We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveler rating
294
121
43
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
121
43
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboot roomumbrella baroutdoor poolperfect locationnext yearnorth facing rooma la carte restaurantski shoplarge hotelfondueski schoolevery nightpublic areasski hirespa areaskiing holidaymain course
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 471 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Still a great place to stay after 14 years of visits! Incomparable location in village centre, metres from a chairlift and gondola. Stayed in room 509 last week- spacious, nice seating area, balcony and bathroom. Great food and restaurant service with good wine recommendations. Try the Austrian Sauvignon with fish, the Eiswein with Nachtisch, and a glass of Trockenbeerenauslese with cheese (sweet but fresh). Only complaint is that smoking allowed in bar area, nauseating for those of us enjoying the smoking ban in UK!

Room Tip: Choose high level south facing with balcony for superb outlook!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

A friend had recommended this hotel (they had stayed some years back) so we were very excited for our stay. The most annoying factor was the smoking inside, every day your clothes would smell. All non- smokers are pushed to the outskirts of the room whilst smokers can all sit around the bar. Although they say there are " smoking areas" it's a feeble statement. They are basically the central point of the room and wraps around the entire bar (not a separate room) so you cannot escape it. You return from a lovely day on the piste with fresh mountain air, but as soon as you walk out of the boot room and into the hotel you are hit with the choking fumes of cigarettes. It made us want to retreat back to our room rather than enjoy a drink in the bar area. I think it's incredibly backwards to allow this In an establishment and had I known, I absolutely would not have booked our stay there.

We were also not impressed with the food on certain nights. For example, one night we couldn't eat the swordfish, it was dry and flavourless. This is not a general statement, some nights it was nice but it was not consistent.

The pillows in the room were far too soft for me, I kept waking up with painful neck ache (I had to take painkillers some mornings). When I asked for a harder pillow they gave me one that was hardly any different. In the end I had to roll up a blanket so that I had sufficient support. I'm not sure the bed linen was changed at all as there was a dirty mark on my sheet the whole time.

There's not enough space in the shower, every time you moved you would knock the temperature lever. You have to stand very still in a confined space, not ideal after a long day skiing!

Finally, one of the things we were looking forward to the most was the outdoor pool to relax in every evening. You couldn't relax at all as it was not warm enough!! Such a disappointment.

There are some positive points, the ski and out out location is great but bare in mind the runs are limited if the lift is closed up and over to Hochgurgl. The town itself is peaceful and friendly. The staff at the hotel were generally lovely and the hotel decor is cosy and traditional.

Unfortunately we would not return.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Larna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissGurgl, Manager at Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Larna,
thank you for your feedback, which we also received via e-mail. Each week we ask all our guests for a short direct feedback through our feedback system. This gives us the chance to immediately fix problems and improve week by week. We had many positive comments in the last few weeks and we deeply regret that we couldn't meet your expectations. We will fix the things you mentioned and we will be back to you in writing to your private e-mail account.
Please be sure that your feedback is very important to us. We hope we welcome you again at the Edelweiss & Gurgl hotel.
Kind regards,
Family Scheiber & the Edelweiss & Gurgl team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We returned from our second trip to Obergurgl on 25 January 2014. We were in a party of three and were very impressed with the location of the hotel, first class. Steps leading up from the boot room, right next to the gondola and chair lift, can't get better than that! The ski shop was half way up the staircase, you did not even need to step outside, were the service was very efficient, we got sorted out with our skis and other equipment in a jiffy. The hotel itself was lovely, it is quite large and very traditional in Austrian style. Some might think the furnishings are a bit old fashioned, but this added to the charm of the hotel. There are plenty of places to sit in the bar area, comfortable sofas and sitting around the bars, chatting to other guests, it had a buzzy feel to it. Of course, being Austria, there was smoking allowed, although this seemed to be contained to one bar area and not the whole hotel. The restaurant was great, with very nice food, served very efficiently by great staff. The wine selection was good, we stuck to local wines which were very good and reasonably priced. We had a room on the south side facing the slopes. The room was fairly big with a large walk in dressing room and seating area. The room was furnished in traditional style with a sort of panelled four poster bed, very cosy. The bathroom was quite small and a bit dated, but the shower itself was quite powerful and adequate. Another person in our party stayed on the north side and these rooms seem to be refurbished with modern bathrooms etc. The spa area was fabulous, but do bear in mind that everyone will walk around totally stark naked, so maybe not for prudes? We did keep our towels on though, no costume allowed!! The pool area was very nice, although as other people have mentioned, could have been a bit warmer, especially in the outside bit. We were so happy in the hotel and love Obergurgl, we are planning to return next year. I would particularly like to mention how wonderful the staff were, in the bar area - Marcell and Ivo and our fantastic waiters - Arnold and Andrea, first class service and the girls in reception were lovely and helpful too. Thank you E & G for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have been modernised, on the south side you will have wonderful views of the slopes and balcony, although not modernised, these are traditional and cosy.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a one week ski break in January with our 5 year old twins. Perfect location next to the slopes with easy ski in / ski out access. The hotel is very laid back, incredibly kid friendly and the staff are a delight. It is so good to go to a family run hotel rather than a chain and to see the owners taking so much pride in their business. Obergurgl is a fabulous resort and this must be the best hotel in it!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We (family with children) have been a few times to Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl and have always been very happy.
The location is the best possible with a comfortable ski room inside the Hotel with access direct to exterior only a few meters to 2 lifts and at end of day you can ski all the way to the stairs to ski room.
Both breakfast and dinner are great with a lot of options and quality.
The spa is very nice with gym, saunas etc and indoor and outdoor pools.
Very nice people and for sure we will return and can reccomend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissGurgl, Manager at Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are very pleased and looking very much forward to welcome you again. Kind regards the Scheiber Family and the Edelweiss & Gurgl staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews