We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here unless you are literally only sleeping in the place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't stay here unless you are literally only sleeping in the place!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

This could be described as an interesting experience at best. I have never been prompted to leave a review before. in this case I felt I had to. The hotel owner is rude, unhelpful and his staff seemed to actually be scared of him. We were put in the 'guesthouse' away from the main building. the food was passable to poor and the staff are not good at accommodating any requests however basic without charging you or just refusing. We were given the wrong wine and were forced to pay for that bottle and the bottle we originally ordered on top of that! We were given no choice of where to sit - you MUST sit at the same table for every meal with the same people so hard luck if you don't get on with them. The staff are generally (apart from David the waiter) fairly rude and/ or down at heel. I paid half board and didn't go back to the hotel for anything other than to pick up my snowboard after the third day. The rooms are clean but they are very dated. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms. There is a TV but thats only any good if you speak fluent German or don't mind Sky News on loop. The sauna and spa pool were never on either in the time we were in. Unless you are only coming to the hotel to sleep and wash steer well clear of this place. We thought we booked at 4T hotel with Thompson but I would doubt it would achieve a 2 star in the UK. The only good thing I can say about the hotel is the stunning location and proximity to the ski lifts and blue runs - it's not a resort thats really geared up for boarders though. Would come to this area again as it is really beautiful - I would just never come to this hotel again. Awful!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ossie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    158
    85
    43
    22
See reviews for
166
160
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked a family ski holiday and picked this hotel because of the Chrystal Ski kiddies club and facilities housed in this hotel. This was a delightful hotel very comfortable and clean with a lovely room in the newer wing towards the rear of the hotel. A large enough room for us and our son, lovely clean facilities. The meals were fine from their restaurant however they also had A la carte. The staff were very friendly and helpful and Herbert the owner had my son in fits of laughter with his rendition of old songs at a bar up the road. This hotel is just opposite the ski school meeting place so for young kids not far to go to the button lifts and blue slopes but also close to another lift to get you up to other higher runs. Lunch times we spent at the front of this hotel in beautiful sunshine overlooking the slopes. Ski instructors here were excellent for kids and we all had a fantastic trip. Would go to this hotel and resort again. Herbert is an amazing host.

Room Tip: There is a new wing overlooking the back of this hotel with spacious rooms. Very comfortable and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

For second year running we came to this hotel, spacious and CLEAN room even if it wasin the old part. It had a fine balcony with plenty of space to sit and read, quiet with great views and good light. The bedding was always like new. Breakfast eat as much as you like, fruit salad,meusli, toast, tea, cheese, meat, marmalade, jam and different sorts of bread. A good four course evening meal with extensive buffet as well. Soups were excellent and vegetables top class.
It was always OK to ask for something different good for those on any sort of diet.
The other guests were good humoured pleasant people.
Location the best in the valley in my opinion very close to Gondola which took out 2000 feet of climb to the tops, para-gliding right opposite our balcony .
Hotel staff efficient pleasant and when I was walking to Worgl (I to choose a Sunday midday when there was a reduced bus service) I had not gone a mile before Herbert overtook me and gave me a lift.
We would not stay in any other hotel here the value for money is phenomenal and it delivers everything we want.
Peter and Olga

Room Tip: Does not matter really what rooms you have here all big enough quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peterNanning_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

A good stay in a good hotel. The staff are all friendly, and are helpful at all times. Herbert is a great character who always helps, and makes the time to talk. The hotel is clean, the food is good. The location is excellent with handy transport links, both for within the valley and also down to Worgl for travel further afield (There is no need to leave the valley if you just want to relax/ eat/ drink/ walk).
The Wildschonau card that was free issue (as part of the holiday?) is well worth having for free trips up the main cable cars. It also gives free access to a variety of entertainment.
A weekly Bummelbahn ticket (15euros) will get you around the valley, hopping on and off as you please.
I have not got a bad word to say about the Harfenwirt/ holiday/ valley.
100% recommended.

Room Tip: There are comments in some reviews suggesting to ask for rooms in the 'new wing'. I have not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Enjoyed my stay very much. I think the food has improved and Herbert is a delight. Staff are all friendly, rooms clean and pool lovely. Delightful companions at meals, going again next year. Just remember that Niederau is a very quiet valley and there isn't a lot to do in the evening except walk and sit in the bars.

Room Tip: Dont sign up for the Undiscovered Wildschonau package with Inghams. You get a Wildschonau card from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judishep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I ski in niederau and have stayed in Harfenwirt for past 4 yrs? I have nothing but praise for this hotel, new rooms are wonderful and Herbert and Walter are two of the hardest working people ever. Food is wholesome and always with a choice, just what is needed at the end of a day skiing and there is a wine list. Pool area superb. A great hotel in a fabulous location, already looking forward to my stay in Jan. Ignore bad reviews.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Skenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very very disappointing food. After having visited Austria more than twenty times, this hotel definitely served the worst food. It seemed that Herbert was trying to cut every corner he could. The food was not typically Austrian, tasteless, frozen vegetables etc etc
The staff were not welcoming, the waitress rather surly - a great contrast to all the other Austrian hotels I have ever stayed in!
The room was extremely tired and worn but it was clean and there was plenty of hot water.
The swimming pool however was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niederau hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#3 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#5 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#4 of 11 in Niederau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Staffler
Hotel Staffler
#1 of 11 in Niederau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Simmerlwirt
Hotel Simmerlwirt
#8 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#9 of 11 in Niederau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt

Property: Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Address: Grafenweg 325, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Niederau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition mixed with modern. Superb family hotel direct on the piste. Breathtaking views from all rooms. New large heated indoor pool (80m²) with sauna and steam bath overlooking the cross country tracks. Large sun terrace facing the Tennladen slopes Ski Arena race track and paragliders landing area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harfenwirt Hotel Niederau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing