We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Booking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We picked-up a late offer for a week based here, from an airport convenient for us. We were very happy with all the aspects of this holiday. The hotel was well-placed for all the facilities of the area
Mine host, Herbert, was helpful, cheerful and a wonderful harpist!
The room was clean, well-appointed.and the balcony an added bonus. The meals were more than adequate. A special treat was the freshly-boiled eggs at breakfast.

The road-train stopped at the door as an added bonus. The para-gliders landed in the field opposite our hotel balcony. Yet a further bonus.

Room Tip: See previous comment
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 449 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

I recently spent a week here with my youngest daughter and we had a lovely time. The hotel is run by Herbert, who is a great character and he makes you feel welcome by always saying good evening or good morning and having a brief chat.
Having read previous reviews I was a bit nervous but was pleasantly surprised by the hotel, yes it is basic but has everything you need. Beds are comfortable and clean as are the rooms and all public areas of the hotel.
The swimming pool is beautiful it is open from 8am to 7pm.
Breakfast each morning was a standard continental, some people have complained there was a lack of choice but I thought it was ample. There were meats cheeses, pate, chocolate spread, boiled eggs, rolls galore, bread for toasting, fruit salad, selection of cereals, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and juice. I am not sure what else people might want but I certainly found it sufficient. Breakfast is served between 8-9.30am but if you have an early start you can speak to Herbert and he will arrange for it to be available earlier.
At breakfast there is a menu choice card to fill in for the evening meal. Each day we were there the choice of mains was from a selection of 3 these varied each day and I was not disappointed with any of the meals I had there. The main meal was accompanied each day by a soup (which were all excellent) a buffet side salad and a dessert. It is true that you get no choice in these items but all were so lovely that I find it hard to believe people could complain. Evening meal is served between 6-7.30pm.

Hints and tips:- There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, which is not uncommon in Europe, so if you want this facility take a travel kettle and supplies.
The rooms do have a mini fridge which is very handy.
All hotel guest are issued with a Wildschonau visitor card which entitles you to free entry to the cable cars and other attractions in the valley and discounts to many others. This is a wonderful added bonus that we made good use of!

The hotel is generally quite, of course there are groups that come and go but that happens in all hotels, the décor is a little dated but that adds to its charm. I look for cleanliness and great value and the Harfenwirt didn't disappoint on these aspects at all.

Room Tip: The new extension to the rear has very nice rooms
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DCull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my first time skiing

Good beginner ski slope very close
Hotel is just few metres away from the slope
Not great hotel but location is excellent for the slope
Hotel could do with a makeover

Can imagine the owner being harsh on some people but he was fine with us
Seems like someone set in his ways which there is nothing wrong with when you are the owner.

For skiing this place excellent as a beginner
The food could be better

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank as07onm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I have just come back after a week in the harfenwirt never again, the owner was arrogant and rude, guest walking through dining room with luggage while we where having our meal, and young people 18/30 drinking and being rowdy till 3am, the room we had was very dated brown suite the toilet was seperate from bathroom you had to walk through the room to wash your hands, you don't get tea/ coffee after meal you get charged 2.5 euros, no tea making facilities in room, one evening we where charged 12euros for entertianment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank george h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6314gill, Owner at Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

"What a dump" is extremely harsh as the photos of the hotel verify.
You were booked on a bus tour which travelled overnight without a stop and although check in is normally 14.00 hours when you arrived at about 7 am very tired and ready for a rest you were all given your rooms on arrival. I noticed from the description of your holiday you booked an unnamed standard 3 star accomodation.
When another group arrived on your last evening it was unfortunate that they took the wrong way to their rooms and came through the restaurant.
As it was a lovely evening there were quite a lot of people sitting outside on the terrasse having fun until 11 pm at the latest - however as that disturbed you Herbert immediately gave you the key to another room which is very quiet and at the back of the hotel in the new wing.
Your travel company booked your group in for continental breakfast and a three course evening meal. There was no mention in the broschure of tea or coffee being served free of charge after the meals and obviously if you order drinks from the waiter there is a charge.
On one evening there was a Tyrolean evening which involves 8 folklore dancers and 2 musicians - it was offered as an optional - there was a charge but you didnt have to book it.
On another evening Herbert entertained with his harp in the local pub which you were all invited to and involved no charge.
The bathroom suite is beige and normally a seperate toilet is more acceptable than it being in the bathroom when two people are sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Room in new part of the hotel was excellent. Massive bath, big room with plenty of storage, problem with shower fixed straightaway (Herbert sorted it) and fridge in room which was useful for keeping our babys food/milk in.
We travelled with a 6 month old who attended the pepi penguin club for the week. Considering it was the first time we'd left our son, the girls (Hannah, Kate and Gemma) were fantastic and we were at ease straight away leaving him. I would wholly recommend this service, our son was happy to be left and at the end of the week we were given a lovely big folder with photos in and all of the results of the activities done during the week.
The food was, on the whole good, salad bar at dinner was lovely and the waitresses were more than happy to heat food or milk for us during dinner. Plenty of food at breakfast time.
No skiing to hotel due to the lack of snow low down but ski storage at the hotel was big, and also available at the bottom of the gondola.
Facilities in the hotel were excellent, the pool was fantastic at the end of the day with our son! Could perhaps have done with a kettle in the room, but only because of wanting to boil water for bottles etc, but we managed with the help of the hotel staff.
Overall, we would definitely recommend the harfenwirt, don't let reviews of Herbert put you off, just remember this hotel is in Austria not England!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My first review has been removed...probably because I said it as it was!!!
Lovely resort..Austraqi is very clean and the people are very nice and friendly. Overall a lovely hotel. Nice rooms in annexe. Lovely pool area. Shame about the ignorant owner and his extremely rude and ignorant brother Walter, who was drunk every night and very very obnoxious. Food was ok...desserts were appauling. post bus stops outside hotel..brilliant. Would return but to a different hotel. Lets see how long this review stays on !!

Room Tip: annexe rooms best good views
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Not much else to be said that isn't in the other reviews, but I am glad that the recent comments are more favourable.
The older rooms in the hotel may be a little tired, but are clean and functional. Comfy beds and good pillows. Hot showers available all day (no cool period when everyone is in the tub!!) I have not seen any of the newer rooms but believe them to be nice. The guesthouse 'annex', although old fashioned is said to be ok too.
The owner of the hotel is a hardworking control freak who will treat you very well if you are courteous to him, he has probably had to deal with his fair share of grumpy people in the past.
Dinner and breakfast are tasty and there were no complaints from me or from our fellow diners.
Ski to the door in good conditions, bus stop outside (first on the bus route so plenty of spaces - unlike further up the valley where the bus is too full to stop).
Niederau itself is very quiet, not much nightlife but perfect for families, lots of bars and two good supermarkets. It is not a high resort so snow conditions can be a little hit and miss, however the free bus takes you up the valley to Auffach/Alpbach/Inneralpbach where the snow can be much better.
Overall very good value for money as we got a last minute deal.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for one of the rooms in the new part at the back.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leahmarie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niederau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#4 of 11 in Niederau
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#5 of 11 in Niederau
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#3 of 11 in Niederau
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#9 of 11 in Niederau
70 reviews
2.4 mi away
Landhotel Tirolerhof
Landhotel Tirolerhof
#4 of 25 in Wildschonau
116 reviews
2.8 mi away
Landgasthof Dorferwirt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt

Address: Grafenweg 325, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Niederau
Price Range: $111 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition mixed with modern. Superb family hotel direct on the piste. Breathtaking views from all rooms. New large heated indoor pool (80m²) with sauna and steam bath overlooking the cross country tracks. Large sun terrace facing the Tennladen slopes Ski Arena race track and paragliders landing area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harfenwirt Hotel Niederau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing