We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second holiday at the Harfenwirt, even better than last year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Second holiday at the Harfenwirt, even better than last year”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Enjoyed my stay very much. I think the food has improved and Herbert is a delight. Staff are all friendly, rooms clean and pool lovely. Delightful companions at meals, going again next year. Just remember that Niederau is a very quiet valley and there isn't a lot to do in the evening except walk and sit in the bars.

Room Tip: Dont sign up for the Undiscovered Wildschonau package with Inghams. You get a Wildschonau card from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judishep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    160
    85
    43
    22
See reviews for
167
160
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I ski in niederau and have stayed in Harfenwirt for past 4 yrs? I have nothing but praise for this hotel, new rooms are wonderful and Herbert and Walter are two of the hardest working people ever. Food is wholesome and always with a choice, just what is needed at the end of a day skiing and there is a wine list. Pool area superb. A great hotel in a fabulous location, already looking forward to my stay in Jan. Ignore bad reviews.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Skenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very very disappointing food. After having visited Austria more than twenty times, this hotel definitely served the worst food. It seemed that Herbert was trying to cut every corner he could. The food was not typically Austrian, tasteless, frozen vegetables etc etc
The staff were not welcoming, the waitress rather surly - a great contrast to all the other Austrian hotels I have ever stayed in!
The room was extremely tired and worn but it was clean and there was plenty of hot water.
The swimming pool however was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I chose this hotel because a my father needed a single room, and it looked as if most previous reviewers were quite happy with the Harfenwirt. We had a half-board deal with a complimentary packed lunch.
Check in was a slightly bizarre affair with Herbert, the proprietor, advertising the fact that my partner and I weren't married, but would be sharing a room. Maybe it was supposed to be funny, but we thought it was a bit inappropriate. Other than that we got no information about anything to do with the hotel like mealtimes or where anything was.
Our room was very nice, with a balcony and a view. Dad's single room was a bit gloomy, but clean and acceptable.
The first evening meal was a shambles. A huge local wedding party had taken over the restaurant and we were put into the bar to eat. It took 2 and a half hours to complete our meal. We got no choice of food and the very average bottle of local table wine I ordered (no wine list) cost an amazing 16.8 euros. There was nowhere to go after dinner but back to our rooms, because of the wedding. The noise lasted until after 2am.
The next evening meal was served in the restaurant. Still no choice of dishes. The waitress told us if we weren't out by 8pm, we would have to pay 8 euros each because it was a music night. Back to our room then. The noise went on until about 3am.
The next night and subsequent nights we got a choice of 2 main courses. You won't want to go here if you're a vegetarian. This time we had to be out by 8pm or pay 10 euros to attend the Tyrolean evening. We weren't feeling very welcome by this time.
Breakfasts were rather meagre, with orange squash instead of juice, and no variation each day from the basic continental. One morning we were leaving early on a trip. I told Herbert and he said we could have an early breakfast. It did not materialise, and when we returned in the evening he said he'd forgotten, but we should have asked the waitress or the rep. instead of him.
Packed lunches were elusive. Herbert was always busy, and although he eventually produced a bun and an orange when cornered, we gave up after a couple of attempts.
All in all, we felt we were something of an inconvenience to the hotel when they were busy with other events. It seemed rather understaffed, and Herbert seemed to be a bit of a controlling type who really didn't know how to delegate. It wasn't a cheap holiday, yet I got the sense of everything being done to a price. I haven't had this feeling in an Austrian hotel before. All in all, we were disappointed and I wouldn't recommend the Harfenwirt.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hillywilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I have just stayed in niederau Austria for 3 weeks and have had most of my meals at the Halfenwirt , I must say that as of yet I cannot complain about anything. Herbert the owner always comes and has a chat , Maria is there providing great service to the tables and the food I must say is fantastic.! in my three weeks of eating at the halfenwirt I have found nothing that I did not like, this hotel in my opinion is a must.!!!! i wish all hotels were like this A++++

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Me and my husband stayed at the Harfenwirt last September for our honeymoon and had an amazing 2 weeks there. Herbert was lovely as were all the staff! (although like many other said, you will either love him or dislike him, you just have to know how to take him and he works incredibly hard - again like all the staff) we even ended sharing a cab to Worgl with one of the barmaids to make it cheaper for us all! we stayed in the old part of the hotel and the room was always clean and tidy. I like the fact Herbert sits you with others, we ended sitting with a couple who live 30 miles away from us at home and all the guests felt like family by the time it came to go home again.

All the staff were helpful when we needed advice about days out and transport. As was the rep.

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would definitely stay again! Thanks to all the staff at the Harfenwirt!! xx

Mr and Mrs Williams

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

A great hotel. We stayed for a week and would recommend this winter or summer. The staff were all very helpful and Herbert Thaler was the star. He was very helpful sharing his wealth of knowledge and helping us plan walks in the area. The ski area was good and yards away.
The food was very good all week with four courses for dinner.
Excellent facilities and I found the cleanliness better than some upmarket London hotels.
Walking in the area was great and the ski bus was a bonus.

Great week - thank you Herbert and your team.

Room Tip: We were in 218 which had a balcony overlooking the town. Watching the sun go down with a glass of wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chilledout74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niederau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#3 of 11 in Niederau
580 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#5 of 11 in Niederau
176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#4 of 11 in Niederau
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Landhotel Tirolerhof
Landhotel Tirolerhof
#5 of 25 in Wildschonau
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#9 of 11 in Niederau
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Simmerlwirt
Hotel Simmerlwirt
#8 of 11 in Niederau
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt

Property: Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Address: Grafenweg 325, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Niederau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition mixed with modern. Superb family hotel direct on the piste. Breathtaking views from all rooms. New large heated indoor pool (80m²) with sauna and steam bath overlooking the cross country tracks. Large sun terrace facing the Tennladen slopes Ski Arena race track and paragliders landing area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harfenwirt Hotel Niederau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing