We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gotthard-Zeit
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed for a week from 10th Jan 2014. This is our first time at this hotel and we have been completely won over! We have stayed at a number of different hotels in Obergurgl and now this is our favourite and we will be booking up again for next year.
The Hotel is ideally situated with ski in and ski out to the lifts below. The owners and staff are superb - very attentive and friendly which gives a great atmosphere throughout the hotel.
The Spa was a happy surprise as we hadn't really looked at it online as we prefer to ski most of the day. However, when we visited the spa we were delighted with the size and facilities available. You can relax in the relaxation area overlooking the run down to the village and watch people skiing back. Brilliant.
The restaurant and food was very good. An excellent breakfast buffet including hot and cold food. A six course dinner with a huge selection of wines.
The staff in the hotel bar and restaurant were very good at remembering your name and what you preferred to drink, etc which I find very impressive. Well done Hotel Gotthard.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnW620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 92 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

A smaller hotel in Obergurgl with an excellent ski in ski out location. Service was very good without being overbearing. The waitresses in the restaurant were superb, great with the kids and made every meal a delight. Breakfast and dinner were excellent, very varied, evening meal of 7 courses and wine and drinks not too expensive, relatively. Great views from the restaurant over the piste and the village. Boot room is a little tight but has enough heated boot racks etc and is very close to the piste without any stairs to climb. The Hotel sits just above the main Hohe Mut gondola and the Rosskarbahn 4 man chair so it is a short ski down to the ski school meeting point or either lift. Very convenient if you have kids. Great verandah overlooking the piste and village for apres ski drinks and they provide free snacks from 3 to 4:30ish to coincide with the lifts closing. Rooms were a good size, 2 west facing balcony rooms with 2 people in each with plenty of storage space. They can sleep 4 which would be a bit cosy. If you do share with the kids then there is a curtain you pull across to divide the room. The spa area is very modern and well laid out and you can sit in the sauna overlooking the slopes or in the large hot tub with snow falling on your head. It can get a little busy at "rush hour" between ski-ing and dinner but pick the right time and it is a delight. Obergurgl is an ideal resort for beginners and intermediates. Ski school was excellent, good english speaking and a lot of fun for the kids. Hochgurgl ski area easy to get to which adds a bit more area to ski. Not terribly challenging main slopes but there seemed to be a lot of off piste. A lot of people keep going back to Obergurgl and many keep returning to the Gotthard. We will be back!

Room Tip: Best rooms are the south facing balcony suites. The hotels own website has very clear descriptions o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WellTravelledAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

... if you are in search of a perfect hotel, stylish and elegant, yet cosy since rather small. The hotel has a personal touch, the owners are always around, always helpful and friendly. We usually spent our ski holidays in off season and were a bit overwhelmed with the additional noise and stress during the Easter schoolbreak. The elevator was constantly blocked by playing children, the hotel pool area was incredibly loud, occupied by youngsters playing watersports.
School holidays are definitely the time for children and even ourselves come with children. But is was unfortunate to see that parents did not control at all their youngsters, even driving the management mad.
Otherwise, we feel the hotel getting better and better by the years, and the extra 'SUPERIOR' is well-earned, indeed!

Thank you, dear Scheiber-Family, for a wonderful stay and we are already looking forward to see you again in 2014!

R.K.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LONDOLOZI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have just returned from having spent yet another most enjoyable week at the Hotel Gotthard - our 20th consecutive year in this wonderful hotel.

We have never stayed anywhere else in Obergurgl, as the Koll - Schieber family always look after us so well. They make us feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. The customer is king, and they really know what good cuistomer service is all about - all the staff are simply wonderful, after all these years we feel it`s like staying with friends.

We always stay in a south facing room with a balcony where we can enjoy the panoramic views, the cuisine for both breakfast and dinner is absolutely excellent, amazingly it gets better each year! The hotel is the perfect location for "door to door" skiiing, the best in Obergurgl, and we enjoy the delicious cakes provided on our return from a days skiing - a nice touch. The spa area is very well appointed, and the perfect place to relax following a day skiing on the magificent well pisted runs in the Hochgurgl/Obergurgl area.

The Hotel Gotthard is an enjoyable and memorable customer experience which is not to be missed. We look forward to returning for our annual skiing holiday for many years to come. We have already made our reservation for March 2014. Thank you family Koll-Schieber you have a class act!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malsorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

After visiting Obergurgl every year since 1987 and staying in several hotels in the resort, we found that the Hotel Gotthard was excellent in every respect. Friendly staff.
Excellent access for skiing, good food and public areas and accommodation. Excellent pool, sauna, relaxation, wellness salon and spa area.
Returning to this hotel in 2014 this being our third time at this hotel.
We are generally a party between 7 to 10 friends holidaying together.

Room Tip: Book Early to stand a chance of getting a room in this hotel at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have been to Obergurgl 4 times now, but this was our first stay at the Gotthard. Well I don't think I will stay anywhere else. It is in a fantastic ski-in ski-out location with amazing views. The service and food are fantastic too, with great choices at breakfast and dinner. The rooms were spacious and very warm and comfortable. The spa is probably the best spa I have ever been to, it is just amazing with the outdoor jacuzzi overlooking the village.
I can now understand why they have so many returning guests, and I will hopefully be returning myself next year. Thank you to all staff at the wonderful Gotthard-Zeit.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a balcony, the balcony was great for airing clothes and of course keeping the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was our first visit to Obergurgl and the Hotel Gotthard. We were not disappointed. From the incredible efficiency of all the staff to the spotless spa - it's amazing. A big 10/10. I understand why people return year on year and I hope to be amonst them.

Room Tip: I'd like to think they're all as good as ours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank y123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
232 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#20 of 33 in Obergurgl
99 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#3 of 33 in Obergurgl
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#5 of 33 in Obergurgl
349 reviews
0 mi away
Josl Mountain Lounging
Josl Mountain Lounging
#22 of 33 in Obergurgl
150 reviews
0 mi away
Alpen-Wellness Resort Hochfirst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gotthard-Zeit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gotthard-Zeit

Address: Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
#11 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range: $352 - $707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gotthard-Zeit 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gotthard-Zeit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gotthard Zeit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing