We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Hotel Schonblick

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ellmau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Schonblick
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Ellmau
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had a great stay here in the summer (August). Erika and Maria worked incredibly hard to accommodate everyone. They were both so friendly, kind and hospitable to my 2 children. Maria's cooking was homely and reliable to come back to after a day out and about. Great homemade jams at breakfast. The beds were comfortable and the rooms spotless. Really couldn't fault it. The hotel was also quiet at night. Lovely view of the Wilder Kaiser mountains on one side of the hotel. Our room faced the other side but still a lovely view. A bit of a hike to the hotel from the actual village, but I didn't mind this, meant we had a better view.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Schonblick
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 44 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

Visited Ellmau in February for a week with my boyfriend and his brother. They have stayed here 3-4 times in the last 5 years and had no hesitation in booking again when the hotel came up at a reasonable price.

Yes it is on a hill but you gain the views and access to the slopes due to this (see my photos). 5 minute walk to the traditional village (with a good few pubs for apres ski) and a steady 20 mins back up (for us averagely fit, mid-late 20 year olds).

A 30 second walk across the car park opposite leads to the last section of the red run back from scheffau to the hartkaiserbahn, and so brilliant access to the Skiwelt, as well as brilliant access back to the hotel at the end of the day.

Maria is welcoming and very much appreciates any attempt to talk German to her!! Erica is friendly, approachable and helpful. We enjoyed all meals provided - A choice of three is offered each morning, so that it can be cooked fresh for the evening, and each evening there is a starter and a pudding, along with a fresh salad buffet. Standard buffet continental breakfast.

As is tradition in most smaller Austian Hotels/Pensions, smaller parties are expected to share a table with fellows guests, which is a nice way of getting to know people and break the silences as people tire after the hard day on the slopes!

Gorgeous apartement style room in the apex of the roof with kitchenette, small bedroom and lounge/bedroom, lots of storage space, plenty of room and a balcony on each side of the chalet style building (see my pictures!).

I would happily return to this hotel! Wunderbar!! Schönes Hotel und freundliche Gastgeber!! :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukjetsetter85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed at the Schonblick 3rd-10th March 2012 having booked it a very late deal to take advantage of the snow conditions. Completely hit the jackpot. Maria's cooking was superb and Erica's was the perfect front of house/hostess. Rooms were spacious, very clean, and the views from the balcony amazing. Ski in, ski out, and a cool beer waiting outside as the sun went down most nights. A really nice walk downhill into a typically picturesque tyrolean town and 2 euros pp taxi back up if you fancied a rest. Honestly can't fault the place and will definitely return. A massive thankyou to Maria & Erica - 10/10.

Room Tip: Top floor at the rear - spectacular views off the balconys. Top floor suite at the front, sunny unti...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

What a fantastic stay we have all just had in the Schonblick, comfortable, warm, good food and very friendly staff, especially the owner and Erika who never stopped working.
We were a party of seven of mixed skiing abilities, for the more experienced we could ski out around the back of the Bergof which takes you to the funicular railway. For begginers there is a ski bus, (night time ski bus not always reliable), but still plenty of taxis which are reasonably priced.
Overall we would go back to Schonblick with no hesitation, the staff were always helpful and curtious.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stayed at the Schonblick 21st January with Husband and 22 year old son. Booked 3 days before departure as the snow conditions were excellent and we got a good last-minute deal. Our room turned out to be an apartment on the top floor which was the largest ski accommodation we have ever had! It consisted of a lounge/diner with sofabeds, fully fitted kitchen, hallway, large separate bedroom and shower room. We also had a large balcony with lovely views. There were 2 large wardrobes and shelves and numerous cupboards and storage options-makes a change to be not falling over our ski gear! The apartment was cleaned everyday and the towels changed twice in the week (although they were pretty worn out & thin). The beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean.

The food was ok-all home cooked by Maria but my only complaint would be the lack of vegetables with most main meals (but I am a bit of a 5 a day person!). Also a basket of bread would have been nice with the soup but hey-ho! We often sampled Maria's wonderful apple strudel on return from a hard day on the piste which was served warm with cream and went down a treat!

The other reviews are accurate with regard to the hotel's position up the very steep hill. It's ok going down (although I would imagine it would be scarey if it were icy), but is a slog uphill so don't attempt it in ski boots or if you are returning from the supermarket!

The hotel has great proximity to the slopes but it is via a Red run which could be tricky if you are a novice skier. This wasn't a problem for us as we are experienced skiers, and we found the whole Ski-Welt area to be a good all-round area. We also ventured over to Kitzbuhel one day - made possible by buying the All-Star area pass which is 20 euros extra providing you purchase it at the start of your holiday. This journey is easily done if you are a competent skier via Brixen im Thale and Westendorf providing you make an early start from the funicular.

All in all a great value for money holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skimujulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We have just returned from ellmau and enjoyed our stay and every night was a treat with Maria's reliable cooking and Erica's attention at meal times. Beds really comfy, the room nice and clean and there was plenty of hot water for showers after a hard day on the slopes. No complaints!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same, but the views from the higher rooms were especially good.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magsjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

First visit to Austria with friends. Excellent accommodation and meals varied.The owner Maria and Erica very pleasant and did there best to make the stay relaxing and enjoyable.
Easy to get around. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ellmau hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Der Baer
Hotel Der Baer
#4 of 15 in Ellmau
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
#1 of 15 in Ellmau
497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaiserhof
Kaiserhof
#3 of 15 in Ellmau
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sporthotel Ellmau
Sporthotel Ellmau
#5 of 15 in Ellmau
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Landhof
Landhof
#6 of 15 in Ellmau
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Christoph
Hotel Christoph
#7 of 15 in Ellmau
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schonblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schonblick

Address: Kirchbichl 70, Ellmau 6352, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Ellmau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Ellmau
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing