We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveler rating
500
77
23
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
500
77
23
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews farmers buffet walking guide steam room next year wilder kaiser mountains gala dinner excellent hotel warm welcome year after year the main hotel a family run hotel fish or vegetarian first class swimming pool skiing holiday great holiday spa facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 609 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2019

We stayed for a week on half board and had five excellent evening meals each offering for us non meat eaters a choice of fish or vegetarian, all nicely presented and tasting even better. However we were a bit disappointed by the BBQ and Farmers buffet evenings - meat eaters were very well catered for in terms of appetising choices but not so non meat eaters. At the BBQ evening we found a bit of fish wrapped in silver foil but not properly cooked through it turned out. On the Farmers evening we never did establish properly what the non meat options were.

We know the chefs in this kitchen know how to cook well. When we return again we are really looking forward to their ideas for us non meat eaters.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

We have just returned from a 2-week stay with Ingrid and her team at the amazing Hochfilzer Hotel. We cannot praise them highly enough - everything is first class. We stayed in a Komfort Room with a balcony looking out onto the Wilder Kaiser mountains. The view was truly stunning. A very comfortable room, food at both breakfast and dinner was superb - with a particularly huge choice at breakfast. Ingrid and her staff made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. They made our wedding anniversary very special! A huge THANK YOU to everyone at the Hochfilzer for making our holiday truly memorable. We hope to be back next year - there is nowhere we would rather be! We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Anne & Rod

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank anne_leng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingrid27, Manager at Hotel Hochfilzer, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2019

Dearest Leng Family !

How beautifully written - thank you so much !
Pleasing people like you who really appreciate and recognize the effort is a pleasure !
Looking forward to welcoming our love birds soon !

Many sunny regards
Ingrid Hochfilzer with Family and the super Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019

I can now understand why so many couples and families come back here year after year. We have had another great week, the hotel and food is first class and staff are so friendly.
Ellmau is so pretty in the summer and vibrant with plenty of things going on during the week.
I have got to mention Stephen - thank you for showing us on the map the good Wilder Keiser walk, the views were amazing - my legs have finally recovered! Also for taking us out on the e-bikes it was a good day except for getting soaking wet! Your friendliness and knowledge of the area were much appreciated.
So thank you Ingrid and your team for another great holiday.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingrid27, Manager at Hotel Hochfilzer, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2019

Dearest Janet with Family and friends !

Thank you so much for choosing us again and for spreading out your enthusiasm all over our wonderful place !
We offer and you appreciate - there cannot be a better deal !

See you as soon as possible !

Ingrid Hochfilzer with family and the super Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019

We've been going to this hotel for over 15 years and each year just gets better and better. There is always a warm welcome from everyone, especially Claudia and Ingrid. There is plenty of choice at breakfast, the Bircher muesli is a must! As are the freshly cooked omelettes. All the food here is of a very high standard. The rooms and the hotel are exceptionally clean. Ellmau itself and surrounding areas are somewhere where you'll never get bored of. So many mountains to climb up or down or just a gentle flat stroll - there's something for everyone... Thank you Hochfilzer and Ellmau x

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank eonh115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingrid27, Manager at Hotel Hochfilzer, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

WE THANK YOU ! For appreciating and for the word : AMAZING - that sounds like music in our ears !
We will keep on trying to be really good hosts !
See you very soon for your 16th year or maybe another quick holiday this year ? Autumn is gorgeous as well and winter also !


Thank you again !
Ingrid Hochfilzer with Family and the super Team - especially Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019 via mobile

I have just finished a week's stay and everything from the very friendly and efficient staff, to the quality of the food was spot on. A great atmosphere, very clean, great location near everything. Great walking in the area, beautiful countryside.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank stephann34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingrid27, Manager at Hotel Hochfilzer, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2019

Dear Stephan - your comment is also spot on - many many many thanks !

We think like you - perfect location, great walking, gorgeous countryside, great atmosphere and a good quality of hosting .

See you very soon !

Ingrid Hochfilzer with family and the super Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews