We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent first time family skiing holiday”
Review of The Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crystal
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

At the end of a valley, Obergurgl is the perfect family ski destination. Although not cheap, the service and the quality of the hotel could not be faulted. To be able to walk to the adjacent ski hire shop and then to the ski lifts is invaluable. Family rooms for 4 are excellent with one of the best bathrooms we have had in a hotel. Quality of food is high - excellent buffet breakfast, substantial afternoon tea and 5 course dinner with good selection for children. If there is one criticism - there is too much food at dinner! Wines and bar drinks reasonably priced. Would definitely go back

Room Tip: Contemporary building has some of the better family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavRaqBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 350 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was surprised of the quality of this hotel. Very partical area, very good skidepot, spa, restaurant, bar, etc. No remarks for me. I am travelling professionaly all over Europe and I dare to say that i can compare different standards.
One thing is certain. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

It has everything, amazing location, the ski lift is virtually part of the hotel. Fantastic relaxing atmosphere. Wonderful food and service and luxury oozing out of every nook and cranny. The resort is perfect if yo dont want loud, in your face apre ski, somewhere that does things right and fantastic skiing.

Room Tip: Take a room in the original part of the hotel not the extension
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spend a wonderful week at the Crystal Hotel. The Obergurgl area is just perfect for skiing - nice slopes with a well functioning lift system - no queues. The hotel is right next to the ski lift with direct access from the skidepot. The food is excellent and wellness area is very nice. The service is quick and friendly. The only small minus is the lack of wifi access in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Towik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Crystal at the end of February 2013 booked via Inghams. It is in a fantastic location next to the Feskoglbahn. We paid for an upgraded room in the old part of the hotel. The room was excellently appointed albeit a little on the small side considering it is a 4star+ hotel but this did not detract from the quality of the facilities for our stay. The staff and food were excellent as were the facilities. It was particularly good to have adult’s only areas in the swimming and wellness areas. There was a choice of 3No steam rooms and 2No saunas together with an excellent chill out area with lounger’s water coolers and tea facilities. In the "textile" area ie you could wear swimming costumes there was a steam room and sauna along with inside and outside pools. We particularly enjoyed the boot room which was an amazing facility with adjoining ski hire and ski shop from which there is direct access to the Festkoglbahn lift. The après ski buffet available between 4.00 and 5.00pm was fantastic although we did need to buy our tea or other drinks. Drinks in the restaurant were fairly expensive.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a modernised room in the original part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tims_account
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Spend week 11 at Crystal. All services, the spa and the rooms were in top class. The breakfast buffet was an excellent start of the day! And the 4 course dinner was outstanding all evenings. Only one small minus was the limited WIFI access in the hotel, no access in the rooms (only in the lobby and restaurant). However the overall rating is a small 5

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Crystal hotel end of February 2013 and it's of course the wintersport what brings us to Obergurgl. The hotel itself is in a great location right next to one of the main Skilifts - the Festkoglbahn! It is a modern and very clean, kind of design hotel. We had a very nice room, with a view on the ski area. WiFi is available in some central area's in the hotel, unfortunately not in our room. The food in the hotel is good, the breakfast was very wide ranging and all good quality, the food in the evening was the same. The hotel has a Ski hire shop which was convinient. The Ski/boot room in the hotel was perfect with a direct access to the Skilift. You can easily walk down to the main part of Obergurgl, it’s about 10 min walk. The Wellness area is just great! Conclusion, we liked the The Crystal very much.

Room Tip: The East part of the hotel! Rooms with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonDKBenelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#20 of 33 in Obergurgl
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Josl Mountain Lounging
Josl Mountain Lounging
#22 of 33 in Obergurgl
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpina deluxe
Hotel Alpina deluxe
#9 of 33 in Obergurgl
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpen-Wellness Resort Hochfirst
0.5 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#3 of 33 in Obergurgl
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crystal

Address: Gurglerstrasse 90, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
#3 Family Hotel in Obergurgl
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Obergurgl
#4 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
#5 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range: $326 - $675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crystal 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Was gehört zu einem perfekten Skiurlaub im Ötztal? Schneesichere Pisten, traumhafte Abfahrten und ganz viel Raum zum Wohlfühlen. In Ihrem Vier-Sterne-Superior-Hotel in Obergurgl erwartet Sie ein legeres Ambiente zum Loslassen und Auftanken: THE CRYSTAL verwöhnt Wintersportler mit seiner schneesicheren Toplage direkt an den Skipisten von Obergurgl und bietet höchste Servicekultur im stilvollen Ambiente.Kosten Sie Ihre Skiferien in Obergurgl - Ötztal und die Abfahrten bis zum Haus in vollen Zügen aus. Lehnen Sie sich zurück, genießen Sie jeden Augenblick Ihres Skiurlaubes im Ötztal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crystal Hotel Obergurgl
Crystal Hotel Obergurgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing