We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sonne
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Ischgl
Certificate of Excellence
Scalea
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in a great location”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay here. The room was very comfortable and clean, however I felt that there could be a bit more storage space (wardrobe was fine but some drawers wouldn't go amiss). The sound of the church bells very early in the morning was a bit annoying, but I know that this would be the same at any hotel in the vicinity and this is not the hotel's fault.

We were half board during our stay. There was so much choice for breakfast, including hot food cooked to order - a rarity in European hotels, I have found. Dinner was excellent every night and there was no chance of going hungry! The only complaint I have about this was the fact that the dining room was far too hot during dinner. Towards the end of the evening it became very uncomfortable. Other than that, everything else was great. Our waitress, Laura, was very welcoming, friendly and attentive, as were all the other staff.

The location of the hotel was perfect. Situated at the end of the busy main street so it was close to all the shops and bars but far enough away from the apres ski bars that there was no late night noise. The fimbabahn gondola was is only a short walk away, along the travellator through the dorftunnel. The staff at reception also organised our ski passes which saved a lot of hassle when we first arrived.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Ischgl.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie I, Manager at Hotel Sonne, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hello from Ischgl!

Thank you for your review and your critism! We told that to the responsible staff.
We also told Laura about your commandation, she was very glad to hear that 
We´re looking forward to your next visit in our hotel!

Many greetings from the whole Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    48
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
78
92
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

A wonderful family run and friendly hotel in the centre of Ischgl. The rooms are spacious, the food is delicious and never-ending, the staff are extremely friendly, particularly in the bar area and the facilities - wellness, ski room etc are top-notch. The owner and his wife will go out of there way to know you and you only have to mention your room number once - after that everyone knows where you are residing. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the gondolas but is also just far enough away from the lively apres-ski to become an issue .. if in doubt ask for a room facing onto the internal courtyard .. you won't hear anything bar the church bells. Cannot recommend the hotel enough.

Room Tip: For absolute quietness, ask for a room facing the internal courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ihanney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie I, Manager at Hotel Sonne, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Ihanney!

Thank you very much for your great evaluation! Just the best for our guests! The most important thing for us is, that our guests are happy. The whole team always is giving the best.

We´re sending you the best regards from Ischgl :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying in the .Sonne in mid January 2014 with friends.This hotel is perfectly located in the centre of the village ,close to lifts and easy to ski right back to in the evening.The hotel is beautifully appointed and very welcoming and the owners Peter and Sonja are always on hand day or night to make sure that your stay is a memorable one.We had excellent food every evening and the menu was varied and interesting. All the staff are extremely polite and helpful , and the reception even had my ski pass waiting for me when I arrived at lunch time so that I could get straight onto the lifts without wasting time at the ticket office . Brilliant hotel ,great resort, cant wait to return hopefully this year. tony simpson

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t_simpson98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie I, Manager at Hotel Sonne, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your great evaluation! We´re very glad that you and your friends enjoyed your holidays in our hotel!
We´re looking forward to your next visit!
With best regards from Ischgl from the whole team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

A very nice hotel, which is located just around the corner from the gondola. Located on the main street the hotel invites to go for a shopping tour after skiing or to one of the bars.

The service at the hotel is super friendly and the owner family is always there to help you if there is anything you need.

After skiing you can go to the SPA area or join your friends and family at the restaurant for a complimentary snack.

Loved the hotel, thats why we have booked it for the next year already

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rena4man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie I, Manager at Hotel Sonne, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Mrs. Rena!

Thank you for your great review and your stay in our hotel!
We´re looking forward to your next visit in Ischgl and whish you a great time!
Many greetings from the Hotel Sonne! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel is fantastic and very well placed for the ski lifts. Best position in resort I would say.
The food is excellent and a good variety with superb service. Everything beautifully prepared and presented.
Rooms are well looked after and cleaned daily.
All the staff are welcoming and only too happy to help you.
We cannot fault this hotel and will return again.
We were there for Christmas & New Year and these are brilliant times to experience the hotel and skiing.
Looking forward already to our return next Christmas

Room Tip: We really like the front facing rooms but high up as there is less noise from the streets. This hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJB1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie I, Manager at Hotel Sonne, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Google Translation
Hallo aus Ischgl ! :-)

Vielen Dankf für Ihre tolle Bewertung und ihren Besuch in unserem Hotel!
Unser gesamtes Team gibt selbstverständlich stets sein Bestes, damit es unseren Gästen an nichts fehlt .-)
Wir freuen uns auf Ihren nächsten Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel Sonne und senden bis dahin liebe Grüße!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Central location close to everything.Good Staff en personnel.You pay a little bit more but you get much in return.You re car is driven to an underground garage.The only thing(but it didn't disturb me) where the church bell's Rachel morning at 06.45

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARCOVH215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Traditional Austrian family quality hotel. Location 15m from Dorftunnel with its moving walkway to Fimba lift. Very very high quality food. Nice quiet room overlooking courtyard so quiet despite hotel's central location. Very comfortable mattresses! Wellness area small but fine -adult only. Pool small but warm - lively with kids sometimes. Staff excellent, particularly in the restaurant. Nice wine choice. Boot room fine. Really enjoyed our stay. Good value at the time we stayed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ischgl hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fliana
Hotel Fliana
#1 of 43 in Ischgl
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Post Ischgl
Hotel Post Ischgl
#5 of 43 in Ischgl
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sporthotel Silvretta
Sporthotel Silvretta
#14 of 43 in Ischgl
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AlpVita Piz Tasna
AlpVita Piz Tasna
#4 of 43 in Ischgl
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Yscla
Hotel Yscla
#11 of 43 in Ischgl
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Salnerhof
Hotel Salnerhof
#20 of 43 in Ischgl
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Property: Hotel Sonne
Address: Dorfstrasse 57, Ischgl 6561, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Ischgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Ischgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star superior Hotel Sonne is located in the centre of Ischgl, only a 2 minute walk from the cable cars. It offers free Wi-Fi and a spa area with sauna, steam bath, infrerd cabin, indoor pool, waterfall, massage and a tea bar. You can also enjoy our fitness room. Facilities at the Sonne Hotel include a cosy lounge, a vinotheque, and a lobby with a large hotel bar. Half-board comprises an extensive breakfast buffet and a 4-course dinner. Austrian cuisine is available at the Sunnalm restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing