We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall fine, but some minor improvements are required...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaiserblick

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ellmau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaiserblick
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ellmau
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overall fine, but some minor improvements are required...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed in this Hotel for 3 nights. The room was nice, modern and big. spa area is also great and the staff was friendly. There were a lot of families with children, but not much young couples. And the food was excellent, really excellent and the prices for drinks where reasonable (mostly).

Anyhow, some things happened which made a bad impression:
- we found empty bottles from (i guess) former guests in a cabinet in our room.
- when we checked-in, hotel staff offered that they get a news paper for us in the morning. From that conversation we got the impression that it is a free complementary service. Well no, it was added to the bill which we found out while check-out. The amount was not high, though unexpected and a little disturbing.
- We had to give some pants to the hotels cleaning service. It was clean, but totally crumpled (seems like no ironing happened)
- This was the first time we payed 2,5 EUR for 1 liter of tapped water...

All in all we had a good time and i can really recommend this hotel if you don't bother about such small issues....

And yes, i almost forgot: the view and the area is really amazing !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mr_maier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    30
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
58
56
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Fab fab fab! my husband and I were introduced to the hotel by our friends who had stayed there twice before us. In three years we have since stayed there six times with two more trips booked for next year! We take our two children (3 years and 8months) in winter and summer.We even took our youngest daughter at 7 weeks! Rooms are good, the food is amazing and the swimming pool and relaxation room is even better since the renovations last year. The family who run the hotel are lovely and have always made us feel very welcome. Staff are very helpful and our little girl loves the childrens playroom. Every evening at dinner, they provide a childrens buffet and to top it off it is ski in / out! A perfect location! It is a firm favourite in our house...we will be returning for many more super family holls!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We have now stayed at this hotel more than 10 times and each time the quality has improved. The hotel was extensively extended in 2010/11 to add a range of higher quality rooms and a new indoor pool and an enlarged bar/lounge. The hotel does not take tour passengers so has a differently and friendly feel. Also for regular week stays you get one day free the next year.

Room Tip: Despite the hotel being a short uphill - short but steep hill - walk it is clearly the best hotel in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alhambra01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Having stayed last year in the Hochfilzer and this year in the Kaiserblick, I have to give the KB the trophy. The food was very nicely presented and service excellent. Armin is something of a wine-master; sporting a Vinotheque, fine wine list and excellent advice freely given. The entire staff seemed very happy, creating a delightful atmosphere where all seem approachable. Our golf package was reasonably priced and, with generous buffet breakfast, packed lunch ready without fail, afternoon cakes, generous evening menu with good choices, all bases seemed to be covered. We failed to spend our Euros, not needing much cash, and found rucksacks, towels and wellness kit ready in the nice modern room with magnificent full-on mountain view. Hard to beat. Sounds like the ski-ing is even more on the doorstep than the excellent 3 * 9 hole golf club, which was what brought us back again. Ellmau celebrates repeat visits, and the KB has whole walls decked with pictures of families who returned 10,20,30 even 55 times. We'll be going back

Room Tip: Ask for a Kaiser Blick 'blick' (view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Been there in Feb 2012 with my wife & 2 kids (age 10 & 6). We've been to many other places in Austria for skiing, but this one is the best by far, I dare say perfect.

Location: basically on the slope, a bit higher than the bottom end of the T-bar, so in the morning you just strap your skis on and slide down about 100m to get to the T-bar, then up the mountain you go.

Rooms: we had a "double room superior" which is basically a large double, in which we had 2 beds added for the kids (we booked late, so the apartments were all booked). Very nice, very modern, very clean - just perfect. Bathroom quite large, plenty of space.

Food: absolutely great, and perfectly organized. I've been to many 4 star hotels that offer pretty sophisticated food, but the trouble is that they serve it on a fixed schedule so you have to be at the table at a given time, and the whole ritual lasts forever. Here you could come at any time, and if you did not care for the sophisticated stuff (like our kids) or just want to east something quickly, you can just go for the buffet. Yes, they run in parallel a buffet and a-la-carte, so the choice is yours, you can even mix them.

Entertainment: they have a games room for the kids (a few arcades, a pinball, pool table, table tennis) and a play room, plus a small video room. Kids had a great time there. In addition, the swimming pools are just great (one inside, one outside).

Skiing: magnificent, the ski area is vast so you can ski every day on different slopes. Does not get boring at all. There are not that many black slopes, and the few blacks are a bit far, so you have to ski up & down a couple of mountains (on reds) before you get there, but it's fun and by the time you hit the blacks you're already warmed up and ready to go.

Price: not expensive given the quality of the whole experience. Good value for money.

For the previous 2 years we've been to Zell am See (also good 4 star hotels & all) but frankly it does not compare, for the next few years we're gonna be Kaiserblick regulars, and I'll book much earlier from now on.

Overall, a perfect experience, I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GeorgeM_vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

My family (my wife, two children aged 4 and 5 and I )stayed in this beautiful hotel in Ellmau for 8 nights in February 2012. The property consists of two buildings on either side of a road. The oldest building is the largest and the one with the wellness area, restaurant, etc. and is located directly on the slopes. The modern building has the best rooms overlooking the beautiful village and the Wilder Kaiser.
Location: 95/100 very central (just above the church) and on the slopes (although you need to cross a road in order to reach the SkiWelt-Wilder Kaiser, which is why I can not give a rating of 100) . Excellent view from the rooms in the new building.
Rooms: 92/100 (beautiful, spacious, good distribution of spaces, modern decor very pleasant especially in the newer building.
Wellness area: 95/100 (good facilities: sauna, turkish bath, indoor and outdoor swimming pool - heated and in the snow! - hot tub, fitness room better equipped than many other luxury hotels)
Kitchen: 88/100 (not the most refined Austrian cuisine, but still very respectable, with plenty of varied dishes, ranging from traditional Tyrolean dishes to Italian or French. Excellent wine list. My rating would be 93 points but water was definitely overpriced (4.50 euros for a bottle of 0.7 liters and 2.50 for tap water!) and the price of wine was also excessive.
Cleaning: 88/100 (excellent)
Service: 74/100 (friendly owner, good and prompt table service table, very efficient overall management but reception staff was not always friendly and punctual in reporting incoming calls, and room reservation was subject to an unexpected change with consequent sur charge).
Overall Rating: 88. I would have given 90 or more if water and wine had been more reasonably priced and reception service more friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clabarbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

A large hotel with a personal service.
The best location in town - ski in and out and 3 minutes walk to the center.
A convenient arrangement with Intersport that deliver and collect ski equipment to/from the hotel's ski room.
A wonderfull six course meal each evening and a great and diversify breakfast.
And above all each guest gets a personal service - mekes you feel you are the only guest at the hotel.
We were a bit disappointed to find out that we are charged for the tap water jars we had at dinner (it felt a bit petty).
On the whole the best hotel for skiing I have ever visited.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ellmau hotels
0.4 mi away
Sporthotel Ellmau
Sporthotel Ellmau
#5 of 14 in Ellmau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
#1 of 14 in Ellmau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaiserhof
Kaiserhof
#2 of 14 in Ellmau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Der Baer Hotel
Der Baer Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ellmau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apparthotel Tom Sojer
Apparthotel Tom Sojer
#9 of 14 in Ellmau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pension Apartment Steiner
Pension Apartment Steiner
#11 of 14 in Ellmau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiserblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiserblick

Property: Kaiserblick
Address: Kirchbichl 5, Ellmau 6352, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Ellmau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ellmau
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Ellmau
#2 Spa Hotel in Ellmau
#3 Family Hotel in Ellmau
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ellmau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 99
Also Known As:
Kaiserblick Hotel Ellmau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing