We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel in a Lovely Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Der Baer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Der Baer Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ellmau
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in a Lovely Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a beautifully maintained and clean, medium sized hotel. Very comfortable with quality building materials and furnishings. Our room had spectacular views of the Wilder Kaiser mountains. The gardens are very pretty and well maintained with ample space for relaxing and a good sized outside pool.

There is an excellent spa with indoor pool, sauna, steam room, etc.

The bar is very comfortable with a great range of drinks and lovely views.

Car parking is ample, and the locked garage is excellent.

The dining rooms are beautifully furnished and very comfortable.

The service is excellent.

Staff are very efficient and friendly, and many spoke excellent English.

Room cleaning was perfect.

They have a great team working here, and the Windisch family are always around to have a friendly word.

We stayed half-board.

Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of anything you could want from fruit to cooked breakfast (eggs, sausages, bacon, etc.) and everything in between. Breads, pastries, cold meats, pickles, cheeses, yoghourts, preserves, cereals and I'm sure I have forgotten many things.

Everything presented most hygienically.

Snacks were available in the afternoon in the bar. This was effectively a buffet lunch and was always excellent. It included one or two warm dishes, a choice of salads, breads, and a choice of cakes.

Evening meals were varied with excellent choice, mainly Austrian, sometimes themed including an Italian night. The quality of the cuisine was excellent with great wines available, especially surprised by the quality of the Austrian wines we tried. Service was impeccable yet relaxed and friendly. All the staff were great but Johanna in the restaurant and Markus in the bar were true stars.

The atmosphere was relaxed and romantic.

As with the rest of the hotel, everything was spotlessly clean.

We stayed in a de-luxe double room which was a good size, excellently appointed. The room had recently been refurbished.Furniture included a table, desk, 2 armchairs. Everything was totally clean.Materials used are outstanding, Solid wood and granite.

Bathroom top quality and impeccably clean.

Bed very comfortable. Flatscreen TV with many, mainly German language channels.

There was a minibar and a safe in the room.

Big windows that opened wide with breathtaking views of the Wilder Kaiser.

The spa was excellent with indoor pool, sauna, steam room and more-all very clean and free.

Outside pool decent size but I did not use it due to the weather. Sun loungers outside were nice to relax on in the gardens.

Internet access was free and easy to use- excellent.

Located in the very pretty town of Ellmau, it is just a short walk to the centre of the town which has a nice variety of small shops.

The hotel is on the edge of the town, so it is lovely and quiet.

It is a good base to explore the Tirol and Salzburg is a short drive away.

Lifts and the Bergbahn are readily available for trips to higher altitudes for hiking or winter sports.

My wife and I loved this hotel and small town and plan to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vincas64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
62
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel last week. The newly re-furbished bedrooms are beautiful; we stayed in room 12 overlooking the front of the Hotel with spectacular views.
We ate in the dining room each evening and every menu was special and completely different. I particularly enjoyed the lunch buffet that was set out every day for guest to help them selves. A very friendly and relaxing Hotel, we will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are now refurbished, the Spa suites are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anif2582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 10 days with our 5yr old son at the end of August. The refurbishment is to the highest standard, solid oak and local slate flooring being one example. The staff team were excellent. Friendly, helpful and always at hand. The food was extremely good. They provide six courses at dinner and every course over the whole 10 days was delicious. The playroom is also refurbished and very well equipped, light and spacious.The owners were always at hand and have clearly created a very good service culture. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: We were shown around the hotel by the owners and all the rooms appeared of a high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was our first time at this hotel, and resort, and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. The hotel was super; our room was very comfortable and clean; the meals were beyond our expectations - such a variety to choose from, especially breakfast, and our hosts and their staff were so friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay here again (hopefully in the not too distant future).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Spent 11 nights at this family run hotel and had a wonderful time. The accomodation (we had an upgrade due to refurbishment), staff, food and facilities were just fantastic. We were guided to an extent by previous positive 'trip advisor' reviews - all fully justified. The views from our room were fabulous and the hotel itself proved an excellent base for walking albeit some 300 metres up a steep hill from the main community of Ellmau. Met two other english couples who had both been visiting this same hotel for 12 years+ - can fully understand why. The rooms were clean and had been refurbished to a very high standard. The hotel facilities including a spa, indoor/ outdoor pools - were all very good. This was our fifth trip to Austria and our first stay at this particular hotel. The weather was rather mixed during our stay but we were out and about along the valley/ mountain tops every day - can fully recommend purchasing the tourist card allowing access to all ski lifts. The food - breakast & evening meals (6 courses), were a real pleasure. All of the staff were courteous & helpful. Overall a great holiday - highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank munrobagger39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have visited the excellent Der Baer Hotel every year for 18 years, mostly in the winter season. With excellent access to the slopes, a great snow record, good location in a quiet spot close to the pretty Tyrolean village centre, this family run hotel offers outstanding food, service and recently renovated, well-designed accomodation. Recently we have discovered the hotel's summer charms and plan to visit twice a year. A true gem!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barlad, Romania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

It"s a great hotel.The food is wonderfull, tasty and dishes are sophisticated.The hotel is near the slops.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIRON G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellmau
0.4 mi away
Sporthotel Ellmau
Sporthotel Ellmau
#5 of 14 in Ellmau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.3 mi away
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
#1 of 14 in Ellmau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaiserhof
Kaiserhof
#2 of 14 in Ellmau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ferienappartements Landhof
2.7 mi away
Hotel Alpin
Hotel Alpin
#2 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apparthotel Tom Sojer
Apparthotel Tom Sojer
#9 of 14 in Ellmau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Baer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Baer Hotel

Property: Der Baer Hotel
Address: Kirchbichl 9 | Foot of Wilden Kaiser Mountain, Ellmau 6352, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Ellmau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ellmau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Baer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Der Baer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing