We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gamper is wonderful.”
Review of Hotel Gurglhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gurglhof
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Another great stay at the Gamper.

A really lovely, friendly Hotel in a great position in Obergurgl for the skiing. Excellent food.

Two minutes walk to the ski school meeting place and you can ski back to this point too.

A few changes within the restaurant this year including a new Buffet area used at Breakfast and on the one evening for the Farmers Buffet.
A chefs station at breakfast making omelettes/ eggs.
Fresh orange juice machine.
Coffee is still brought to you at table but a new coffee machine has been installed for you to help yourself to for Latte's and Cappuccino's.

The smoke mentioned in an earlier review was not as bad this year......they ask that you do not smoke in the bar area till after 9pm.....we did not find the smoke issue a problem at all and we are non smokers.

The staff are very helpful and friendly. Anna and her staff could not be more welcoming with nothing being too much trouble. Very professional and the Hotel is kept beautifully clean.

We travelled there once again with Inghams and got one of the newly refurbished rooms to the front of the Hotel. However not all the rooms with that tour operator are the new type though I understand the bathrooms are all new and updated. One or two nights we were awoken by some noisy revellers leaving from the Josl Keller late but that is certainly not the fault of the Hotel Gamper.

We would highly recommend the Gamper and hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 99 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2010

The hotel is in a great location, staff friendly, rooms clean, spacious and the food good. But and it is huge BUT, they do not enforce the Austrian smoking laws in the hotel. So by 6pm in the bar is full of cigarette smoke. Our clothes smell of smoke... not nice!

So I won't be going back and if you are a non-smoker you may want to give it a wide berth.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shapeset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

This was our fifth time of staying at The Gamper and as always it was perfect. The level of service is second to none. When we arrived we were greeted with a glass of Prosecco. All the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. They all speak excellent English and nothing is too much trouble for them.

The bedrooms have recently been refurbished to a high standard and both the rooms and the whole hotel are kept spotlessly clean.

The food is always high class with a good variety at breakfast and in the evening. The chef has been awarded several medals for his cooking. The atmosphere in the restaurant is nice and the staff are always cheerful.

There is a "Wellbeing Centre" in the basement with a sauna and steam room. Perhaps the only thing it is lacking is a Jacuzzi.

It is an easy walk (just a couple of minutes) from the hotel to the main lift and ski-school meeting place.

The owners of the Gamper also own The Nederhutte on the slopes, a brilliant place for lunch and apres-ski iwth live music.

All in all, we just can't fault the Gamper.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

We choose the Gamper on the basis of the favourable Trip Advisor reviews.

Everything that is reported about the superb staff, food and location are undeniably true.

We unfortunately found our junior suite to be disappointing. The room was large with a separate seating area but it was tired and in need of a considerable amount being spent on it. The curtains are summer weight, the carpets are immaculately clean but old, the bathroom needed a complete makeover although there had been underfloor heating installed for this and the adjacent toilet.

Our main problem however was that our room was on the top floor and built into the roof area (in part). There were therefore very high ceilings making for a very large area to heat.

The central heating did not work and we remained cold for more than 24 hours and 3 complaints before they brought us a standalone radiator which alleviated the worst of the problem.

This was extremely dissapointing considering that night time temperatures were -12.

Also there were real signs of cost cutting again allied to the heating system. As this is predominantly a ski hotel hot water dissappeared at 11.00am returning at about 4.00pm and then again from 11.00pm to 6.30am.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCH09384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

We stayed at the Gamper from the 10th Jan to the 17th. We chose this hotel due to the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and due to its excellent location (near to the ski school, gondola and the Spar shop).

We found the hotel room cosy, comfortable and very clean. The service and hospitality were excellent (unlike our stay last year at the Bellevue/Austria). The food was very good and they catered fairly well for vegetarians. This hotel allowed guests to have tap water with their meal (free of charge), whereas the Bellevue/Austria did not allow this when we stayed there last year. This hotel has a lovely spa (but no pool), however it does state that you are not allowed swimwear in there which put us off of using it.

We found the ski school and the skiing conditions excellent again this year.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nms1Northants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

Had a fantastic week there for skiing very nice room, hotel family run very personal friendly service, fantastic and plenty food.
Room was good in size, clean, good temperature, nice view out of the windows on the mountains.
The hotel is very close to the piste and ski school meeting point (1 min walk).

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kast1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2008

This is the best hotel in Obergurgl for so many reasons. They include:

1) Location. 30 metres from the ski hire / ski school / lifts and Piste, plus its on the less busy side of town (no cars passing by).

2) Service. The staff at the Gamper go out of their way to make you feel welcome and nothing is too much hassle. The waiting staff are excellent. All speak very good English

3) Food. Without any question, the best food of any 4-star hotel i've stayed at (in the world!). Before arriving ,we'd not realised just how good the food here is. The chef has won some major awards.

4) Services. Easy access to a Ski Room and Boot warming room. Great Spa room (recently done up)

5) Rooms. We had a massive suite and it was great for lounging around in. We were slightly nervous by the tiled floor (was worried it would be too cold), but we never noticed it (must have underfloor heating!).

To be a fair review, the negatives include:

1) Smoking in the bar. Mind you, the whole of Austria is like this - it's just more of a shock coming from the UK where you are no longer allowed to smoke inside.

2) No pool / Jacuzzi

3) Expensive drinks (although this is because of the poor currency rate at the moment). Large beers are approx. £4.

Well done the Gamper! Would we stay here again - definately. Would we reccomend to others - yes (and very highly!).

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Josl Mountain Lounging
Josl Mountain Lounging
#22 of 33 in Obergurgl
150 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#5 of 33 in Obergurgl
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#3 of 33 in Obergurgl
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpina deluxe
Hotel Alpina deluxe
#7 of 33 in Obergurgl
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpen Wellness Resort Hotel Hochfirst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gurglhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gurglhof

Address: Ramolweg 19, Obergurgl, Austria (Formerly Hotel Gamper)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Obergurgl
#12 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
#12 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
#15 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range: $262 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gurglhof 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Gurglhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamper Hotel Obergurgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing