We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“K&k”
Review of Hotel Hannes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Niederau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Hannes
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was our first trip to Austria skiing, this hotel made it very easy to enjoy. Food was basic but excellent, hotel was clean and tidy, warm and very friendly, we met some great people, which we sat with at breakfast and dinner, and also in the small bar at night.
Family run, hannes the owners son was great to chat to and for information around the ski resort, and Reggie was just lovely and very funny. Thank you all for a great stay. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 306 which had a bath and a shower so very very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karenelamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 218 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for a one-week skiing holiday and received a very warm welcome. It's an excellent hotel with spacious rooms and great facilities.

We booked half board. The breakfast buffet had bacon, eggs and toast as well as the usual cerial and continental stuff. The evening 3 course meals were so good that we didn't bother to eat out at all. The hotel bar is quiet and welcoming.

Ski and boot storage is very well organised and there's both a chair lift and drag lift just over the road allowing easy access to the piste. The room was excellent, spotlessly clean with plenty of space, had a great shower and bath, good water pressure, and there was a room safe.

All-in-all we were very impressed and I'd certainly choose this hotel on my next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Reggie, Hannes and Family are so welcoming from the moment you walk in and will help where ever they can.
The room was clean and warm, the only problems were the pillows were too thin but we asked Reggie for another one which she sorted but the spare bed for my daughter was really hard.
The food was basic but wholesome but there was a choice of two main courses.
Reggie is very good at placing likeminded people on the same tables i.e. from the same country or a similar age, so that different families become friends.
Skies and boots can be stored at the Hannes and it is only a walk across the road to the nearest button pull lift.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just returned from a great skiing holiday at Niederau. Stayed ay Hotel Hannes and so glad we did. Had considered Hotel Austria but after having lunch there one day found the staff to be rude and inefficient, so unlike Reggie and her son Hannes who were wonderful hosts. Hotel Hannes truly is a family hotel and you.are made to feel at home from the moment you walk in. OK, you may need to take a few statins before eating in Austria (they sure do like pork and frying food) but that's the way it is. We went with another family who had never skied before and Niederau was perfect for them. The ski school is very good and the nursery slope long, wide and not too steep. The only thing that is missing in Niederau is a nice easy blue through the trees from the top of the Gondola. That would make it a 10 out of 10. We loved it and the kids loved Reggie and hotel Hannes. (ps- beware of naked Sweedish people in the Sauna - takes some getting used to, especially when the kids are with you, but that's just the prudish way we are in Britain!)

Room Tip: 3rd floor has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whitefish_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was my first skiing holiday outside Bulgaria and I was impressed with Austria, and particularly impressed with this friendly hotel.
Our room was clean, with daily cleaning; the only slight criticism was that I took the sofa bed, which was not as comfortable as the two other beds in the room.
The staff were very friendly, with English spoken, but also appreciative of my attempts to improve my German.
The hotel has a room for skis/sticks, a warm boot room, and sauna and steam room facilities.
The food was in my opinion very good. self service breakfast including bacon, ham, eggs, breads, fruit, yogurt, cereals etc. Evening meal @ 6.30 was a choice from two 3 course menus. Plenty to fill you up after a day on the pistes. The staff were very accommodating with food requests, for example two of our party were vegetarian and were well catered for. Also, one member of the party requested fruit for dessert, and this request was granted happily.
Leave the hotel and walk to the main road (30m). Turn left and there is Spar shop for provisions 50m, the main village & gondola 5 mins walk. Turn right and it's 1 min to a blue run, 200m to a supermarkt with snack bar.
We skied in Niederau for 2 days, then caught the (free) bus to Auffach to try out their pistes for 2 days, (then I damaged my knee and rested for 2 days).
Overall I would give the Hannes the thumbs up and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank max_mcholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our stay at the Hotel Hannes was just perfect. We were made to feel so welcome and more like family members than guests. The food was delicious (and such huge portions too!) and the service was excellent. Our room was so much bigger than any we have stayed in in France and so clean and well maintained. The sauna an steam room were just what was needed at the end of a days skiing. The showers were quite something too! The bar was a great place to relax and catch up with new friends on an evening. All in all, a wonderful place to stay, Reggie, her family and staff run a superb, welcoming hotel. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would love to go back in the summer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very friendly. Names are remembered by the staff after the very first evening. Great food, comfortable beds. The clear soups they serve are fantastic. Fantastic hotel, and its my second time of staying here, as I stated here last year.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niederau hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#8 of 11 in Niederau
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#4 of 11 in Niederau
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Staffler
Hotel Staffler
#1 of 11 in Niederau
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#3 of 11 in Niederau
86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
#6 of 11 in Niederau
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Simmerlwirt
Hotel Simmerlwirt
#9 of 11 in Niederau
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hannes

Address: Wiesweg | 226, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niederau
#1 Best Value Hotel in Niederau
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Niederau
Price Range: $100 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hannes 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Hannes Hotel Niederau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing