We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveler rating
75
70
37
18
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
70
37
18
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski hire soup bread ski school heated lockers excellent position be returning to this hotel warm hotel hire shop half board swimming pool meeting place dining room staff her daughter shearings coach holiday apricot cake nursery slopes
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 217 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2016

Having tried alternative accommodation this February we moved to the Austria. What a pleasant surprise! Everything you would want and more in a ski resort. This is a very professional hotel, catering for the ski community, everything was exactly as you wanted a ski hotel to be, making your holiday effortless. Plenty of breakfast, a large choice of jucesm cereals and the more traditional breakfast items, meats, cheese and even bacon and scrambled egg. Sets you up perfectly for the day. Evening meals too, very attentive staff, enormous salad bar, you won't be going home hungry from a stay in the Austria! The rooms are very spacious, with shower/baths plenty of hot water. Views of Niederau from every room, with balcony. This family have been conducting skiing holidays since the very early days and certainly know how to do it properly. Very central location, next to the gondola station, a 1-2 minute walk, and the ski-bus stop. The Ski Juwel area is one of the jighest rated skiing areas in Austria, dare I say it, in Europe, meaning that a stay in the Hotel Austria is something you must consider when planning a holiday in this area. I can't recommend it high enough!

Room tip: Any room here is good room!
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheGreatHowardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2016

We had an awful experience at the Hotel Austria, mainly because of the service we received. The food was average, quite salty and bland. We received a cold welcome, the staff were unhelpful and didn't carry out requests when asked. The hotel is very dated, it looks like it hasn't been decorated since the 1970's and the staff definitely haven't been trained in good customer service since then! We shall not be returning. The only positive was its location, shame about the food & staff!

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2016

As a returning party to Niederau we have stayed in a number of the local hotels and the Hotel Austria is another good example of excellent facilities, great food and the perfect family hosts! Nothing was too much trouble, our rooms were very clean and spacious, the staff were genuinely polite and the location is as central to the Mountain as can be... We have had a fabulous 9 days and it was well worth the drive!

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Griggster2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2016

Hotel Austria we thought was perfect for our needs. It is in a perfect location with a convenient ski hire shop below. The rooms are basic but clean & comfortable as well as good value for money. The staff were very nice and helpful and we enjoyed the food selection. The resort itself was great and we met some lovely people. Nierdau is a small friendly and fun little resort and is for all ages. Can't wait to return to hotel Austria next year.

Date of stay: February 2016
Thank Smithens2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2016

I was expecting a little more from the Hotel Austria. I could not fault its location with its proximity within 100 m of the main gondola. As for the rest, I was left disappointed. The Hotel is very dated and the rooms we had, were very drab and in need of some tlc. I was disappointed to have to pay for Internet access (€20 for 10 hours), I think Internet access is nowadays almost a given.There is a pool and very small spa area, which we did not use, but speaking to other guests received mixed reviews.
We opted for half board, which on reflection was a mistake. We have been fortunate enough to stay at a number of Hotels throughout Austria's ski regions and I can safely say that the Hotel Austria had the poorest menu. Breakfast was the same all week, with a very basic choice of cereal, cold cuts and the egg choice was scrambled every day.
The evening meal was a 3 choice selection, chosen at breakfast time. We at no time were offered any vegetables. It was always meat with potatoes or a pasta type, which to be fair was tasty but just lacked a bit of something.
In short, we will not return to the Hotel Austria, as there were nicer similarly priced hotels close by.

Room tip: Nothing much to choose, but avoid the road side type C, as they are noisy.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KieronD298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews