We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
19
23
8
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
23
8
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board swimming pool excellent location free ski bus ski holiday main meal steam room rep auffach beginners slopes week euros lift
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 56 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2015

Stayed in Niederau for a week B&B so tried many restaurants for our evening meals. Sadly this was our least memorable dining experience. The food was good, the service was OK (Good meaning waiter getting called back by another waitress on his way to take our order was slightly annoying) but sadly they don't separate the smokers from the non-smokers in this restaurant so we had a couple just drinking and smoking across from us, then another table filled behind us and most of them started smoking.
So not a real criticism of the hotel or restaurant as you are allowed to smoke in restaurants still in Austria, but if you are coming here with a family or with non-smokers I would recommend not to eat here if you don't like the smell of cigarettes while you eat.

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank sge31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed in the Simmerlwirt with a largish skiing group in March 2014. We read some reviews prior to our trip and totally disagree with some fairly negative comments. We found the hotel to be fine, in fact for a  supposed 3 star hotel the facilities were excellent.... You don't find a spar area and outdoor pool of that standard in many other 3 star hotels. The staff were fantastic and nothing was a problem for them (unlike Iglu who we booked with..... But that is another review!!) 
The rooms were of a good size, always cleaned to a good standard and the food was plentiful and tasty. We would (and have) recommend this hotel to anybody who wants a central location in a lovely village. Thank you Simmerlwirt.

Room tip: We are a large group so had a lot of rooms and all were OK. If you are picky ask for one at the back or side and top floor.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Was not sure what to expect from reading previous reviews, stayed here with a group 8-15 March, had no problems whatsoever , staff friendly and helpful. There was never a shortage of food, yes sometimes items on buffet were missing but were always restocked , if not all you had to do was ask and it was provided. For a small family run hotel we were extremely impressed with the efficiency of the staff, they work long hours, and deserve a smile and a thank you.
Located near to slopes in Neiderau and bus stop to auffach ski area, huge rooms, spotlessly cleaned daily, lovely touch with different quilt and pillow art each day. Quite smoky in main bar but were welcome to take drinks to comfortable lounge/reception area.
Good quality hotel for 3*, thank you for a welcoming,comfortable base for a fab weeks holiday.

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed with a group of friends for a weeks skiing in March 2014.

This hotel provides everything you want for a skiing holiday with a friendly, helpful staff. Food was of a high standard although some of the salad options did run out at the evening meal time. Although the evening meal starts early this did not prove a problem to our group, certainly it did not eat into any of the skiing or drinking activities!

The location is very good and only a short walk to the gondola, when the snow is on the ground I guess that it would be possible to almost ski to the door. For the non-skiers in our group there was plenty to entertain them with some very pleasant walks in the local countryside.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMT528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Hotel was great downside as other people commented we felt the Same that when salad on the buffet ran out it wasn't replaced or if they did it was not reacted on quick enough that it would come out when people had eaten there first course & were waiting for there main meal . the wellbeing centre was fab & pool was great to would go back again. my husband is a skier but I don't & I still managed to do things to keep me busy trip to saltzburg was fab did guided tour this was well worth it nice Shopping day I did the bus into worgle they have a nice shopping area & cafés .there is also a train station there were you can take the train to kitzbul for the day that we did in 2013 this was also a great day out.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaz15162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews