We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Family Friendly Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Friendly Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have been skiing for over 20 years and for the past 6 years have been skiing as a family. The Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl was absolutely amazing, we could not recommend it highly enough! Their motto on tripadvisor was that kids are VIPS. This certainly was true. Our eight year old daughter adored it and she went to kids club every day from 3.30pm - 10pm which included a supervised mealtime. They had great activities, including tabogganing and ice skating! She made lots of friends and the club staff were so good. The hotel itself was so central. The gondola and chairlifts were right outside the hotel door and it had its own ski hire shop on site. And its own boot room you could practically ski in to. The food was fantastic. 6 courses per night and presented in nearly a fine dining fashion. The staff were second to none. The leisure club and thermal spa areas were second to none (when you got over the compulsory nudity bit ;-)) and were all free of charge. Inghams office was also on site at the hotel. We met some lovely people and had some great skiing. We couldn't have asked for any better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelOwnerMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    109
    31
    4
    5
See reviews for
161
144
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

A great hotel located right next to the lifts which meant no walking in ski boots, what a result! My bedroom was lovely, bright and airy. The food selection each day was wonderful...even after six days of skiing I've still put on a few pounds! The only downside to this hotel (and in all fairness it is a very small thing is the smoking, some of the bedrooms had the stale smoke smell and smoking in the bar is still allowed. I have been to other Austrian hotels where they have put a no smoking policy in the hotel, I think this hotel would benefit grately from this.

Overall though a superb trip, the staff did everything they could to help our group - I will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millsy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a lovely warm atmosphere and the food is really great too. It's right next to the slopes and it provides every convenience for skiing. My only regret is the Internet service is poor and I'd love a kettle in the bedroom to make tea and coffee.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
419 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated right in the thick of all things ski!
The bus stop for the airport transfer and bus to Hochgurgl and Solden is right across the road.
The rear entrance has its own ski hire shop with brand new gear, a well organised boot room and even better - it all exits at the bottom of the lower ski runs and right where the main lifts depart from.

The hotel was lovely and you could not wish for more helpful and friendly staff where ever you went (not forgetting the umbrella bar right outside at the bottom of the slopes too)

The room was lovely with lots of fluffy towels and everything you need except tea and coffee making facilities!
We had robes and slippers provided for using the spa which was really pleasant but it didn't open until 2pm so no use if you are planning to relax and using steam or sauna rather than a morning on the Piste.

The food in the dining room was beautiful - tip - when you fill out your order for the evening - write "small portion" on it!
There was so much food available you will not want all 5 courses every night.

Our only gripe was that our room was above the boiler for the spa and our room got really hot. Unfortunately we could not switch rooms as the hotel was full but the hotel staff did everything they could to help resolve it. The hotel was quite warm anyway but our room seemed to over heat at night

If I was going back to Obergurgl I would definitely chose this hotel again

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank roamingjode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed for a week in early January and when we arrived we were warmly welcomed by the receptionist. Our room was ready despite it only being 2pm. We booked a package through UK Tour Operator, Crystal and despite the brochure stating it was a small room, ours was anything but. As well as a double bed we also had a sofa bed, lots of wardrobe and hanging space, a small table with 2 chairs and a desk.

The toilet was separate from the bathroom and the bathroom itself was good with a large bath tub as well as a shower. We did find the pillows very soft though and our request for extras was quickly met but even with 4 pillows each it was still not particularly comfortable for us. The bed however was very firm which was good for us. It did seem strange to have a duvet each.

The temperature in the room was fine; around the hotel it was sometimes a little too warm though. For English TV; there was BBC1, BBC2, More 4, and a couple of the other free-view channels which are easy to find on the TV menu.

This was our first trip to Obergurgl and won’t be the last! It is a small village and the Edelweiss is prominently positioned right next to the gondola and chair lift. Just 10-12 steps away from the boot room! Perfect – hardly any walking in ski boots. There is a small spa supermarket about 2 mins walk away, perfect for stocking up on drinks and chocolate!

The ski area was great and we were blessed with perfect conditions, clear blue, sunny skies, on 5 out of 6 days! The last day we had over 15 cm of snow, so visibility was affected so we just stayed low in the tree line. Never any lift queues and beautiful scenery, especially from the Top Mountain Star restaurant. Worth a trip up there even if you are not a skier as you can get a lift pass just for the lifts you need.

Breakfast was very good and was all self-service; plenty to choose from. We found the 5 course candlelit evening meal a bit fancy for our tastes and even though there is always a vegetarian option for the main course frequently the appetizer and soups contained meat/fish. Twice during the week there was nothing on the main menu that we liked so we simply had the spaghetti with either bolognaise or tomato sauce from the children’s buffet. The salad buffet is very extensive and you could make a meal out of that if needed. We never once ate all 5 courses. Our waitress, Barbara, was great; she was very polite, helpful and always had a quick chat with us about our day.

There is an extensive spa including all the saunas/steam rooms you could want and the spa receptionist was very helpful; she gave us a guided tour and explained what each sauna was and the benefits they brought. The fitness room has a good range of facilities if you’re not too tired from skiing but the pool was quite small and you couldn’t really swim properly in it – more for relaxing. The hotel also had a pool table (2 euros), table-top football machine (2 euros) as well as a few other arcade games.

Wifi was good, we got a code from reception and even though you had to log in each time, there was never any problem getting access and the speed was good.

Overall, we were very happy staying at the Edelweiss and all the staff are a credit to the hotel – they are all so polite and helpful. I would definitely recommend to others and if we are able to return we would stay at the Edelweiss again. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKTravellerLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had been reccomended by friends to the hotel, our stay was very 'efficient' - true Austrian efficiency and professionalism. The ski in, ski out location with kids is fantastic. The rooms were functional although a thermostatic valve salesman could have a field day, for some reason maintaining constant hot water temperatures in any room is impossible it seems. The food is good enough and the staff well drilled.

Room Tip: Ask if they've fixed their variable temperature issues with the hot water - it is a pain, litera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RowneyBirminghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was our fourth visit to this outstanding hotel, 5 years ago we spent our honeymoon here and this was a special treat over christmas. I booked over the internet and we drove to Obergurgl via Germany. As soon as we walked into the hotel we felt valued and looked after. All the staff were friendly and helpful, they can not do enough for you. Rooms were excellent, the food and wine were outstanding, the skiing as fantastic as ever. If you like comfort and enjoy skiing this hotel is amazing.. This hotel isn't a cheap option but it is excellent value for money taking the service and location into account. It also has the best boot room in europe. A special mention must go to our waiter Arnold and our wine waiter Sabrina. Thank you again for an excellent holiday. We hope to return next Christmas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the ski slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derekwestall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Madeleine
Hotel Madeleine
#1 of 34 in Obergurgl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#2 of 34 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpen Wellness Resort Hotel Hochfirst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bergwelt
Hotel Bergwelt
#3 of 34 in Obergurgl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina Deluxe
Hotel Alpina Deluxe
#8 of 34 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl

Property: Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Address: Ramolweg 5 | 6456 Obergurgl, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Obergurgl
#4 Family Hotel in Obergurgl
#4 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
#5 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
#8 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LIVE THE HIGH LIFE ON HOLIDAY Your four-star hotel in Obergurgl at 1930m Nestling between lush green meadows and the towering peaks of the Ötztal Alps, in the centre of the idyllic mountain village of Obergurgl, lies the four-star Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl. Surrounded by no fewer than 21 mountains over 3000m, guests can look forward to a memorable holiday, including: peace and quiet from the moment you arrive,fine four-star service in an exclusive atmosphere,excellent food and drink in our award-winning restaurant,relaxation in the hotel's own 1200m² Glacier Spa,the highest riding stables in Austria with a glass front offering magnificent views,top rental equipment from the hotel's own sports shop,and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edelweiss And Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss Gurgl
Edelweiss Gurgl Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing