We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rescued by the Staffler...”
Review of Hotel Staffler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Staffler
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Highly recommend the Staffler, which is run by Nick and Yana who understand exactly what their guests want in a short (or long) skiing break. It made a nice change to stay in a hotel run by people who understand what hoteliers should provide - many other similar hotels could benefit from watching them and their staff at work.

They rescued our messed up booking (not their fault!) and found accommodation in another Niederau hotel down the road for our last night. We still found ourselves coming back to the Staffler for the bar, staff and all round welcoming ambiance.

On our last day we were guided by Ian around one of the mountains nearby - well worth it!

Many thanks!

the Simpson party - Neil, Graham, Jon and Mike

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 295 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just returned from a stay here in which the host (who looked like Dick Emery's Vicar) and his lovely Wife looked after us splendidly. The rooms en suite shower room are a bit small and basic, but clean and the beds comfortable. All in all could not fault it for an all round stay in a nice location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockape63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Booked the Staffler as it was the only hotel in Niederau I could find that did short breaks. Very useful to be able to do Wednesday till Monday. We were also attracted by the reasonable room rates. Accordingly, we didn't expect too much but were pleasantly surprised. The hosts, Nick & Yana, were very friendly and helpful and we soon felt at home. The food was excellent, not gourmet, but home-cooked and tasty, and always nice and hot. As we all ate together at 6.30 it made us more likely to strike up conversations with other guests, so we soon got to know people and swapped skiing stories in the bar. Guests included families, couples and groups of guys on a weekend away. It could get noisy in the dining room due to the latter, so don't expect a quiet romantic getaway. It is a very British experience, all guests except 4 Norwegians were from the UK. A few minor irritants: although only 150 metres from the gondola it is uphill and hard work first thing in the morning ; the mattresses were not comfortable; it occasionally felt like the hotel was run for family over guests; the dining room and bar could be made to be more warm and charming. These niggles were more than compensated for by the overall experience. A final plus is the large sunny terrace where one can relax at the end of the day and enjoy the mountain views and setting sun.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nutbonker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My older family & I stayed in this modest hotel at what we thought was at exceptionally reasonable prices. NEVER have we been made more welcome than we were by the host & hostess and all their staff. we enjoyed it from the moment we arrived to the moment we left!! Carry on like this &
you can't go wrong. Other hotels could learn a lot for PR from these lovely people. David H.

Room Tip: On the first floor as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidGH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Once again a perfect stay in the friendliest hotel. Picked up from the airport on a very snowy night. Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by Elvis playing in the cave bar. Great experience!!
All staff are friendly, kids well looked after. Lovely home cooked food. Excellent service at the bar. Fantastic hosts. I would recommend everyone should be Staffler'ed at some point in their life!.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for a short 3 night break at the beginning of January, and as usual, the Staffler did not fail to impress. It is clean, warm and close to the slopes - a great location all in all. Rooms are small, but comfortable and ski/boot storage is available in the basement free of charge. The Cave bar underneath the hotel caused no problems with regards to noise ( we were on the 2nd floor).

Food was excellent and plentiful, but please note that everyone must eat dinner at the same time each evening. This adds to the overall experience of your holiday and is a good way to get to know fellow travellers.

Nick, Yana and the rest of the team were as welcoming and helpful as ever.

This is an excellent place to stay if, like us, you want a short break. It is easy to get to from all the airports by train to Worgl, and then a short taxi or bus ride.

Top Tip: If travelling by train from Salzburg, make sure you take the fast train, as we managed to spend 3.5hours on a train instead of 1hr 20!!! However, the views more than made up for it :)

Room Tip: the highher the floor, the less likely you are to be affected by noise from the cave bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Staffler was recommended to us by a friend as a lovely friendly family run hotel close to the slopes with a cosy atmosphere and great food. It was exactly that. We were met on our arrival at the airport by a memebr of Staffler staff :-) and along the way he told us all about the hotel, the family who own it and about Niederau. On our arrival at the hotel we were met by friendly staff shortly after which the owners (Nick and Yana) also arrived to welcome us. They gave us all the info we needed on buying lift passes. catching the bus to the additional nearby slopes, eating out for lunch and on local entertainment. We certainly had no need for a rep whilst staying here as the owners and staff were more than happy to help. The room was spotlessly clean and absolutely ideal for a snowy holiday with ensuit and a lovely hot shower. No TV but being out all day there's no need for one on this type of holiday, but there was one on the the wall in the bar with sky spots etc available. The room was a little chilly initially but on mentioning this Yana had the radiators checked and problem solved. Ski and snowboarding equipment was kept in the boot room downstairs so the corridor and bedroom carpets weren't damp and smelly like they can be in ski resort hotels. The breakfast was buffet style with plenty to choose from and the evening meals were lovely wholesome and home made. I personally have a list of dietary requirements which I often feel bad about announcing but I let the owners know in advance by email and Tom the chef was fantastic at altering my meals so that I could either have what everyone else ate (with certain ingredients eliminated) or an alternative. We were sat with other parties at dinner time allowing all guests to mingle and talk about their days in the snow breaking the ice and making for a really friendly atmosphere in the dining room and the bar. I could not fault any part of our stay. The club underneath the hotel was not outrageously loud and although it could be heard it didn't disturb us. Very light sleepers would maybe need earplugs. All in all a fantastic stay blessed by the best snow we've ever had and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: There isn't a lift so as rooms are on the 1st to 3rd floors anyone with difficulties climbing st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niederau
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#7 of 11 in Niederau
70 reviews
2.1 mi away
Landhotel Tirolerhof
Landhotel Tirolerhof
#5 of 25 in Wildschonau
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#4 of 11 in Niederau
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#5 of 11 in Niederau
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
#6 of 11 in Niederau
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Simmerlwirt
Hotel Simmerlwirt
#8 of 11 in Niederau
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Staffler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Staffler

Address: Ing.Hochmuthstrasse 166, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Niederau
#1 Green Hotel in Niederau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Niederau
Price Range: $138 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Staffler 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staffler sits in the centre of Niederau, in the heart of the Kitzbuhler Alps, close to ski schools, hire shops, the main lifts and nursery slopes. The hotel is the resorts oldest, most well known and offers guests a relaxed and informal atmosphere. En suite bedrooms are simply furnished. A number can accommodate additional beds, some have balconies and all have mountain views. There are also a limited number of interconnecting family rooms.  On the ground floor is a comfortable reception area, O'Malley's bar - always popular and busy, a fantastic sunny terrace and a bright and airy dining room. Streamed sport is available in O'Malley's and complimentary high speed wifi is also available throughout the hotel.  A complimentary buffet breakfast and three course dinner are served each day.  The Staffler is uniquely not Saturday to Saturday specific - guests can arrive and depart at anytime. The hotel is multi-award winning including it's ranking on TripAdvisor, the recipient of their 'Certificate of Excellence' for the past eight years, the only hotel in the Wildschonau to have their coveted 'Hall of Fame' award and a unique recipient of their silver 'Green Leaders' ECO award.  Last season the Staffler received their 'Travellers Choice' award - voted by TripAdvisor reviewers, rating the hotel one of the top 25 hotels in the whole of Austria for families and service (number 14 in fact).  ​ The hotel is pet friendly - dogs especially. Late flights on the last day of many a personal holiday have always frustrated so we will always endeavour to make at least one room available for showers and changing for guests on afternoon or evening departures from the hotel - and at no additional cost. All guest bookings are made directly with ourselves or with a small number of Online Travel Agents. We do not look after any specific Tour Operator clients.  ​ If you are looking for a luxury hotel with lots of amenities then the Staffler is probably not for you but if your accommodation choice is about outstanding service, complimentary Ski Guiding subject to conditions and lots more besides then the Staffler will satisfy - and how!  ​ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Staffler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staffler Hotel Niederau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing