We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveler rating
294
122
43
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
122
43
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboot roomumbrella baroutdoor poolperfect locationnext yearnorth facing rooma la carte restaurantski shoplarge hotelfondueski schoolevery nightpublic areasski hirespa areaskiing holidaymain course
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 472 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful sunny skiing holiday to Obergurgl. We chose to stay at the Edelweiss and what a good choice this was. The chair lift is literally one step from the hotel and the main cable car is 5 steps. The ski in to the hotel is via a blue run so all our party could experience ski in ski out!
The hotel was superb, lovely, comfortable well equipped rooms and plenty of lounges to sit in in the evening. Though this was slightly marred because the Austrians still allow smoking in some communal areas.
The food was excellent, with a six course meal each evening. We were spoilt for choice at breakfast with eggs being freshly prepared.
The boot room was spacious and warm with comfortable chairs.
The spa was lovely, especially the outside pool which had a good view of the piste. However being prudish Brits we didn't use the sauna/steam room as nudity was required!
If you do visit Obergurgl make sure you go to the Nedderhutte for the best après ski in Austria!
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We will return!

Room Tip: Choose a superior room. If you can go for South facing as there are wonderful views of the piste
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Our fourth stay at the Edelweiss and we haven't thought of going anywhere else. The hotel couldn't be closer to the slopes with a ski room where a few steps take you to the gondola/chair lift. We like the sunny, but slightly smaller, south facing rooms with balconies where you can sit in the afternoon and soak up the sun (well, the weather couldn't have been better in the week we went).
The food is excellent with a wide choice, a huge breakfast buffet and five courses in the evening with a salad bar as well. Particular thanks to Alexander who looked after us so well.
We had previously experienced the smokey bar area, there is a bit of smokiness but not as much as we remembered, it looks as though something has been done.
Top tip, lunch in the glass room where the fireplace is- not many people seem to go there, you can choose from the full lunch menu and it's lovely to sit there, relax and soak up the sun.
The downsides? The positives overwhelm but there were a couple of blips with service and our room could probably do with a bit of a refresh but we are looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186338AlanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Have been coming to this hotel for 7 years and have been going to Obergurgl for 13 years. We always meet our friends out there and have a wonderful time. The location is perfect, it's right on the ski slope and it's not far to walk to the Spa shop and other clothing stores. The boot room is big and is open from 8 am to 8 pm. Drinks at bar area are lovely and the atmosphere is brilliant.

Always stay in room 412, it's perfect for 3-4 people. Great amount of wardrobe space and breath-taking view from the big balcony.

Always have a brilliant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor 4 are good. Floors 5 and 6 the corridors are small. Try and get a window which is facing towards the ski slopes.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_love_obergurgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

It's our third visit to this hotel. We will be returning next year no doubt. It's very welcoming and staff our friendly and efficient. Food is good. We stayed on 2nd floor south side. Room very good but bathroom a bit dated. I echo comments about shower controls and lack of space

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisg4766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. Chose the smaller rooms with balcony, overlooking the ski lifts. Brilliant, we spent a lot of time in the afternoons on our balcony.
Ski in, ski out perfect. Snow perfect. Staff were very helpful and efficient - thanks to Arnold and Andrea in the restaurant for their good service.
Swimming pool could get quite overfull with children in the afternoons/early evenings. Best time to avoid this was to swim as late as possible. There was also a children free evening.
Internet connection could have been better - but probably impossible with all the mountains etc.
One point which I thought was very good and which I didn't expect, was that when we paid the bill I noticed that we had been credited with €60 each time we had eaten out - family of 4. (We went for a fondu one evening, and out for a meal another evening). We had informed Arnold beforehand that we wouldnt be coming, but even so, I hadn't expected a discount - we had booked half pension.
All in all a wonderful visit and definately a hotel I would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Go for the smaller rooms overlooking the pistes - the balcony is worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews