We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really the top !”
Review of Hotel Post Ischgl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Post Ischgl
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Ischgl
Certificate of Excellence
La Spezia, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really the top !”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I spent one week at this fantastic hotel during first week of march 2014 with my wife.

Everything was really at top side. Our room very large, very clean, warm. Sky room avails of all what you can desire for skiing.

Food was really better we could desire, breakfasts fantastic with any kind of foods you are looking for; dinners were superb, really high level as well as wines.

It was not necessary to have lunch on sky slopes as, once returned in hotel after a day of skiing around 1600 we found a delicious bouffet.

After that we used to reach the welness area to relax ourselves in sauna area and water pool both of them really amazing.

No problem for car parking as hotel avails of a large garage included in the price.

We arrived at hotel sky room directly by skiing and we reached cable car from hotel by a tapie roulant situated at one hundred meters from hotel !

Finally I can say that this is definitively our favourite hotel all over european alps and believe me, I'm 56 and I visit italian, french and austrian alps since I was 15, I saw a lot of mountains good hotels...

We'll be back at Post Hotel in Ischgl the next year by sure !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Massimo511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    30
    4
    10
    4
See reviews for
47
53
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Hotel Post in Ischgl, Austria is one of the most high end hotels on the main street in Ischgl.

It is very expensive. Every dinner is a 7 course meal (which is quite tiredsome).

The free hotel spa is AMAZING! There are 7 different sounas and we went to ot every day.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nir R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELGIUM
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Verry nice hotel,everithing you dream for a ski holiday.Restaurant 10/10 staff 10/10 location 10/10 rooms 10/10 ski 10/10 bar 10/10 welness 10/10
I dont look futher in the future.Hotel post is paradise in tirol!!
A real gem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have recently returned from a two week stay. The hotel was clean, lovely to look at and our room was great - spacious, with a walk in wardrobe, loung area and double bathroom.
The hotel location is one of the best in Ischgl, being right in the middle of the village and really near the main cable car and bus stop.

The food was fantastic - breakfast had everything you'd expect and one of the notes of a good hotel is great orange juice at breakfast that isn't the powdered variety or watered down - theirs was excellent. We were given a box at breakfast with a drink and chocolate bar and were told we could fill it with whatever we wanted for lunch on the mountain - great and used it some days. Dinner was 5 courses (6 if you could manage cheese) and the quality and presentation was excellent. Every meal felt like an episode of Masterchef - after about 10 days we did long for something a little more simple and less fussy! The wine list is extensive, but not cheap, starting at around 25 euros a bottle and going up to 750!! Who'd pay that? The irritating thing was water, I mean really really irritating. Bottled water on the table 6 Euros, so we asked for tap water and they charged 2.50 Euros. The service was very good, but the majority of the staff were fairly prescriptive, a little robotic and slightly cold. The barman was completely unfriendly and not his fault at all but the bar environment was awful as you can still smoke in Austria!

We used the spa for some massage treatments and manicure, which were priced the same as a good spa at home and the treatments were average. The massage rooms are extremely bright so they don't feel that tranquil and relaxing.

Ischgl and the surrounding villages of Galtur, See and Kappal offer a wide range of walking at all different levels, we loved it - the only reason we wouldn't go back is we think the worlds a big place and always want to try something new. The area also offers a free Silvretta card which means all lifts and buses are free, which is a great saving. It also covers the outdoor pool, museums and discount on various things. If you walk to the high huttes and alms they sell great local produce like meats and cheeses so definitely worth doing. You can also go over into Switzerland for a spot of duty free shopping - and a lazy lunch in the panorama restaurant overlooking samnaun is fantastic on a warm day. We did this on our last day and the food is really very good.

The hotel offers daily guided walks with Thomas or Michael, which are ok if you want to walk really quickly and not take in the scenary! Thomas was a little more patient than Michael when it came to going slower.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank donna b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Would recommend that everybody should have a treat and stay here.
Hotel and rooms spacious, immaculate. Delicious breakfast and evening meal. The packed lunch box a real delight. The spa area really nice, staff very friendly.
Hired the Audi for a day......wow. The walking with Thomas and Amy (dog) good for the heart and lungs!!!!
All in all get out there:)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichtAberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having a few spare minutes I thought I should write a quick review to share my views on this outstanding hotel. I have been about a dozen times now with my wife, about half pre kids and half once the kids were old enough to ski quite well.

It is well located (still 5 minutes walk from the nearest lift in the morning, but you can ski back to door if a fair intermediate skier or better, and for Ischgl this is about as good as it gets unless you go for the Elisabeth) in the middle of town, with a very good restaurant, great service, a fun laid back vibe and high quality in pretty much everything, from the spa, to the sauna suite, the pool, the rooms and so on.

10 years ago they offered more evening entertainment, but there are still usually a few nights a week with some music or a magician walking the tables at dinner (who the kids loved).

Frau Wolf, the owner manager, keeps a close eye so standards do not drop and her children are now starting to step into fron office roles. This place wioll continue to be great for many years I am sure.

For us the real highlight however is the ski guide, Michael, who is now into about his 19th year with the hotel. 6 days a week he collects a group from the ski room and guides around the resort, finding the best snow, freshest tracks and making the day fun - every time. This is a free service with the hotel and for strong intermediate or expert skiers in our view is a huge bonus.

Ischgl iteself is a buzzing, lively place, with really good skiing, and fantastic apres.

The only fault I can find is that the hotel is so popular, with so many return guests (like us), that to get a room can be a real problem! My wife also struggles with the bar area still allowing smoking indoors - which remains quite common in Austria - though the dining room is now smoke free.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be disturbed by noise outside from revellers at 2 or 3am. Rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KariHReigate_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just arrived back from a great summer holiday at this hotel. We received a warm welcome when we arrived from all the staff we met. Our room was very spacious and spotlessly clean with an excellent bathroom which featured double sink and walk in shower. The toilet is separate from the bathroom which is handy. The food in the evenings can only be described as fine dining and the service we received was impeccable. The hotel provides two walking guides each day to suit different abilities. We thoroughly enjoyed our walks with Thomas and Amy the dog who took us on some fantastic hikes with breath taking scenery. We had use of E bikes through the hotel which enabled us to cycle where pedal power alone would off be difficult. This was our 18 visit to Austria and we have stayed in many 4 star hotels before but can honestly say that this has been the best so far. We shall definitely stay at the Post in the future and highly recommend it. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerstinsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ischgl hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fliana
Hotel Fliana
#1 of 43 in Ischgl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#2 of 43 in Ischgl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Trofana Royal
Hotel Trofana Royal
#11 of 43 in Ischgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AlpVita Piz Tasna
AlpVita Piz Tasna
#4 of 43 in Ischgl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Madlein
Hotel Madlein
#31 of 43 in Ischgl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elizabeth Arthotel
Elizabeth Arthotel
#9 of 43 in Ischgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Post Ischgl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Post Ischgl

Property: Hotel Post Ischgl
Address: Dorfstrasse 67, Ischgl 6561, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Ischgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ischgl
#4 Spa Hotel in Ischgl
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ischgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Post Ischgl 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Post Ischgl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Ischgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing