We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly place”
Review of Chasa Valletta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chasa Valletta
Ranked #41 of 43 Hotels in Ischgl
Reviewed January 20, 2010

After reading these reviews it is time for a realistic one!
We travelled in a group of 3 (all in our 30-ies) Dutch guys. We came to Ischgl over the holidays to ski, party and relax. First of all we could all park our cars (3) at no extra costs. The apartment was ready early so we could go straigth in at arrival. Payment is on arrival (which is clearly stated in the offer), method of payment should include CC nowadays. EC card is definitely possible, but I realize not everybody has one of those. The apartments were roomy and clean, and 2 towels (small one and a big one) per week is enough (plus, maids come into every hotel room on the planet after only knocking once! Lock your door if you don't want that). We had one (X-mas eve) dinner at home with lots of wine and laughter, no problems at all. The ski room is clearly marked and you would also not walk into your own house wearing ski boots! Remember, these people spent quite some money getting the hotel (which is also their house) in the state that it is. We loved the sauna, a great retreat after a day of skiing. Clean and plenty of clean towels.

We were pleasantly surprised with the place after reading the reviews. As long as you behave as you would in your own home, there are no problems at all and it is a very nice place to stay in ;-)

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CvW1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 71 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2010

Befor you go to book the rooms in Chassa Valletta please see a lot of comments and bearing in mind all of them are true :-(. First of all Chassa Valletta it couldn't be called "hotel" furthermore 4 stars hotel. For seven days no were changed our blankets and bath towels at any time. If you want something or need additional information and be lucky to find the owner in the reception the place where he has to stay - please don't ask him for anything because your questions more than obvious get nervous him.
ISCHGL is a very nice place and great ski resort therefore it's not worth to ruin your vacation staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mitko0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valletta5, Besitzer at Chasa Valletta, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2010

Hello.
The people booked for 6 people and come to our hotel with 2 person. the dont want to pay the hole price.
They booked an appartement with endcleaning. We are not a 4 star hotel - we are a 4 star appartementhotel.
on the reception we are in the morning until 12.00. and also in the evening. if we are not on the reception the guest can call us in the privat rooms until 20.00.
we think the guest are not amuesed because the had to pay for 6 people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

The owner of this place is a very weird character, treated us rudely from the very beginning as if we were bad children.

Actually later we found out the he is well known in Ischgl town for his manners.

I don't know why he chose this job (to host a residence) because it obviously is a living hell for him. He struggles with human relations, that is very visible for the start.

Luckily he does not have children .... go for them and society.
I only wish I had known earlier.

How long the comments stay? I see that all coments are for the last 2 months
¿¿??? So for the next ski season no commments will be visible and he will get more victims?

Saludos, Susana from Spain.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susi017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We just got back from our holiday in Ischgl, the skiing was great but unfortunately not the hotel. We booked an apartment with 3 bedrooms for 6 adults and 2 children (6 and 8 years old). We arrived in very good mood and in few minutes the owner managed to make us feel like if we would have to pass a test with him every day:
1) Upon arrival he already told the 6 year old child: "this is not your living room so behave as we have invested too much money here!!". We understood his concern but you can say the same in a better way.
2) Another day we were using the sauna. The time to use it was from 4 to 7:30 pm. At 7:35 pm he already made a big mess, even coming into the sauna not caring that some of us were naked and making us feel completely irresponsible for being there at that time. My couple tried to show him that we hadn't realized about the time but after a short discussion we realized that he is not a person you can talk to, he even ended up accusing my couple of being a "riots leader" between other insults.
3) We invited my couple's parents for a dinner in our apartment (they were staying at a 4 *hotel nearby) and the owner didn't want to let them in because we hadnt' asked for permission. We clarified that they wouldn't stay overnight but he still had a problem with that. After a long discussion including us apologizing for something wrong we hadn't done he finally let them in...
4) Another day the TV didn't work. The owner's wife came into the apartment not even saying good evening and in very bad mood as we would have broken it. She even took the chance of accusing us of not taking care of the curtains as in one bedroom they were slightly hanging out in one of the edges (we found them that way when we got there!!).
I could write more and more... but the issue is that we all felt like in a prison, being afraid of doing something wrong and being treated like children. Nobody had treated us so unfriendly and rude before. No matter if you have children or not, try to find another location as in this hotel you will not be able to relax at all.
The positive thing of our trip: the great weather we had and the snow. It was wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EliVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Is it possible to have this bad service?
We arrived upon Easter 2009, two families with teenager children (8 persons in total). We were met by the owner, and we were quite positive the first five minutes, since we had read the reviews of Chasa Valletta AFTER booking (stupid of us of course). But after five minutes we lost our illusions.

Don't expect to pay with a credit card (like VISA, AMEX, EUROCARD or MASTERCARD), because there are no terminal to handle this at the hotel. The owner told us that he had "struggled" with machines and companies to sort this out, but no success were achieved at this point. The result? Ischgl's cash points (mini banks) were you only can withdraw 400€ as a max limit, so you have to run from one point to another to collect enough money. As a bonus you have to pay quite a charge every time. This is 2009, this is Chasa Valletta, and you pay 1700€ per family for one week.....

When we tried to carry our luggage in the stairway, the owner met us with a quite strict message that we should use the elevator to avoid scratching the paint. They have used a fortune of this hotel, as he said.

Another example of strange behavior (this time of the owner's wife) occurred when two young girls did enter the reception wearing their ski boots. They where aprox. two meters from the door to the ski room when they rudely was stopped, given some short instructions (in German this time) and sent out through the main door so they then could enter the ski room "correctly".

One of our kids where laughing six o'clock in the afternoon. One minute later, the owner knocked the door and said that he had received complaints about the noise (from who we cannot imagine, because the family traveling together with us were living above, and at the time we where dining together, no one else could possibly have heard anything, except the owner of course).

The house maiden came directly in to our rooms (two seconds after knocking) to change towels (and inspect the rooms), even though some of us were close to naked.

There was a drier system for the ski boots that were turned on later than five o'clock in the morning so the boots never dried. Just a gimmick with no practical function.

For 1700 € in high season you get two sets of clean towels in one week.
of t
There are much more to tell, but you should have got the main points now. Stay away from this hotel if you don't want to experience the worst staff ever! This could be a very good hotel, but the behavior of the staff makes it a disaster.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SkiOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Be warned before booking this accommodation. Granted it has the usual austrian high standard of cleanliness and self catered facilities with a lovely sauna and steam room area and the location was great. However from the minute the group of us arrived, the owner was very rude and overly protective of his establishment and throughout the week unreasonable requests were placed on us. We were treated like children at school, when we were a group of young professional couples wanting to enjoy our annual ski holiday. When we did stay in for dinner we were rudely interuppted as early as 8 pm and again at 10pm for the noise when we were merely talking. If he had only handled his complaints in a more reasonable and less condescending way, it could have been different, but this is certainly the house where no fun is allowed. I was appalled with the way we were bullied and spoken to throughout the week.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EisbaerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valletta5, Besitzer at Chasa Valletta, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2009

Look also at the 23.3. because it is the same group
Sorry for our not so good englisch.
Three groups from England, they had booked all seperat. The groups told us that the dont get rooms in one hotel, if the book all together.
It is clear that big groups are not always quietly.
But the make party that other people was disturb and very angry.
Finally too much became, as the neighbor has called us. But the groups where so laud, that the dont hear us nocking on the door. We told them to be more quiet. But the dont to this the hole week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

I have just come back from a cracking ski holiday, but sadly this was more to do with the weather and snow conditions than the Chasa Valletta customer service.

I would like to be as fair and balanced as possible, so first let me provide the context.

We booked an 8 bed apartment with self catering facilities. We also knew of 2 other groups that were booked into the Chasa Valletta the same week so collectively we were a group of about 20, albeit on different floors (and never ate together etc). We specifically went for self catering as we could not afford to eat out every night and I had enjoyed this setup for the last 15 years or so of skiing holidays without any problems.

Upon arriving at the hotel the manager immediately lectured us in no uncertain terms about his dissatisfaction that we were a large group (collectively). Everyone was rather taken aback by his undiplomatic approach but we assumed he must have had some bad previous experiences (which he later confirmed). He then shouted at one of the other groups when she accidentally let her suitcase brush against a wall whilst following him to her room (no damage was done). Clearly this was not intended and certainly forgivable when considering we were all crowded in his reception area, luggage and all. So not a strong start but surely he would mellow out during the week?

Sadly not. He became increasingly patronising, rude and unreasonable throughout the week. I would absolutely understand any tension if we were partying or behaving inappropriately...I really would. I know there are a lot of yobs that hit the ski resorts who make life hard for hoteliers and guests alike and I would be first in line to boot these out of any hotel. However, we are a well behaved, respectful bunch of young professional couples who wanted nothing more than to get on with the owner and enjoy our holiday.

I don’t want to have a too much of a rant (you may feel I have indulged myself already) but let me give a few final examples of his behaviour before signing off.

1) Walking into our bedrooms unannounced (yes...bedrooms...without knocking) from as early as 6pm to complain about the noise.
2) Walking into our kitchen/diner throughout and evening complaining of the noise levels. Please note one of the times he walked in I was simply washing up in the corner and the others had nearly all gone to bed!! It was absolutely infuriating as I am not sure how quiet 8 people can be eating dinner together! What's the point in renting a self catered apartment if we aren't able to have conversation around a table without getting shouted at (washing up complete before 10pm so hardly keeping people up!!).
3) One of the other groups bought the sauna towels to their bathroom, without realising they should be left in the sauna towel bin. Honest mistake and hardly crime of the centenary. They found a note on the door saying that if they did it again he would turn the sauna off! Is there not a more polite way to achieve the same result?
4) Telling one of the girls she was disgusting and he never wanted to see her again as she had not emptied her bin at check out

The list really does go on but I expect most have stopped reading by now. Bottom line this hotel was ruined by an owner who seemed to take it as a personal affront that we staying in his property, forgetting entirely that he was in theory our host. If you are thinking of staying here to enjoy a few meals and relax during the downtime I would seriously reconsider. You will be sorely disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank w0rkingt00much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valletta5, Besitzer at Chasa Valletta, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2009

Sorry for our not so good englisch. Three groups from England, they had booked all seperat. The groups told us that the dont get rooms in one hotel, if the book all together.
It is clear that big groups are not always quietly.
But the make party that other people was disturb and very angry.
Finally too much became, as the neighbor has called us. But the groups where so laud, that the dont hear us nocking on the door. We told them to be more quiet. But the dont to this the hole week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ischgl hotels
0.5 mi away
Familyhotel Seiblishof
Familyhotel Seiblishof
#40 of 43 in Ischgl
129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Montanara
Hotel Montanara
#13 of 43 in Ischgl
67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Garni Alpenstern
Hotel Garni Alpenstern
#28 of 43 in Ischgl
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Salnerhof
Hotel Salnerhof
#20 of 43 in Ischgl
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schlosshotel Romantica
Schlosshotel Romantica
#22 of 43 in Ischgl
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#2 of 43 in Ischgl
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chasa Valletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chasa Valletta

Address: Grube 5, Ischgl 6561, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Ischgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Ischgl
#33 Luxury Hotel in Ischgl
Price Range: $290 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chasa Valletta 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Chasa Valletta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chasa Valletta Ischgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing