We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sporthotel Ellmau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sporthotel Ellmau
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Ellmau
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for week in July.

Positives:
1. The food at this hotel was amazing - the best we've had on holidays. Breakfast is buffet style, with a wide selection of hot and cold food. The coffee was good. The only criticism is that there was no apple or cranberry juice. Dinner was also very good, with a wide menu and buffet desserts every night!
2. The pool and garden are great for relaxing on a hot day.

Negatives:
1. Many of the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful.
2. We drink tap water with our meals not wine. There was initially some difficulties getting a carafe of water, but eventually they relented, possibly because our son was drinking apelsaft.
3. Our room was small, particulary when our son was sharing the room. The decor could also be refreshed.
4. The traffic at night from the nearby road meant that the window had to be shut to get to sleep. I didn't sleep well because of this. I'm glad that there wasn't a heat wave!

On balance, we would go to this hotel again, but only because the food was so good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QUBProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    58
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
61
92
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We returned to the Sporthotel for our 4th visit. After spending idyllic Christmas and New Years here, we made our first Summer visit last year (all with Inghams). Our Wilder Kaiser view room was spacious but shabby. Some rooms have been extended and refurbished (being let for a new higher price), and it is to be hoped that the basic rooms will soon be given a makeover - or at least new carpets. Our bathroom was tiny - I kept banging my heel on the toilet whilst using the washbasin. On previous stays we had separate toilet/bathroom facilities; this year our booking was very last-minute.
Our arrival this year was slightly disappointing; the hotel was crowded with a weekend Porsche rally making it impossible to secure a sun lounger or get a swim. For dinner, we were then given a table in an overspill area in the bar. It was dark and close to a guest who smoked at least one cigarette between each course of her five course meal. The owner was waiting on tables and assured us that we would be allocated a better table at breakfast. However, this did not happen and no-one seemed to know about our request or be able to help until Bernardo the waiter asked what the problem was and offered to set us a table in the main dining-room or on the terrace - it was such a relief to find someone being pro-active and professional. He advised us to speak to Herr Philippe (the maitre d') who had been off-duty on our arrival. Everything was then settled to our satisfaction.
From then on, we relaxed into our holiday. The food is excellent, with lots of choice; breakfasts consist of a vast array of anything you could want, with eggs & omelettes cooked to order. Dinner is 5 courses (7 on gala nights). The regular staff remembered us and welcomed us back. All staff are professional and polite.
With Inghams everyone gets a free packed lunch, consisting of ham and cheese rolls, a chocolate wafer, apple and squash drink. This was always too much for us and not really to our liking. I would suggest it would be less wasteful if guests were given a bag and asked to make up their own lunch from the breakfast buffet (this works well at other hotels).
The week in Ellmau passed all too quickly with excellent easily-accessible walking and, of course, a visit to the bathing lake at Going (can walk there or take free Kaiser Jet bus).
The facilities at the Sporthotel are excellent; indoor/outdoor pool; large outdoor pool with jacuzzi section; extensive spa area and large gardens.
We will definitely return, but will try to book earlier or pay extra for a superior room.

Room Tip: Refurbished rooms do not have Wilder Kaiser view. Paying upgrade to a superior Inghams room gives t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DorsetEeyore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have stayed at the Sporthotel for a couple of days, and were impressed.
The Hotel is huge, expecially for such a small village.
It appears to have grown to the present size through many enlargements over the years.
Just to give an idea, it has no less than five or six different dining rooms, and the lobby,
with bar and and living areas, sports a grand piano and several fireplaces.
However, we never got the impression of being in a dispersive structure.
All the personnel is very kind and smiling, the restaurant is very good and breakfast variety
one of the best I ever experienced. The indoor swimming pool is small but adequate.
We were in room 309, and I think we must have been among the very first guests in there,
as the whole wing is brand new. Very tasteful choice of furnishing, the bathroom is elegant,
well lit and modern. Couldn't have been better. The only reason why I didn't assign five stars
is the wi-fi service. A nonsense to charge 2 Euros for a one hour password when even the cheapest of Novotels around Europe offer free unlimited coverage.
Even the PC in the lobby won't operate unless you insert a one Euro coin in the machine.
We love the Tirol region and will go back to Ellmau, it's right in the middle of everything and
within minutes of the elegant Kitzbuhel. The Sporthotel will be our choice again next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MGA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at the Sporthotel in January 2012. It has taken me a while to write this review because life has been hectic! I don't usually write reviews but thought I should because we had such a good time at the Sporthotel. The hotel is conveniently located, is smart and had great food. The staff are polite and everything runs smoothly. I would certainly hightly recommend a stay here!

Room Tip: We had three rooms in different parts of the hotel which were all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My wife and I booked our holiday through Inghams Lakes and Mountains brochure. We paid a supplement to have a room with a bath and a balcony. This large hotel has a fabulous position facing the Wilder Kaiser mountains. The owners appear to have a policy of continually upgrading rooms and the one we occupied 2 years ago has been modernised and is more expensive as a result. Our room this time was at the front of the hotel. There is significant traffic noise from the busy main road which by passes the village but the spectacular view of the mountains more than compensates for this. With the bedroom window closed the traffic noise is eliminated completely.
Public areas, lounges, bars, spa, pool and garden are beautiful. Food is varied , plentiful, and well cooked. Service throughout was first class and very friendly in every area of the hotel. Staff in restaurant and bars appeared particularly anxious to please. Two instances demonstrated this . Firstly a request for a beer and a shandy while lying by the pool in the garden resulted in them being brought in a large bucket filled with ice. Secondly without any prompting from me the hotel staff spotted that it was my wife's birthday and laid on special treatment at dinner that night. A memorable surprise!!
We were pleased to find that the free bus still operates between Soll, Scheffau, Ellmau and Going. Using this and a weekly lift pass (£50) gives access to a huge and varied walking area. For golfers the course in Ellmau is directly opposite the Sporthotel and the clubhouse only a five minute walk away. It is an immaculately conditioned golf course ideal for holiday golf. Staff at the golf club are helpful and speak excellent English. Staying in the Sporthotel entitles you to a 30% discount on green fees - I paid about 50 Euros.
I am pretty sure that we will be making a third visit to this hotel, and so will my golf clubs!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best views but can be affected by road noise. Rooms at the rear are quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We have just returned from The Sport Hotel in Ellmau, a return visit that we were looking forward to in anticipation. As always we were not dissapointed. The food is excellent, rooms clean and the staff all friendly. I read of complaints that some staff do not speak english very well, please remember you are in Austria. After many visits to Austria and Germany, and to my shame I do not speak much German, but I always seem to understand what is on the menu and have always had my orders correctly supplied. Bernardo the waiter was always friendly and attentive, several times he was dissapointed that we could only eat 3 of the 7 course dinner on offer. As said before we will return as we always enjoy our visits to the Sport Hotel. Thank you again for looking after us yet again. The Hayes Family Bexley Kent

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haysey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Outstanding views of the Wilder Kaiser mountain range from hotel room balcony.
Excellent for Ellmau golf club (30% reduction with hotel card, £42).
Excellent access to the mountain ski lifts via the free Kaiser Jet bus.
Good electric bike hire in the town (again with 10% hotel discount).
The food here is fantastic!
Wonderul ambience.
Rooms are only adequate and need updating, but you do not have to spend much time there as there are other areas including the patio which are excellent.
The main road can be noisy but if you are into cars (or motorbikes) you will see some outstanding machines, including many classics.
This our second visit here and we will return!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view (faces the main road though).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benbecula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellmau
0.2 mi away
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
#1 of 14 in Ellmau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kaiserhof
Kaiserhof
#2 of 14 in Ellmau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Der Baer Hotel
Der Baer Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ellmau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alte Post
Alte Post
#8 of 14 in Ellmau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cordial Familien & Sporthotel Going
2.8 mi away
Hotel Alpin
Hotel Alpin
#2 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Ellmau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Ellmau

Property: Sporthotel Ellmau
Address: Dorf 50 | Familie Unterlechner, Ellmau 6352, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Ellmau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ellmau
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Ellmau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ellmau
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ellmau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Ellmau 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Sporthotel Ellmau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Ellmau Hotel Ellmau
Sporthotel Hotel Ellmau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing