We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hannes - Small and Friendly, Excellent Hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hannes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Niederau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Hannes
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hannes - Small and Friendly, Excellent Hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hannes is a relatively small hotel on the edge of the village, well placed for the supermarkets, bus stop and witihn a few minutes walk to the centre. It is a family fun business, with a homely feel and the service is superb - nothing is too much trouble for Reggie and her family. Rooms are large, clean and serviced daily - towels changed every other day. Evening meal is a choice of two menus selected daily except saturdays when it is pot luck, always plentiful, some traditional Austrian fare, but generally one of the two options "typically english" for those that don't like foriegn food! Personally, I love the Austrian dishes and would have loved to see more of them on the menu. Drinks are reasonably priced and you setlle up each evening. Breakfast is continental and traditional, semmel rolls, choice of breads one cheese and meat selection, jams with museli and something similar to corn flakes as the cereal option. I would say that the breakfast menu may seem a little limited, especially for those that have not have travelled to Austria before. there is one internet terminal in the reception area and is 1 euro for 15 minutes. You get a free holiday card from Reggie which gives free access to the two local cable cars and a range of other facilities including local swimming pool. Neiderau is a quiet resort, great for walkers with limited nightlife, though there are some local bars with traditionally local evening events. All in all it was a very enjoyable 2 week holiday - thanks to all at the Hannes!!

Room Tip: Take a top floor room facing the village if you can - better view and you dont have to suffer heavy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s34107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    39
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
97
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We've just returned from a wonderful holiday at Hotel Hannes in Niederau. An excellent hotel with very friendly owners and staff.The bedrooms and balconies were spacious and very clean. The beds were very comfortable.We enjoyed the food and it was very satisfying although quite basic and we felt lacked in vegetables but I think us Brits do eat a lot more veggies than other european countries.
The hotel is in a good location,near to both supermarkets(handy for lunchtime snacks)and near the cablecar station and stop for the bummeltrain which takes you to other villages in the valley.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a small,friendly hotel where you feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizmalGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We just got back from a two centre stay in Austria, the first week was at this wonderful fun Hotel, owned by an over the top Lady, fun all the way.
Hotel is situated two minutes from the cable car, and the same to the town centre,thirty seconds away fron the Spar and garage that sold everything after 5pm.

We where up on the second floor at the back,lift to all floors, quiet and cool, the sun hits it at the back in the afternoon, LARGE balcony with great views of the valley and mountains.
The hotel boasts a sauna availbale up until 6pm for free though after 6pm there is a charge to use it. There is no hotel swiiming pool, but ten mins walk or three mins on the train and you have a public pool.

Room was usual austrian twin with two duvets, ask for additional pillows as they are SO soft you loose yourself in them, big bed, there is also a sofa bed in case there are more in the family, big bathroom/shower, towels changed twice a week, one small complimentary soap so take your own.
The room was cleaned every day and beds made up differently daily, no heating but who needs it with temperatures up in the high 20/30s.
Plenty of storage space and a safe in the room.

Being on half board basis meant that food was not a big issue, buffet breakfast and set meal at night, with choice of main course, menu left on the table in the morning to fill in for the evening, together with Whats on and the daily weather forcast, useful if you where going into them there hills.

Food choice was limited in the breakfast buffet, usual cereals and yoghurt, various breads, fruit juices and serve yourself tea, coffee is brought out to you enough to fill you.
Evening meals are prepared by mine hosts husband, a bit dissapointing as frozen veg, deep fried or grilled meats, would have ben nice if the food was freshly prepared but having said that everything was fine, no real complaints.
You keep the same table throughout the stay so you get to know your neighbours.
There is a large bar with drinks priced locally, small beer E2.50, large at E3 same for wine and spirits. Pay at the end of the evening each night.

Reception closes at 11am until 4.30pm but he hotel is of course open 24/7.
There is a hotel whats on guide as well as the usual Holiday firm guide, the hotel guide is far better but is in Austrian so check with the boss as to whats on in the village.
Wednesday evenings there is a brass band concert over the road with a beer tent so a good evening is assured.

When registering you will recieve the resorts FREE ACTIVE card this gets you onto all the cable cars free,various attractions for free, Museums, Silver Mine and the local outdoor swimming pool, great place to spend a whole day when it is really hot.
Also buy the Bummble train weekly ticket,cost E15 and gives unlimited use of the funny train.
Single journey would cost E7 and you go a long way on the train, and you will be on it every day, the post bus is expensive and goes most places the train goes, so save a bundle on the Bummble.

I cant say enough about the hotel as it is a great place to stay.family run so not an impersonal franchise place, you will be made at home and part of the extended family, so enjoy every minute of your stay.

If walking is for you then this resort has it all, it is quiet in the evenings there are bars but mostly attached to the hotels, there is a pizza place attached to Spar and also sandwiches can be bought fresh from Spar at E2.

Walking trails are well marked with No's and times so if you buy a walking map,costs E7 you will have a great time, but watch the times of the cable cars and do not get caught out, last car 5pm BUT you have to be on the 4.30pm as the last car down is the cable car attendent and you wont get on. ( It is a 2hour walk down off the montain)!!

Honest you wil have a great holiday in Niederau and especially if you stay at the Hannes, it may not be your number one choice but try if and I doubt you will regret the experience.

Room Tip: Try for upper floor at the back, its away from the road and quiet, also the sun won't shine in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were a group of 11 travelling from uk aged 8 months up to 61 years. Couldn't fault this hotel!
Food was fantastic with a choice of 2 main meals in the evening and continental buffet breakfast.
Room was decorated to an Austrian style and was very roomy, the shower was lovely and powerful and had a balcony with an awesome view.
Reggie the owner is a lovely lady and her family are very welcoming and always remembered our names and were fantastic with our 2 children!!
Will be back to this hotel in winter again for our yearly ski/snowboard holiday!
Well done to the Hannes we are hooked!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann_kimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Just returned after 10 days at the Hannes. Reggie was a very welcoming host and quickly became on first name terms with us and the other guests.There was a very friendly atmostphere at all times .The food was excellent, a good continental buffet breakfast and a tasty 3 course dinner. There were 2 choices of main course which were pre selected at breakfast time.Whilst we were lucky during the daytime only having 1 wet day out of 10 ( thunderstorms most nights though), the only downside to the hotel is a lack of lounge facilities during the daytime. The restaurant and small bar were closed until 4.30pm and if wet days a lounge to sit in and socialise would be nice. However we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a small and friendly family run hotel in Niederau.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMM006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Well.....what can we say?... other than absolutely amazing stay at the Hotel Hannes. We have just returned from a week skiing and boarding staying at the Hannes and have come back relaxed and excitedly anticipating a return to this homely style clean and friendly hotel.

What were the highlights you ask?.... where to begin...? It has to be the warm and welcoming personalities of the family running the hotel. Reggie and her son Hannes run the front of house and always make you feel like nothing is too much trouble. Their service is impeccable and Hannes not only provides the entertaining banter but makes the most awesome 'Hannes cocktail' which I highly recommend you order..... although be careful as 1 easily turns into 3!

Highlight number 2 was easily the food quality prepared by Reggie's husband. There were 2 menus available to choose for each dinner and each menu was fresh, hearty and very tasty! I am a very fussy eater and so was worried about the food but I was far from disappointed and am convinced that after eating a full 3 course meal every evening that I have come rolling back! The breakfast was equally as impressive boasting all that you could possibly ask for to set you up for a day up the mountain!

This leads me to the location, which is idealistic. The lifts were a mere 2 minute walk from your front door and a quick ski in!

SO...overall pretty brilliant and I am sure that we will be returning. We can simply guarantee that you will not be disappointed. Just remember to order a Hannes cocktail :-)

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Just spent a week at Hotel Hannes would definitely come again. We brought extra pillows in vacuum bag as we were told that pillows here are not good best thing we did.
Good snow all week
Go to Hotel Austria for a meal one evening you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizziek51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niederau hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#3 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Staffler
Hotel Staffler
#1 of 11 in Niederau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
#7 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#5 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#8 of 11 in Niederau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#4 of 11 in Niederau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hannes

Property: Hotel Hannes
Address: Wiesweg | 226, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niederau
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Niederau
#3 Family Hotel in Niederau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hannes 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Hannes Hotel Niederau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing