiFi there was wired LAN in the reception area but if you have a iPhone or other wifi device that is not much use. The hotel is away of this probelm and I think they have plans to install it soon.

The Spa area was nice, no pool but jacuzzi and several saunas/steam rooms. No sign of any kids when I was in but It could be a probel at busy times. As always in Austria No bathing costumes alowed in the Sauna/steam room areas so be aware!

Another nice touch is the kid play room, our 3 year old loved it, it has soft play stuff and a slide etc.

All in all this is a great hotel and I am sure we will return next year, hope they have wifi by then!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalbagtag_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Comfortable hotel set in good position. Nice relaxation area offering Turkish bath, Sauna, Steam Room, Whirlpool and heated relaxation beds. However, children are permitted to use the facilities so it can become busy and noisy which defeats the object of being able to relax. Food was good and plentiful. The hotel is owned/managed by the Scheiber family. Mr Scheiber is very pleasant. Mrs Scheiber however, was rude and brusque. We were reprimanded for receiving a telephone call at midnight, despite there being no instructions of how to telephone directly through to the room in the Hotel Information. We did enjoy our stay and would recommend the hotel as long as you are aware of the wrath of Mrs Scheiber!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexSlippery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay. Pleasant hotel ,good food, good wellness centre BUT a bottle of water was €4.60 and we each had to pay €5 to have robes cleaned after we left. Slippers were €3 per pair. We were unaware of this when we requested same!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jenewein
Hotel Jenewein
#21 of 33 in Obergurgl
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#17 of 33 in Obergurgl
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#3 of 33 in Obergurgl
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mathiesn Hotel
Mathiesn Hotel
#22 of 33 in Obergurgl
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lohmann
Hotel Lohmann
#6 of 33 in Obergurgl
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#18 of 33 in Obergurgl
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wiesental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiesental

Property: Hotel Wiesental
Address: Piccardweg 16, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
#21 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wiesental 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Wiesental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiesental Hotel Obergurgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing