We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hannes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Niederau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Hannes
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Certificate of Excellence
lancs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We just returned from Austria after staying a week at hotel Hannes from 22nd Feb-1st March. Austria is an amazing country, probably one of the nicest places I have ever been to, we were worried when we arrived at the lack of snow as nothing at all visible on the roads or on houses on our way to the hotel from the airport. However when we woke the following morning we could see plenty of snow on the slopes which was good. Crystal were very good giving us our lift passes and hire voucher on the transfer on the Saturday evening so on the Sunday we just got up and went straight to the hire shop located just a few minutes away and it was very easy to get our skis, sticks and boots. The button lift is right opposite the hotel Hannes we got on this and then just skied across to the main gondola, easier than walking with the boots on! There are plenty of good runs in Niederau however after a couple of days we decided to get the bus to Auffach where there is slightly more choice and only a 15 min bus ride away. Reggie gave us a free bus ticket for the week and told us where the bus stop was(literally outside the hotel). The staff at Hannes hotel are great, so welcoming and friendly, the rooms are spotless and the food was great, 3 courses every night, always soup as a starter but very nice soup and some great mains and deserts! Hannes is very efficient and always remembers what people drink! We realised that we had to sit with another couple for breakfast and evening meal, the staff obviously look into this and try and put you with people of a similar age, once you get your table on the 1st day this is yours then for the week, we sat with a couple from "Down South", really enjoyed getting to know them and ended up going out for a drink most nights with them! Couldn't fault anything at all about the whole stay or about the resort itself, we had a great time, there is a spar supermarket right next door but also a bigger supermarket about 150 metres down the road if you turn right out of the hotel, this supermarket sells hot meat and really nice sandwiches and baguettes, good for an afternoon snack! We also went to the pizza restaurant right next door to the hotel on our last day, very reasonable price and good size portions! There are plenty of bars in the area and we met some crazy locals in a small random bar who insisted on buying us beers and shots!! The white rabbit bar is an eye opener too but a good laugh! All in all a great week and didn't want to come home, friendliest hotel I have ever been to!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 304, very spacious on top floor so good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minnieLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    39
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
58
97
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay at Hotel Hannes and could not fault it. We arrived after dinner but they saved us some to ensure we did not go hungry which we were very pleased with. Rooms good size and enjoyed having a balcony. Shower was very powerful and bed made everyday was nice to come back to after a day skiing. Hannes and Regina are very welcoming and make an effort to get to know you during your stay. The food was lovely and homely with a choice to be selected at breakfast. We were given a little packed lunch for our return journey as we were leaving early in the morning which was also very nice and unexpected. Overall highly recommend and great location for nursery slope over the road and not too far from main gondola and ski hire shop, 5-10 minute walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmslow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful weeks skiing whilst staying at the Hannes. It is home from home with excellent food, very comfortable and superb hospitality from both Regina and Hannes. Hotel very warm and we even had to keep the window open at night. Although there is a blue run right outside the hotel, the actual ski schools and nursery slopes are a good 10 minutes walk away and with ski boots and skis to carry it could get tiring after a days skiing. Worth getting a locker near by to keep them in for the week. Weather was exceptional with blue skies everyday which definitely added to the enjoyment of learning to ski. Red ski school to be recommended - Carolyn was very patient and gave you the confidence to progress very quickly. Race day Thursday morning with medals given to each participant at a fun presentation evening that night. Overall the resort is to be recommended and certainly the Hotel Hannes if you are looking for a smaller place to stay. Will not be disappointed. Mrs O AND SON

Room Tip: ask for a room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilaryoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is lovely. We were well looked after by Hannes and Regi who are very friendly and up for a good chat. Rooms are exceptionally clean and meals are hearty and you won't leave feeling hungry. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Danke Hannes, from the intergalactic space goats:-)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Annah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Hotel Hannes was very good. The family who run it made us very welcome indeed with Hannes front of house serving drinks and joking with the kids. The food was very good. Breakfast was a choice of bacon, eggs, cereals and continental style cheese and meats. For the evening meal you get a choice of two meals which you pick at breakfast time. Not haute cuisine, but having been on many skiing holidays before I thought the evening meals were excellent - tasty, filling and welcome at the end of a day on the slopes.

The rooms are very comfortable. We had rooms 307 and 308 and put our kids in the one with the sloping roof (I wouldn't have wanted to stay in that room as a tall adult!). Showers were hot and powerful and our room was kept clean and tidy every day.

There is a shop just a couple of minutes walk away and you can practically ski to the hotel (nearest lift is a few minutes walk and across a road). Ski room and boot room are fine though the boot room didn't get our boots dry.

The skiing in Niederau is good. This was the first time on the slopes for our boys and they were doing red runs by the end of their first week, which is quite a testament to the ski school. There is fairly limited choice of runs and there was a lot of heavy cloud cover for most of the time we were there, which is a shame, but the snow at the top was very good. We ventured over to Auffach which was a simple bus ride and there is far more variety and longer runs over there.

I highly recommend this hotel and the resort especially for families and for beginner and intermediate skiers.

Room Tip: Probably want rooms on the first or second floor to avoid sloping roofs on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPhilB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royston-vasey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just returned from an excellent week of skiing. This is a fantastic hotel, very welcoming and friendly. Can't fault the food, the breakfast was especially good. We had room 210, which was a large room with lovely balcony. Really enjoyed the sauna and steam room. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r0yst0n_vasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

I'll begin by agreeing with all the positive comments that everyone has written. The hotel facilities, the location and food were brilliant. The family make you feel so welcome and the atmosphere in the hotel is wonderful. We met so many great people and enjoyed sharing our day's experiences in the evening. Unfortunately, however, I did the most ridiculous thing as we were hurrying to vacate our room last Saturday . . . . . . I accidentally threw my engagement ring and a necklace along with some rubbish in the bin!!! I wasn't sure at the time where it was and with the coach waiting we had to leave Niederau without it. It was a very long journey home! We checked our luggage on arriving home - no jewellery. As soon as I could get in touch with Crystal the next day they got the ball rolling to try and find it. This of course meant going through all the rubbish and luckily it was Sunday so the rubbish had not been collected. The girls who work in the hotel did eventually find it and Reggie sent it on to me the very next day. I received it today and obviously cannot thank the staff (and Crystal) enough for what they did. I can't imagine many hotels going to so much trouble for someone. Thankyou everyone at Hannes!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niederau hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#3 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
#7 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Staffler
Hotel Staffler
#1 of 11 in Niederau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#5 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#9 of 11 in Niederau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Simmerlwirt
Hotel Simmerlwirt
#8 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hannes

Property: Hotel Hannes
Address: Wiesweg | 226, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niederau
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Niederau
#3 Family Hotel in Niederau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hannes 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Hannes Hotel Niederau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing