We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel - perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel - perfect location”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Just returned from a fabulous trip to the Edelweiss and can't recommend highly enough as a base to explore the mountain. Ski in/out takes on new meaning at this hotel as you could actually ski into the boot room if not for the steps! The rooms, comfort, location, food, spa and service were all outstanding. Don't think I could fault it.

It is a big hotel, but the only time you really feel that is perhaps during breakfast/dinner, but not so much at other times as plenty of space. All very relaxed - eat when you want (within reason) and you keep the same table throughout (worth asking for one near the window!)

Great hotel overall and the very best location in the resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antigua-jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissGurgl, Inhaber at Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you very much! We are very happy to read that. Looking forward to welcome you again! Family Scheiber & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    110
    33
    4
    5
See reviews for
167
146
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Having stayed here before and generally had a great holiday we booked directly with the hotel this time to ensure the right rooms. OOPS that did not work. Our rooms got mixed up within our group and we only found out at the end. That was a mess with some complaining about the extra costs and others not happy with the room they got. Reception were poor and ignorant saying that we should book directly instead of through inghams. YES!! that is what we did. Most unhelpful. Food excellent and staff in general excellent. Found our restaurant server very oushy for a tip mid week, saying that he was off to see his girlfriend and would not be there on Friday. Hint Hint. Boot room excellent as usual. Spa Superb. Room cleaners excellent. I will have to reconsider if the pros outweigh the negatives. The client does not appear to be of priority here.

Room Tip: Top floor or North Facing. Stay away fro the south facing. It is a rip off gimmick to stay in a rabb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodengine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissGurgl, Manager at Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback. We regret that our reception gave you a wrong information, and we apologize, that one of our employees didn’t check if you booked direct or private when he was explaining what happened. If you booked direct or not, makes no difference in this case. We guarantee that every guest receives the room type booked and confirmed either private of through a travel agent.

We assume that our receptionist did explain the 3 rooms you booked when you arrived. One double standard, one double superior, and a Family room Gaisberg. All thre rooms where marked out on our offer and on our confirmation with a description of the room and a picture.
We had no information that the rooms where mixed up within your group until your departure and your party had exactly the rooms we confirmed.
We understand that two members of your party had the better room and payed for the standard room and two of you had the smaller room and payed for the superior.
Please let us know if you think that you where not informed sufficient about the room types you booked in our offer and confirmation or/and at the check-in. If you think it is our fault we will refund the extra charge for the superior room.

Please be sure that our guests have the highest priority for us. Thank you that you mentioned that our staff is ecellent, we are very happy to hear that.
Thank you also very much, that you informed us about the restaurant server. Asking for tip is absolutely unacceptable, that never happened before and we make sure that this will never happen again. Our staff has an comfortable salary and we try to provide friendly working conditions wherever we can. If they get tip due to outstanding service than this is the decision of our guests.

We are looking forward to your e-mail to info@edelweiss-gurgl.com with your reply
and we would very much like to welcome you again next year.

Best regards,
Family Scheiber
& the Edelweiss & Gurgl team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is a well sited resort hotel in wonderful Obergurgl. The staff are great, the rooms lovely, fantastic spa facilities. Very nice restaurant. Great ski room and easy access to slopes. I would like them to have a no smoking bar, because the cigarette smoke stopped me using it. A very good experience. We went with Inghams, who were great and gave us a super ski guiding service. If you want a great ski trip, no lift queues and a bit of pampering, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugardoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay, staff friendly. Slow service at times. Good facilities for those who dont ski. Unfortunatly smoking is allowed in the open area bar, this really was a disappointment as wenoticed all the time in reception and other areas, so didnt use this as much as we would like.
I've rated average as there is no good. Room very clean but colours date the last refurb!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This is a large but cosy hotel, retaining charm, intimacy and excellent service despite large numbers. Could not be better placed for the slopes. Beautiful spa and saunas. Masses of food, great choice, all good, but rarely excellent. Perhaps this is the only symptom of size.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

A friend recommended this hotel. We are a family of five and were looking for a true ski in and out experience in a family friendly, luxury hotel.

The hotel was all we could ask for. Best location ever, great ski in and out. Great boot room. Very pleasant staff at the reception desk and in the restaurant.

We had the "Tower Suite" and loved having some extra space and an area to sit. Very warm rooms, but if you leave the window open slightly, it becomes OK. Hard beds, soft pillows. Not our favorite combination, but upon request they instantly delivered extra pillows and duvets.
South facing room is a fun, as you have a few of the slopes and the pistes.

Only minus is the smoking in the hotel bar. Yes, it's only a small space, but it's still an area you have to walk through to get to boot rooms and kids area. Smoking still seemed to be a very common habit for visitors in this area, also on the terraces of the restaurants on the beautiful slopes. Very disturbing if you don't smoke yourself and don't care for the smell.

Food was wonderful and the kids were happy with the kids buffet.

Wifi worked OK, had to get a special code on a piece of paper though that you needed each time you logged on. Pretty slow line.

Fire place in lobby was on some of the nights and it was nice to hang there and play some games with the kids.

Overall we were very happy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJJoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed at the E&G last January and loved it so much that we decided to book again this year. Last year we travelled with Inghams, this year with Crystal - not massively impressed with either company and would book independantly in future.

We were at the hotel from 25 Feb to 3 March during what turned out to be Dutch, Swedish and Belgian half term week, this was very disappointing having studiously avoided British school holidays, and particularly so because the children were mostly badly behaved and their parents and the hotel staff were not interested in dealing with this - after all the hotel brochure does declare that children are VIPs - our mistake in booking a hotel with this policy perhaps, but when children aged around 5 are running in groups around the fireplace bar when paying adults are hoping to have a quiet pre-dinner drink this is quite unacceptable. There were also groups of children running along the hotel corridors regardless of the comfort of other guests.

Moving on to the hotel itself, our "Finest" rooms booked via Crystal overlooked the rear of the Mitarbeit House - so no view at all. The hotel was fully booked and was not fully staffed. Where last year we had quiet relaxing meals with attentive and well informed staff, this year the pace varied from frantic to no service at all, with us waiting for 25 minutes on one occasion to be offered a drink. The food is mostly very good, with the occasional blip, but not as good as last year. The spa is beautiful and cannot be criticised, the outdoor pool is still cold and uninviting. The ski in ski out facility is perfect, the bootroom is huge and well organised, and the in house shop offers a very good service.

I would recommend this hotel to families but not to couples or groups. As we checked out the reception staff asked if we had enjoyed our stay and we gave them a frank response which seemed to shock them, although they did mention that the problem with unruly children had been discussed recently.

All in all I would recommend Obergurgl but I think that the smaller hotels which do not attract so many children would be my choice in the future.

Room Tip: Can't really offer one because the hotel were unable to improve on our "finest" superi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jopwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissGurgl, Manager at Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
We are awfully sorry that you didn’t like the room booked through Crystal. We take your suggestions very serious.
We take care that we inform our guests about size and location of the allocated room if we have the chance to get in touch with you before arrival.
If you book through a tour operator we have no influence about the information you receive about the rooms. We appologize that they didn’t inform you sufficient about the allocated room.

We offer 14 different room categories and we are pleased to help you finding the right rooms for your wishes.
Also we are happy to assist you choosing the right holiday time.

During your stay we had to fix a light-cover in the outdoor pool and had to drain the water, after reparing we had to refill the pool with new water.
I took about 3 days until the water has had the 32°C again.

We also offer package deals including flights, transfer, room and ski ticket. Please let us know, we will organize the whole trip for you and will choose the right room for your wishes.

Please send us you full Name and adress, than we can find out more, what happened during you stay. This would help us a lot.
Thank you very much that you also mentioned the services you liked and we would be very happy to show you the Edelweiss & Gurgl and the quality of our services again.

CLUE: Use our Live-Help System on our homepage. You can now see and talk to one of our friendly employees. It is free of charge. We are happy to plan your next trip to the EDELWEISS & GURGL hotel.
Family Scheiber & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Madeleine
Hotel Madeleine
#1 of 33 in Obergurgl
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#4 of 33 in Obergurgl
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#19 of 33 in Obergurgl
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bergwelt
Hotel Bergwelt
#2 of 33 in Obergurgl
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lohmann
Hotel Lohmann
#6 of 33 in Obergurgl
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl

Property: Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Address: Ramolweg 5 | 6456 Obergurgl, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Obergurgl
#4 Family Hotel in Obergurgl
#5 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
#8 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LIVE THE HIGH LIFE ON HOLIDAY Your four-star hotel in Obergurgl at 1930m Nestling between lush green meadows and the towering peaks of the Ötztal Alps, in the centre of the idyllic mountain village of Obergurgl, lies the four-star Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl. Surrounded by no fewer than 21 mountains over 3000m, guests can look forward to a memorable holiday, including: peace and quiet from the moment you arrive,fine four-star service in an exclusive atmosphere,excellent food and drink in our award-winning restaurant,relaxation in the hotel's own 1200m² Glacier Spa,the highest riding stables in Austria with a glass front offering magnificent views,top rental equipment from the hotel's own sports shop,and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, seekda GmbH, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edelweiss And Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss Gurgl
Edelweiss Gurgl Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing