We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday and good value”
Review of The Auhof

The Auhof
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Auhof
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great holiday and good value”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Having stayed in Neiderau previously, we decided to go again over new year, this year we chose the Auhof based on their very low prices, The accommodation was very nice and cosy, perfect for the 3 of us, what really struck me was the friendliness of the owners/managers they were great hosts that made everything easy, they delivered bread daily drove us to the slopes daily, I would defiantly recommend staying here if you want good value, the only criticism of this property would be the location, however they make up for this with the shuttle service provided.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikehutchm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Constanta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Curfew at 21:30, not later than 22:00 is a must; if you don’t, you will disturb the owners. They make you feel it’s them who make you a big favor to have you there and you can really have the feeling you are disturbing them. The owners does not clean or spread some gravels on his access road (50 m) so, if you have the bad luck to have some snow fall, you are either stuck on the hill or you have to put snow chains 2 times per day for only 50 meters. The rest of the road is OK like in most places in Austria. But I forgot to mention: the owner family is not Austrian, is British. The mountain cabin is very nice, apartments are ok, there is even a bar and a food serving area and also a sauna and some fitness equipment but they are not accessible by the tourists.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuhofNiederau, Manager at The Auhof, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hello Adrian,
I am the new manager of the Auhof in Niederau. Although your stay was a long time ago, I have read each one of your comments and agree with you, the Auhof has changed under new management. If you would be so kind as to remove your bad review so as not to put other people off the Auhof about issues that have been adressed it would be much appreciated and if you chose to come back for a holiday we would be sure to give you a nice discount.

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Being a family run apartment block, the atmosphere at the Auhof is personal without being intrusive. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners and you are made to feel very welcome. I took one of the smaller apartments for myself and two children aged 12 and 9. The apartment itself was cozy and comfortable. The bathroom with shower was roomy and modern with plentiful hot water. The kitchen area was functional and adequate for cooking simple meals - there was no oven just a hob but in the village there are numerous family friendly restaurants to cater for most needs at reasonable prices. Not being a 'ski purest' the village offers slopes for all abilities from extensive nursery slopes - which is good if you have young children just starting out - to challenging black runs. Even during half term week in February there were no big queues to speak of and the ski passes and hire charges were not as steep as some of the major resorts. I would say the area itself is a bit of a gem as it lacks the usual crowds and hassle of the major resorts but still offers extensive skiing. If you tire of the slopes on offer in the village there are at least two further resorts offering further challenges within 10km - easilly reachable on the local bus or by car if you drive which offer a broad spectrum of skiing for all abilities. Up the mountain there are many bars and cafes which again are not over priced for lunches out, coffees, hot chocolate and gluvine as required!
The Auhof is perfectly placed to provide comfortable, good value accomodation which can act as a base to visit both the local slopes and those nearby in the region. In the past I have been on organised package ski trips and spent three times as much money being herded from place to place and standing in queues! Nice touches include a mini bus service down to the ski lift every morning ( we paid 1 euro per person per day), the owner popping to the bakers every morning to get bread, pain chocolate and croissants and the hot tub of an evening (I think there was a small charge).

Fantastic people, fantastic region - we will be going back next year!

  • Liked — Homely, cosy and modern and its location
  • Disliked — It was all fine!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WestSussexBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2008

After skiing in Switzerland for a few years we fancied somewhere different - we have been totally converted and feel that perhaps we should give a bad review so as to protect this skiing heaven and keep it for ourselves!

We drove from England to Austria which although seems a long way was great - the kids measured it in terms of dvd films watched (about 5). The benefit of having your own car was that you can take all you need for self-catering however the owners of the Auhof offer a shuttle service to the village where there are excellent shops including a general grocery store.

The apartments were very clean, spacious and reasonably equipped. We stayed in one of the larger apartments and my initial disappointment of there not being a bath was soon replaced by the delight of a hot tub in the garden! The owners are very accomodating without being intrusive and were more than happy to advise us where to go to eat and other day trips.

The owners offer a shuttle service to the gondola station and the slopes are excellent for all abilities as they seem to have a bit of everything. It is a particularly good place to learn to ski as they have fantastic nursey slopes and one of the best ski schools I have come across in all my years of skiing. Infact the whole experience of the family-run apartments to the friendliness of everyone in the village has made this a firm favourite with all the family. We will be skiing here again next year and hopefully the year after if they'll have us!

  • Liked — Spacious and clean
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SamHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

I found their website from a web search whilst looking for a relaxing two weeks away from it all, we love summer beach holidays but wanted something a bit different with our young family.
I can tell you one thing, their website doesn't even begin to show you how good this place is!
The owner of the apartments picked us up from the airport (Innsbruck) and drove us the half an hour back to Auhof.
The apartments are set in a lovely Tyrolean style building high up in the valley giving breathtaking views for miles around!
The apartment was as they describe, clean, well equipped and a good size.
Whilst this was self catering my wife refused to cook! no problem there, there are 10+ restaraunts in the village (that we saw) all of which offer great food at reasonable prices. It was a short taxi ride to the village but again very good price.
We had a great time, the apartment owners were always helpful and never 'in your face', probably the most relaxing holiday I have had in years (with the kids)!
I will be back this winter to try my hand at skiing!
Top location, top apartments, I don't know how they do it for the price!

  • Liked — Quality, location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank awhittall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niederau
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#8 of 11 in Niederau
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#4 of 11 in Niederau
586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#3 of 11 in Niederau
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel-Pension Almrose
Hotel-Pension Almrose
#11 of 56 in Wildschonau
5 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#5 of 11 in Niederau
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Haus Seiwald
Haus Seiwald
#7 of 13 in Niederau
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Auhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Auhof

Property: The Auhof
Address: Sonnbergweg 225, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Niederau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Auhof 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Auhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing