We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection........almost”
Review of Sporthotel Ellmau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sporthotel Ellmau
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ellmau
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfection........almost”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We have recently returned from our third visit to the excellent Sporthotel. Our welcome was friendly, efficient and check in took about 5 minutes. Our party had two different types of rooms. The smaller, brighter 'Tirol' room overlooked the main road but had a spectacular view of the Wilder Kaiser mountains. The larger 'Ellmau' room was, at times, very dark but quieter and overlooked the gardens. Both rooms had very small bathrooms with a shower over the bath. We did encounter two problems with our room-a temperamental door lock and leaking sink-although reported to Reception and Housekeeping were not rectified during our stay. All staff were very friendly-even remembering us from previous visits-and spoke to us in English. We did, however, feel that during our evenings sat in the lounge area the waiting staff were very slow to take our drink orders.
The hotel has five dining rooms-although everyone collects their buffet choices from the same area-and you are allocated a table on the first evening. During our stay a member of our party celebrated a birthday and the waiters decorated our table, together with a birthday card and a free glass of champagne. As previous reviewers have stated the food is first class, there are a number of 'theme' nights and you are spoilt for choice with the dessert buffet. However we did feel that 1.80euros for half a litre of tap water was excessive.
The hotel has an indoor pool, with a small outdoor section and a large outdoor pool surrounded by sun loungers and umbrellas. There is currently building work on the lower ground floor, near the sauna area but this never impacted on our holiday. The hotel has large free car park and across the road is a very useful supermarket. The hotel is situated on the edge of the village, close to the bypass which has major roadworks, completion due Summer 2017.
Ellmau is a small, interesting village which puts on a number of events for visitors such as torchlight walks, 'Summer Nights' and band concerts.
All in all an excellent hotel and hopefully we will return in the future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    61
    34
    10
    5
See reviews for
64
102
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, Scottish Borders
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is simply brilliant. Food is out of this world with great choices. At dinner there are 5 choices of main course together with a choice of soups and an excellent salad buffet. Dessert is usually a buffet too - if you can manage it! Breakfast is superb with a huge choice of hot and cold and a bewildering selection of breads.

Staff are simply excellent. Nothing is too much trouble. If you want, or need, something it will be provided immediately.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are best. Avoid rooms overlooking the main road or car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIddlesbrough
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

An excellent hotel . Although a large hotel the staff were very friendly and efficient. A gluten free diet was well catered for and the food was excellent. Ellmau is a good area for easy walking and there is a free bus between Going, Ellmau,Scheffau and Soll although it was usually crowded. There is smoking allowed in parts of the hotel and there were dogs present. Otherwise difficult to beat.
Sleep quality was hampered by the very soft pillows.

Room Tip: There is an annexe but we were in the main hotel. The annexe is 5min walk to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIddlesbroughPetrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed at The Sport as a base for a weeks walking. You can buy a lift pass for all the lifts in the valley which stay open in the summer and that gives free bus travel as well. The Sport is about 20mins walk from the Ellmau lift but the quality of the hotel makes that bearable.
All the staff were helpfull and pleasant and most spoke good english. We paid for a superior room which was of a good size with a large balcony. It wasn't one of the refurbished rooms and was a little tired in appearance it was however very clean with very comfortable beds. Towels including the pool towels were replaced every day. Toweling robes for use in the pool areas were also supplyed. Our room was at the front with wonderfull views of the Wikder Kaiser mountains. The down side was the noisy main road close to the hotel and I nearly asked for another room straight away. We did give it a try though and were relieved to find that the road noise stopped during the night. I had a great nights sleep something I often find difficult to acheive when away. So we stayed put.
One of the best parts is the food. There is a huge choice and what ever your likes or diet your sure to find something to like. The format varied every night, one night all buffet, the Gala dinner was all served and sometimes a combination. The main course for that day is chosen at breakfast. Be aware though that ordering a litre of tap water will cost you just under four euros.
The weather was unexpectedly very hot during our week so we took full advantage of the swimming pools which we found exellent. There are two pools one mostly outside and one mostly inside. You can swim from the indoor pool through a curtain into a small outside pool or down some steps next to the indoor pool and out through electric doors within the water into a large outdoor pool. Not sure if thats explained well but it means you can swim outside without getting cold if the weathers cool. Both pools have views of the mountains.
We had a great time and will go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Overall a very good experience, spoiled by some niggles.
On arrival at the main hotel we checked in, were given keys and told to drive down the road opposite to the annexe, the first building on the right. We said we had no car ( came by plane and taxi) and were left to walk with our luggage. Could not find the annexe, so had to go back to reception.and it turned out we had misheard - it was 4th on the right. We would have expected to be shown to the rooms. It seemed the problem was one of the staff - the rest were really helpful all the week
No kettles, oven or microwave in the rooms, so self catering difficult.
Overall a very good hotel, lovely pool and superb breakfast which we enjoyed one day at only 11 euros each.
We understand the Alm restaurant behind is owned by the hotel. We had a nice meal there upstairs but it was very hot. On our last night I booked a table sepcifically downstairs. On arrival at the correct time we were told we had to go upstairs. When I insisted we had booked a downstairs room the manager said "wiedersein" - the english would be "like it or lump it".

Room Tip: Rooms by the road are quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Culvervilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Hotel food and service doesn't get any better :) 2 lively bars nearby bar66 & Mexican bar but quieter than sol .
Remember people still smoke in bars & can have there dogs in the hotel. 5mins walk to lifts,pool and massage excellent! Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard Karl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed for a week skiing in Feb. The hotel is well situated for the slopes and the town. The staff are all very helpful, friendly and professional. Our room (In main hotel) was superb - spacious, clean and comfortable. The restaurant food is fantastic! I would certainly return to this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLogLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellmau
1.1 mi away
Kaiserhof
Kaiserhof
#3 of 15 in Ellmau
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
#1 of 15 in Ellmau
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Der Baer
Hotel Der Baer
#4 of 15 in Ellmau
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cordial Familien & Sporthotel Going
0.8 mi away
Hotel Christoph
Hotel Christoph
#7 of 15 in Ellmau
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apparthotel Tom Sojer
Apparthotel Tom Sojer
#9 of 15 in Ellmau
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Ellmau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Ellmau

Property: Sporthotel Ellmau
Address: Dorf 50 | Familie Unterlechner, Ellmau 6352, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Ellmau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ellmau
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Ellmau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ellmau
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ellmau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Ellmau 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Sporthotel Ellmau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Ellmau Hotel Ellmau
Sporthotel Hotel Ellmau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing