We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveler rating
294
121
43
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
121
43
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboot roomumbrella baroutdoor poolperfect locationnext yearnorth facing rooma la carte restaurantski shoplarge hotelfondueski schoolevery nightpublic areasski hirespa areaskiing holidaymain course
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 471 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Situated in an idea place, centre of the village, next to two ski lifts. The hotel has an air of comfort, cleanliness and care. The staff are very happy to accommodate and always cheery and polite. The rooms are kept immaculate as is the spa area and restaurant. Food is extremely good, which is so important after a day's skiing and this is the second time we have returned and have been delighted yet again.

Room Tip: It is always nice to get a south facing balcony. We had birthday cake and tea up on the balcony after skiing, looking out at the mountains and enjoying the life below. Charming. If I am to say anything negative, we felt the bathroom was rather small and the shower area very small.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I returned to this hotel after a few years and it was another excellent experience.
I have stayed at the hotel on numerous occasions previously and will certainly return again.
The position for the chair lifts is unbeatable.
The staff provide excellent service and are very helpful.
The restaurant provides a varied menu and the presentation is good and of course very tasty.
The hotel is well appointed with a very good spa.
I will certainly return again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is the original hotel in obergurgl so has the best position in town. It is right next to 2 of the main lifts and slope back to town. The hotel itself is very comfortable and is just the right balance of being quite elegant but remaining friendly and personal. There are one or two hotels in town which are a bit more upmarket if that's important to you but really the edelweiss is a very nice hotel with great food and service which is perfect for a relaxing sking holiday. The rooms are a good size too. There is a good selection of food each day for breakfast and dinner and there is also a small separate buffet with things that appeal to children like spaghetti, schnitzel, chicken etc. It's a good hotel for children as can be seen at half term where almost every table is occupied by families. The hotel does not hike up the price at february half-term as much as some of the others in town which is very good considering they could fill the hotel 2 or 3 times over in that week. Getting a booking at that time is difficult though, we book 1 year in advance to get a booking that week. It has two swimming pools, one of which goes outside through a plastic door, this is quite unusual and fun swimming outside in a heated pool while snow falls on your head. We always drive from the UK and parking is a bit tricky as the hotel does not have a lot of space directly outside the hotel but it does have sufficient parking overall but you might have to park across the road. Overall I would consider it to be the best hotel in town taking all it's benefits into consideration. Even though some of the other hotels in town might be better in specific areas such as food, parking, or luxurious surroundings, none of them can match this hotel for an overall experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful sunny skiing holiday to Obergurgl. We chose to stay at the Edelweiss and what a good choice this was. The chair lift is literally one step from the hotel and the main cable car is 5 steps. The ski in to the hotel is via a blue run so all our party could experience ski in ski out!
The hotel was superb, lovely, comfortable well equipped rooms and plenty of lounges to sit in in the evening. Though this was slightly marred because the Austrians still allow smoking in some communal areas.
The food was excellent, with a six course meal each evening. We were spoilt for choice at breakfast with eggs being freshly prepared.
The boot room was spacious and warm with comfortable chairs.
The spa was lovely, especially the outside pool which had a good view of the piste. However being prudish Brits we didn't use the sauna/steam room as nudity was required!
If you do visit Obergurgl make sure you go to the Nedderhutte for the best après ski in Austria!
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We will return!

Room Tip: Choose a superior room. If you can go for South facing as there are wonderful views of the piste
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Our fourth stay at the Edelweiss and we haven't thought of going anywhere else. The hotel couldn't be closer to the slopes with a ski room where a few steps take you to the gondola/chair lift. We like the sunny, but slightly smaller, south facing rooms with balconies where you can sit in the afternoon and soak up the sun (well, the weather couldn't have been better in the week we went).
The food is excellent with a wide choice, a huge breakfast buffet and five courses in the evening with a salad bar as well. Particular thanks to Alexander who looked after us so well.
We had previously experienced the smokey bar area, there is a bit of smokiness but not as much as we remembered, it looks as though something has been done.
Top tip, lunch in the glass room where the fireplace is- not many people seem to go there, you can choose from the full lunch menu and it's lovely to sit there, relax and soak up the sun.
The downsides? The positives overwhelm but there were a couple of blips with service and our room could probably do with a bit of a refresh but we are looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186338AlanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews