We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crystal
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Crystal Sportiv(Obergurgl)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Haus Gurgl(Obergurgl)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lohmann(Obergurgl)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Olympia(Obergurgl)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bergwelt(Obergurgl)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Enzian Hotel(Obergurgl)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveler rating
284
73
20
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
73
20
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski depoteast wingboot roomdirect accessfood were excellentour waiterafternoon teasingle roomwater temperaturecorner sofapenthouse suiteoutdoor spawarm poolsplit level roomrelaxation poolallocated roommodern design
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 385 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This is the second year we have stayed in The Crystal Hotel in Obergurgl. We love the direct access from the ski shop and ski lockers to the lift and the good quality dinner. The staff is very friendly. Nothing more to add since my last review. Perfect for a couples ski trip.
Only suggestion: providing wifi in the rooms.

Room Tip: The hotel also offers real single rooms, with single beds.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daan636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We've been at the Crystal for the second time, just arrived two days ago. Hotel is very good, although prices may seem steep to some. Location is perfect, couldn't be better.

This is my second review so I will skip the details. What did they improve: pool water got warmer (1-2 degrees more and will be perfect) so it's now good to swim. You can see that by the increasing number of people in the water.

Food is even better, you can see that the chef and waiter (Marcel) put a lot of efforts into it. People helping with the luggage (several Romanians) were extremely nice and did their best to please us (parking/bringing the car, etc)
The only drawback is that the hotel doesn't yet support wi-fi. You can see people sneaking on their Ipads at dinner or into the bar. It can't be that hard to put wireless switches everywhere, hopefully next time...

We stayed in the new wing this time. Rooms are much better than old wing, especially bathrooms. The view however is less appealing than the one from the old wing, unless you get a suite at the last floors so take into account these when planning your budget.

Beautiful!

PS: I had some problems with my back and asked for a different mattress. Got it in 5 min (even if it was 9PM). Didn't solve the problem, visited the spa physiotherapist who did her best, but ended recommending a neurologist in Solden. It was my own problem, just saying that they did everything they could do solve it. And knowing a sports hospital exists only a few km away makes a trip to Obergurgl even more enjoyable (though one might prefer not to use it :) )

Room Tip: new wing for best rooms, preferably a suite if you can afford it old wing for best view/less expensive. choose crystal sportiv (3stars) if you want lowest cost.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dreamstimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We get the suite in the Crystal for Christmas time and we were happy about this. More happy we became when our Christmas Hollidays started: hotel staff was very pleasant and was showing that remebers our family, every one was trying to say hello and to ask how we spent the 2011 year. Even Rafaello in lobby bar was trying to be polite but unsuccesfully - after one sentence he became rude as last year showing no interest for being communicative. But actually we were not surprised because this holliday in Crystal was the second one. I can say that the hotel is making the improvment especially restaurant: FOOD BECAME REALLY GOOD! During our stay we do not have any comments for the kitchen chef, variety and quality of dishes was exellent. As well other services are on very high level: with slippers you can reach the Festkogl lift, back from skiing you can jump in to the spa area and to the one of the niciest swimming pool in the Alps :) Really our family with 7 years old boy is the fan of this hotel - we recommend to choose this hotel if you want to have comfortable and luxury hollidays!

Room Tip: East (new) part of the hotel is more modern and luxury.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lescol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed at The Crystal and felt completely relaxed 24 hrs. Booked the hotel because of the reviews on tripadvisor and agree that the service is topnotch, food is the best you can wish for on a mountain surrounded by snow. Booked 5 days and flew in from the Netherlands. Arrived at the hotel and even though the room was not avaiable until 15:00 hrs, we got lucky and were able to put our luggage in our room and change into our snow gear at 12:30 hrs. On the slopes at 13:30 hrs after a delicious lunch in the spacious well designed compfy lounge. The staff are friendly and do their best to make you feel at home even though your child is yelling at them that they want an apple juice ... Our room was excellent with more than enough space for all the clothes you tend to bring along when going skiing/snowboarding. The cleaning lady bought a childrens set of bathrobe and slippers for my daughter (aged 8). The beds are firm and that might be the only thing you could 'complain' about if you are used to a soft bed. We had a balcony with a beautiful vieuw of the piste, so we had a lot of fun watching people falling down :-) The breakfast is more than sufficient with lots of fresh fruit, pastries, a chef cooking eggs for you and a juicer to make your own carrot/apple juice! You have your own table so when traveling with children they can always find you :-) And you also get to know socialize with your neighbours if you want to. There's an inhouse ski depot which connects to an excellent ski shop and from there on a short walk to one of the ski lifts. On returning to the hotel in the afternoon you can unwind in the wellness area which is pretty impressive. Even though there were a lot of children you hardly noticed and if you need a bit of quiet time you can always go into the adult area which is kids free. Try the waterbeds but make sure you don't fall asleep as I did a few times. I booked a shoulder massage with Antje and felt reborn. She is a gem if you are having a back/shoulder problems. My daughter enjoyed herself at the kids club which opens at 10:00 hrs and closes at 21:00 hrs. The women in charge are really sweet and they go out of their way to make your child feel welcome! At last tot conclude my summary I would like to point out, that as there had fallen more than 2 meters of snow while we were staying here, we would not have been able to leave if the hotel had not most kindly provided snow chains so that we could leave!! Thank you The Crystal for making this a most excellent experience :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 610 which had a nice view and I would book again
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingcheflouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Wonderful staff great views fab kids club superb food just great

Room Tip: We enjoyed 702 two strorey with balcony
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews