We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location location location!”
Review of Hotel Alpenland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Niederau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Alpenland
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Reviewed March 28, 2013

stayed here end of Feb 2013, perfect location with ski to the door and ski school meeting point literally in the hotels garden. 2 minute walk to gondola and even less for the baby slopes drag lift.
Rooms were clean and spacious really warm and hot shower and stunning views over the slopes.

Breakfast typical Austrian with lots of bread hams and eggs always fresh and plentiful.
Choose your evening meal from a few choices given to you at breakfast and a super efficient service for dinner with good homemade soups, quality hot meals and lovely puddings, couldnt fault the food or the service.

Ski boot room perfect and dries your boots quickly.
The hotel bar is the main place that everyone comes in for lunch.
Never waited anymore than 5 mins for the gondola for Niederau area.
Perfect hotel for beginners and a great choice for intermediates too if you are wiling to get the ski bus to the other areas.
Drinks were very reasonable too only 3 euros for a rum and coke, same for a beer and hot chocolate just under 3 euros. Spar shop 5 mins down the road with loads of choice and great value.
Highly recommended!
tip for when you first arrive pop up to the bar to get one of the staff as it is just not the austrian way to sit on an empty reception all day they are always in the bar!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tctravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 67 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We agree with the last few reviewers.
The location of the Alpenland is its trump card, being next to the button lift, from which you can access all main lifts. You can also ski to the door of the boot room.
The rooms are clean and warm, with great balconies and the food is ample and tasty.
The staff were also very helpful, especially Mucho the barman.
There was a wonderful and frequently empty sauna/ steam area, which we loved.

As for the resort, it's beautiful and the skiing is more challenging than an original viewing of the piste map might suggest. The link to Auffach/ Alpbach (accessed by a scenic free bus journey of 15 minutes) makes it a great intermediate resort, as well as a beginner destination.

Our tour operator, Neilson, did everything asked of them and our rep, Ryan, was very enthusiastic and friendly.

All in all, a great skiing holiday and we would recommend this hotel and resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with Neilsons for a week in February 2013. First class hotel and could not fault the resort. Everything made very easy from arrival at Salzburg airport to arriving at resort and picking up skis etc. Rooms in hotel very spacious for a family of 4 - 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Food excellent and plentiful and in our opinion great as dinner served in the evening between 6pm and 7.20pm. Reception was not manned but anything you needed you just asked at the bar and the staff there very accommodating. We asked for extra pillows and a bulb to be replaced and these were both done immediately. Plenty of towels and hot water and shower nice and powerful. Great views of the slopes from the balcony and room tidy and very clean. The skiing was great - especially as ski-in - ski-out - could not have been better positioned. Free ski bus to Auffach - a 15 minute journey which opened up lots more slopes.
Overall a very enjoyable experience and would highly recommend this hotel and resort. The Neilson reps Ryan and Vicky were great - so were the hotel staff. Nothing was too much trouble!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancashireCazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just returned from a great weeks skiing.
The hotel is very very clean.The rooms were basic, but again super clean and warm.
The hotel staff are great and our Nielsons rep Ryan was great too.
The food was fantastic and plentiful. The local wine is very nice and the beer is amazing.
You must try the hot chocolate with the local rum shot in Mmmm. This will knock you out just before bed.
The skiing was great, as the beginner slope is just out side the rear of the hotel ( great to warm up on ). The ski school met there too. Three of our party had booked 5 days lessons and all loved the experience and are going skiing next year too. Good job ( blue ski school )
Food in the cafe area of the hotel is very very nice. You must try the spaghetti bolognaise.
We found that food and drink is not expensive in the resort.
We would all definitely return to this hotel. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is clean, friendly and right on the slopes........ What more do you need from a skiing holiday? The rooms are the largest we've had during ski holidays and we have stayed in lots of places. The staff were friendly and seems to work very hard. If you need anything have a word with the barman and he will make sure it is sorted out. The food is really good. Sometimes you're not quite sure what you'll be getting as some of the menus get a bit lost in translation but we found it added to the pleasure of the holiday. No matter what we were served it was well cooked and tasty. I was a bit concerned when reading about the resort as most reviews bill this as a beginners/ intermediate resort. My partner and I are very comfortable on red runs and will tackle most blacks and we had plenty to ski on. If you're at this level skiing you'll probably be able to ski the mountain in Neiderau in a day however access to Auffach via the bus is easy and opens up another two mountains with some fantastic red runs ........ Nice.
My top tips would be:
Pick up your ski equipment on SAturday if you've hired it. The hire shop was easy and happy to accommodate.
Get on the mountain first day if you can (on the SAturday).... But not a minute before 3pm as this will count as 1day skiing and you'll lose your last day
If you're comfortable on red runs go over to Auffach on your first full day. A lot of the other guest will be getting sorted out in ski school so the ski bus was empty as were the slopes when we got there. A full mountain and a full day almost to ourselves.
The black runs in Neiderau are no more challenging than some of the steep parts on the reds so go and have a go. As they are shown as black very few people seem to go on them and once again we found ourselves with the slopes almost to ourselves.
If you want a day off from skiing I recommend the walk in to Oberau. Takes about an hour and half and is lovely.

The only downside is the awful music played in the bar (although it seems to be the same played in all of the bars) and the fact that Austrians still smoke indoors which is not pleasant for us Brits who are no longer used to a smokey atmosphere.

For an experienced skier it may not be an obvious first choice but I would recommend it for ease, closeness to slopes, friendliness and good fun

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jotoria33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stay in the Alpenland in the winter for skiing and in the summer for just relaxing away from it all. An easy-going home from home, we have just booked 9th stay there. Good sized rooms, some have shower/baths and some have only showers, so when booking just ask Mira or Herbert for your preference.

Step out of the boot room and you are a few steps from the slopes and the first lift. The ski area (the area your lift pass covers) has just been enlarged with the addition of a new gondola at Auffach and now has 145 km of ski runs.

Food is always good with a large buffet breakfast, a choice of 3 course evening meal, the hotel even has a lunchtime self service restaurant for busy skiers, and being Austria it is very good value.

Summer is on the whole a quieter affair, the hotel being mainly used for coach trips but nonetheless a relaxing quite hotel. Twice now we have stayed in the summer and been the only guests for a few days!


Looking forward to getting back there on the 12th Jan 2013!!!

Room Tip: Rooms next to the church can be a bit noisy with the bells ringing....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGreatHowardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Simple ski hotel, spotless, plentiful supply of Austrian food, friendly helpful staff.
Perfect position with nearest lift and ski school only 20 metres away!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niederau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#7 of 11 in Niederau
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Simmerlwirt
Hotel Simmerlwirt
#8 of 11 in Niederau
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#4 of 11 in Niederau
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
#6 of 11 in Niederau
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#3 of 11 in Niederau
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Auhof
The Auhof
#7 of 14 in Niederau
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenland

Address: Wildshonau/Niederau 177, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Price Range: $41 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Alpenland Hotel Niederau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing