We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveler rating
294
122
43
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
122
43
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboot roomumbrella baroutdoor poolperfect locationnext yearnorth facing rooma la carte restaurantski shoplarge hotelfondueski schoolevery nightpublic areasski hirespa areaskiing holidaymain course
Filter
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 472 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2008

First visit to Obergurgl and the Edelweiss and Gurgl. Lots of repeat visitors apparent.
Some areas of the hotel have been upgraded, our superior South Facing room was huge and had a large balcony with deck chairs but really needed new carpet and soft furnishings. Spa and pool areas were superb and could not be faulted.
Wine prices at dinner were approx 24 Euros. Food was a bit hit and miss with excellent soups and fish but meat courses tended to be overcomplex and somewhat dried out if you ate later on. Had to send back main course on one night.
Our favourite mountain hut was David's Hutte which you could walk to. Try the barbecued pork ribs for lunch at 11.50 Euros being enough for two.
Beware of being stranded in Hochgurgl if the weather closes in as we were. They close the Top Express Gondola and the only way back was via the Ski Bus along with several hundred others fighting for places.

Hotel lounges, staff and boot room could not be faulted. So good that we have already booked to go next year. Skiing suited us with many reasonable blues but not really a place for an absolute beginner. Strangely most of the runs ended up mogully by the end of the day more so than any other resort that I have been to. Is this something to do with the piste bashing technique or what else? Runs were hardly crowded.
Beware First Choice Airlines ability not to load skis at Innsbruck so that they can cram in more duty free and other rubbish to sell to the punters. Still havent heard about our skis some four days later, this trick appears to be a regular thing with flights from Innsbruck.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank araf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2008

My wife and I have been visiting Obergurgl for over twenty years. During that time we have stayed at four hotels other than the Edelweiss. All of which had their strengths and weaknesses. I believe that the Edelweiss is the best overall hotel, based not on the make-up of its clientele, or perceived levels of service but on simple, ‘box-ticking’ fact.

I will begin by listing things you may not like about the Edelweiss. Some rooms are better than others. Even mass market, uniform, flop-houses have some rooms noisier than others. The Edelweiss has also undergone, (and may still be undergoing), a room renovation programme. If you are concerned that the place you lay your head is not as shiny new as others, best to check with the hotel. I have stayed in a number different rooms at the Edelweiss, all of which have been satisfactory, most very good indeed. The renovated North facing rooms have been wonderful, apart from the proximity to the local church bells, a common source of noise in Catholic Austria.
The kitchen does have a tendency to over-egg the pudding. If I were able to give advice it would be this, Italy is literally just over the hill, look and learn. The best ingredients, ably and simply prepared will (IMHO) always triumph over a plethora of sauces and flavours. I must stress that the food isn’t bad, considering the size of the place it’s surprising the food is as good as it is. The dining room staff are however, beyond reproach, in my opinion at least. They all have a command of English and are polite, helpful and almost always smiling.

Now the good bits. The room we had this time was truly excellent. It was a superior North facing room, with plenty of space, excellent fixtures and fittings, clean and with a lovely flat screen TV. The comfortable bed was of the type found across Austria, more like two singles pushed together, but this wasn’t a problem for my wife and I. The hotel is perfectly placed for skiers. Two of the three ski lifts out of Obergurgl are directly outside the hotel. There is also a large sports shop in the basement of the hotel, where you can hire all your equipment needs. The hotel’s other leisure facilities are equally good. Indoor and outdoor pool, steam room, sauna, small gym and massage areas are all within the hotel. There are two bars and two large lounge areas for those who just want to relax with a drink. There is also a glass conservatory area and an outside “Umbrella Bar”, also owned by the hotel. All the hotel staff I encountered were polite, efficient and friendly, from the maids to receptionists. In short, the hotel has everything you would need for a first class ski holiday or a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JandApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2008

This hotel generally gets rave reviews so I won't repeat much of what others have already said excpet to reinforce that the greatest plus is of course its location since this hotel is the definitive 'ski in - ski out' hotel. The boot room and co-located ski hire shop are also quite excellent.

The dining arrangements are typically German - and you are allocated your table on the first night and 'from zere you vill not move'. Personally, I don't enjoy the regimented seating arrangements especially if you're not lucky enough to get a good spot. The food is OK - but not great, with some of the evening choices a bit fancy. What you need after day on the piste is a good feed - not fancy stuff with too many things you've never seen before! The wine list is good - but not cheap and 6 bottles over the week can make your bill look a little toppy! Breakfast is a complete bun fight I'm afraid - especially if you hit rush hour, but the food on offer is good and sets you up for the day.

Undoubtedly the highlight of this hotel - apart from location - are the pool and spa facilities - first class in every respect. Those of a more prudish nature should be aware that the whole wellness facility is totally nude so those of a nervous disposition should be aware of this. However, once you're in and over that first 30 seconds of self consciousness then you just relax in the comfort that not many in there look like Kylie Minouge or Brad Pitt. Nudity is a very European thing so when in Rome....

The bars and public rooms are OK but the nightly singer who plays in the foyer would never get past round one of Pop Idol and Simon Cowell would no doubt have a juicy put down for him. Hopefully he will have been moved on the the Circle Line by the time you get there.

Overall, a good hotel to stay . Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank FairDinkum99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2008

Our family stayed here for a week towards the end of January. I booked direct with the hotel. As well as being cheaper than the operators as at this time of the season they have a deal where rooms come with adult ski passes (Kids under 8 ski free in Obergurgl). This saved around £75 per adult.

We booked a Superior South facing family room for the 4 of us. Kids aged 6 & 8.

The room was very spacious, clean and modern, separate bathroom to toilet, flat screen tv, and a balcony with a view to die for, you could easily throw a snowball onto the piste! (Be warned other in our party had a south facing standard, although clean I would describe the decor as dated and recommend paying the extra for a Superior).

The hotels boot room is fantastic. Every room gets boot and ski space allocated on the racks so there's no fighting over spaces. There were also ample chairs and space for the morning rush -This really was a pleasure to use.
The Scheiber ski shop is immediately at the boot rooms exit and caters for all your skiing needs, including ski hire, servicing etc. Up 15 steps and you're at the main lift (gondala or 4 chair).

We all found the restaurant excellent, almost too good ! and falied to complete the 5 courses on a couple of nights. Kid are catered for either by having dinner in a group with a carer or with the adults and using the child buffet. Wine was a little pricey but you expect that at a good hotel.

All the hotels lounge areas were comfortable and well looked after by the staff, with a couple of open fires to warm you up (Not that the hotel needs any further heating, you could walk around in a t shirt with no problems).

We all loved the pool area with large jacuzzi and adult only spa area. Each room gets robes, inc small ones for the kids that you need to wear into the area.

Our kids enjoyed the informal kids club and came and went as they wanted. Activites ranged from face painting, ice skating to horse riding.

Don't miss the night ski show at Festkogel it was truely fantastic, wrap up and make the effort, really superb and great fun. (The hotel lay on taxis one way, but the walk home is only 5 mins).

The kids went to ski schools and really progressed well. Friendly instructors and reasonable sized classes.

For easy cruising blue runs you need to head to Hochgurgl. The Main run back from Festkogl (Blue 5/6) could get busy and tricky for early begginers. Views from top of Hohe Mut and Wurmkogl are out of this world.

Obergurgl is not cheap but worth every penny for the extra quality it delivers.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beergander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

There is only one word to discribe this hotel-perfect! Its location, staff, food, rooms, pool area, skiroom. Everything to make it a brilliant holiday! We keep returning to the Edelweiss every year.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank MoMoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews