We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of Kaiserblick

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ellmau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaiserblick
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Ellmau
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Been there in Feb 2012 with my wife & 2 kids (age 10 & 6). We've been to many other places in Austria for skiing, but this one is the best by far, I dare say perfect.

Location: basically on the slope, a bit higher than the bottom end of the T-bar, so in the morning you just strap your skis on and slide down about 100m to get to the T-bar, then up the mountain you go.

Rooms: we had a "double room superior" which is basically a large double, in which we had 2 beds added for the kids (we booked late, so the apartments were all booked). Very nice, very modern, very clean - just perfect. Bathroom quite large, plenty of space.

Food: absolutely great, and perfectly organized. I've been to many 4 star hotels that offer pretty sophisticated food, but the trouble is that they serve it on a fixed schedule so you have to be at the table at a given time, and the whole ritual lasts forever. Here you could come at any time, and if you did not care for the sophisticated stuff (like our kids) or just want to east something quickly, you can just go for the buffet. Yes, they run in parallel a buffet and a-la-carte, so the choice is yours, you can even mix them.

Entertainment: they have a games room for the kids (a few arcades, a pinball, pool table, table tennis) and a play room, plus a small video room. Kids had a great time there. In addition, the swimming pools are just great (one inside, one outside).

Skiing: magnificent, the ski area is vast so you can ski every day on different slopes. Does not get boring at all. There are not that many black slopes, and the few blacks are a bit far, so you have to ski up & down a couple of mountains (on reds) before you get there, but it's fun and by the time you hit the blacks you're already warmed up and ready to go.

Price: not expensive given the quality of the whole experience. Good value for money.

For the previous 2 years we've been to Zell am See (also good 4 star hotels & all) but frankly it does not compare, for the next few years we're gonna be Kaiserblick regulars, and I'll book much earlier from now on.

Overall, a perfect experience, I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GeorgeM_vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    31
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
60
58
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My family (my wife, two children aged 4 and 5 and I )stayed in this beautiful hotel in Ellmau for 8 nights in February 2012. The property consists of two buildings on either side of a road. The oldest building is the largest and the one with the wellness area, restaurant, etc. and is located directly on the slopes. The modern building has the best rooms overlooking the beautiful village and the Wilder Kaiser.
Location: 95/100 very central (just above the church) and on the slopes (although you need to cross a road in order to reach the SkiWelt-Wilder Kaiser, which is why I can not give a rating of 100) . Excellent view from the rooms in the new building.
Rooms: 92/100 (beautiful, spacious, good distribution of spaces, modern decor very pleasant especially in the newer building.
Wellness area: 95/100 (good facilities: sauna, turkish bath, indoor and outdoor swimming pool - heated and in the snow! - hot tub, fitness room better equipped than many other luxury hotels)
Kitchen: 88/100 (not the most refined Austrian cuisine, but still very respectable, with plenty of varied dishes, ranging from traditional Tyrolean dishes to Italian or French. Excellent wine list. My rating would be 93 points but water was definitely overpriced (4.50 euros for a bottle of 0.7 liters and 2.50 for tap water!) and the price of wine was also excessive.
Cleaning: 88/100 (excellent)
Service: 74/100 (friendly owner, good and prompt table service table, very efficient overall management but reception staff was not always friendly and punctual in reporting incoming calls, and room reservation was subject to an unexpected change with consequent sur charge).
Overall Rating: 88. I would have given 90 or more if water and wine had been more reasonably priced and reception service more friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clabarbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

A large hotel with a personal service.
The best location in town - ski in and out and 3 minutes walk to the center.
A convenient arrangement with Intersport that deliver and collect ski equipment to/from the hotel's ski room.
A wonderfull six course meal each evening and a great and diversify breakfast.
And above all each guest gets a personal service - mekes you feel you are the only guest at the hotel.
We were a bit disappointed to find out that we are charged for the tap water jars we had at dinner (it felt a bit petty).
On the whole the best hotel for skiing I have ever visited.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Just returned following seven nights at the Hotel Kaiserblick. This hotel is truly first class. All staff are very well trained, very polite and nothing is to much trouble for them. The hosts, Armin and Greta greet you on your first night and they are very much a hands on couple, they really have to be applauded. The food is excellent with six courses every evening except on a Wednesday evening when a surperb eight course dinner is served, well done to all the chefs.
If you are looking for a first class, friendly hotel in Ellmau this is definatly the hotel for you.
We will be returning next year!!!

Room Tip: As far as I know all rooms are excellent. The Kaiserblick is in a quiet positon,on the slopes, and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Two nights at this hotel aren't enough. The room is a two room suite with a private patio and very comfortable. There is no air conditioning but I'm guessing 11 months out of the year it would be a waste. The views from the hotel are spectacular. Most of the hotel staff speaks enough English so there isn't any issue with communicating with them.

The food is off the hook! Breakfast, a light lunch spread and an eligant 6 course dinner are included in the price. Every meal is a production. If you can't find something you like, you are way too picky. The dinner is unblievable. You get the salad bar which is probably a total of 50 feet long with everything under the sun on it, you then get to chose an appetizer from 2 choices. Then you get to chose an entre from 3 choices, desert from 4 offerings and top it all off with a visit to their cheese bar. A nice Austrian custom. All the meals are tenderly cooked by chefs that know their business. I would come back to this hotel just for the food.

The hotel has something for everyone. Far more than we would partake in but many people would use all the facilities.

They have onsite parking which is always a real plus anywhere in Europe.

We played a round of golf on the Wilder Kaiser Golf Club course and it was truly first class all the way. The round for 2 including rental clubs, electric cart and use of the practice range cost us $179.00 Euros. A real bargain for this golf course and only about 5 minutes from the Hotel Kaiserblick. The German couple we played with told us Kaiserblick in German means "facing the Kaiser" and they weren't kidding. Our view of the Kaiser Mountains was phenominal.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We have just spent 2 weeks at the Kaiserblick and can't say enough good things about it. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is so clean and comfortable. The food is fantastic and plentiful. The area is wonderful for walking and has so many places for children to play, such as Hexenwasser. Once you have your ski lift pass the children's playgrounds are free. The Kaiserblick has a lovely pool and children's play room. Children are always made to feel at home and the hotel is totally child-friendly. We can't wait to go back next year and fully recommend this family hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackstage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

This hotel was really great. The staff were very friendly and the manager would come and greet us everyday to see if everything was OK. I happened to have my birthday during our stay and everyone wished me happy birthday (even though we hadn't said anything). Even our table was set especially with flowers and candles and we were offered sparkling wine for breakfast! The breakfast buffet had a great variety of food and was really delicious. There was even a snack buffet in the afternoon which was a great treat after having skied all day. By the way, the first ski lift was just a few meters from the hotel-very convenient! The rooms were very clean but could have been a little more spacious. Another lovely detail was that we would find little Milka chocolates on our pillows everyday. This hotel offers real value for money and we will surely go back again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galazios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ellmau hotels
0.8 mi away
Kaiserhof
Kaiserhof
#3 of 15 in Ellmau
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sporthotel Ellmau
Sporthotel Ellmau
#5 of 15 in Ellmau
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
#1 of 15 in Ellmau
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Der Baer Hotel
Der Baer Hotel
#4 of 15 in Ellmau
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apparthotel Tom Sojer
Apparthotel Tom Sojer
#7 of 15 in Ellmau
18 reviews
0.8 mi away
Landhof
Landhof
#6 of 15 in Ellmau
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiserblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiserblick

Property: Kaiserblick
Address: Kirchbichl 5, Ellmau 6352, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Ellmau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Ellmau
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ellmau
#1 Spa Hotel in Ellmau
#3 Family Hotel in Ellmau
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ellmau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 99
Also Known As:
Kaiserblick Hotel Ellmau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing