We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun - quite expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hohe Mut Alm

Hohe Mut Alm
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great fun - quite expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

This was our second trip to Obergurgl. From past experience a table was booked as soon as we arrived on the Friday (fondu is Wednesday nights) as it can be fully booked.

There was a snow storm raging as we took the lift up. We are a family of 4 - were greeted with a cup of mulled wine and shown to our table which, to our surprise, we had to share with 2 other people! Luckily they turned out to be very nice, but still if you booked at a normal restaurant and ended up sharing with other people there would most probably be complaints.

At first glance there didnt seem to be enough food for all of us - and then there was the question of which family took which meat etc. However all this was fine, as the waiters just kept on filling up the bowls of meat, chips, baked potatoes etc.

There was a live band playing which was very good, but as we sat upstairs we didn't really see much of them.

The meal was expensive, but all in all a very enjoyable evening.
4 stars only because we had to share our table.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    128
    26
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rishworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“"Ripped Off"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

After reading the wonderful reviews about this restaurant we decided (as a family of 3) to visit on the "Fondue Evening". We were greeted at the door with half a cup of Gluhwein which was good. We were shown to our table which we shared with another family. That too was OK as it was interesting to converse with people from another country.
There was a portion of Caesar Salad in each place (no alternative offered). The two families then shared a bouillon fondue and an oil fondue. There was a selection of meats (chicken, beef, pork and a few prawns) together with slices of carrot, parsnip, some tomatoes and a few button mushrooms. The waitress brought some french fries and baked potatoes (the size of a goose egg) to the table. Sounds OK so far doesn't it??
The service was reasonable and although it was busy we didn't have to wait more that a few minutes to ask for or receive a drink.
The main problem was the price. On the website the price stated was 40 Euros. We realised it was a little expensive but thought that some wine or beer may be included (nothing except the half cup of Gluhwein). We ordered 4 glasses of wine, a red bull, a glass of diet coke and three Jagerbombs (charged at 5.80 Euros, when all other bars charged no more than 3.60 Euros). When the bill arrived it stated that the price was 48 Euros per person and the drinks bill was 68 Euros (total 212 Euros). I personally felt that it was very over priced and I left the restaurant feeling like I had been ripped off. I felt it was pointless to complain as it wouldn't have achieved anything and I would have spoiled what was otherwise an OK evening.
My advice would be to go the this restaurant for a meal at lunchtime when it isn't so over priced and you can enjoy the spectacular views.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BobsyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
404 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Superb views - great place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Fantastic location, reached by the main village gondola with a reasonably straightforward run form the top of the mountain down to the village. Brilliant views, great location for a drink or meal - excellent quality and loads of outdoor seating.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cracking mountain restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Superbly positioned, beautifully appointed mountain restaurant. Efficient and friendly service. Good and not over-priced menu. Lovely looking private rooms.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dhm56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Top of the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Brilliant views of the surrounding mountains, great to watch the skiers set off. Lovely food, which was quickly delivered. We sat outside to eat, but later went inside for a drink, very warm and cosy.

Downside is that if the weather is bad then this hut is closed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hohe Mut Alm also viewed

 
Obergurgl, Tirol
 

Been to Hohe Mut Alm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing