We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Galtenberg
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Innerhof(Alpbach)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alphof(Alpbach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gasteighof(Reith im Alpbachtal)
View Hotel
Hotel Auffacher Hof(Wildschonau)
View Hotel
Alpbach Apartments(Reith im Alpbachtal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
91
39
20
6
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
39
20
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclimbing wallkids clubski lessonschild careswimming poolski areakids buffetfood and winemid stationfamily ski holidayfantastic familyolder childrenhot and cold drinkssegway tourorganised activitiessoft play areaage group
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 166 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We really enjoyed a week here , an all inclusive package in a hotel that still remains small & friendly.
All the staff we met were friendly & helpfull. Ski school worked well , apparentlya new provider & these things can always be hit & miss but our kids were happy enough & defintely got better & more confident . Care of the youngest ones was really good .
Food was fine , dont expect cordon bleu in a ''kids' hotel''. Room was good ; balcony & mountain view & enough space for 5 . Sofa & tv area too. Cleaners did a nice job every day with our mess.
Bar , lounge & restaurant areas were very pleasant.
The negatives are due to hotel's popularity ; the pool is too small for the amount of people using it , the ski/boot room was overcrowded & the bar service got slow at peak times . But these are just small gripes. It isnt ski in/out , a small walk is needed to the nearest lift & a slightly longer one to the gondola. Ski area is good for a low key resort , two mountains too choose from with speedy gondola service . I've seen worse queues elsewhere in the alps too . Decent selection of mountain restaurants & prices here seemed cheap compared to other Alp resorts.
Would definitely recommend & return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We're a group of families who have been coming to the Galtenberg for several years. This year, there were 6 families with 11 adults and 11 children age 4-11. In previous years I would have given it 4 stars, and I still think it's a great value, easy solution for skiing with small children - but for our group it's definitely time to move on.

The location of the hotel is good but not outstanding. It's very convenient with small children who start on the nearby nursery slopes (although ironically as of this year the hotel no longer uses the ski school right outside). Confident skiers can use the T-bar across from the hotel to join the main gondola at the mid-station, and can also return to the hotel using this slope, but as it's a challenging (and often icy) red run, beginners have to schlep back and forth to the gondola bottom station, a couple of hundred meters away. This isn't a problem for the children though as the hotel ski school shuttles them back and forth by bus until they're confident enough to use the T-bar. The ski rental shop is located right below the gondola station, but beware that the rest of the village is some distance away, and if you need anything (e.g cash) the bus only goes once every hour.

Our children have all loved the kids' club while little, but have outgrown it from 7-8 years onwards, and the last couple of years the older ones have been a bit bored in the evenings, spending most of their time on their ipads etc. The swimming pool is a big bonus for the children, who love the fact that it's partly outside. From a parent's point of view it's less great as it's very small and gets incredibly busy after skiing. It's also rather dangerous as the floor is very slippery and some parents let their children run around and jump into the crowded pool without any supervision whatsoever (and I have never yet seen a staff member in there). In the past two years we have witnessed two serious accidents with children falling and hitting their heads. Last year a boy from a different party was knocked unconscious and had to be taken to hospital. It's highly advisable to supervise even older children who are strong swimmers and that you might allow to swim by themselves elsewhere - even though afternoon tea or a drink in the bar is a lot more attractive than sitting in a hot, noisy, crowded pool room!

The food is ok but not outstanding. The breakfast buffet is good, although unfortunately they no longer have the fresh orange juice machine. Lunch is mainly pasta, sausages and chips, with a good selection of salads - but if skiing on the mountain you're far likelier to eat in one of the restaurants up there, and so half board would be a better option. Afternoon tea is good, but only served until 4:45 sharp, with Germanic precision. The children's dinner buffet is good, and there is enough ice cream, gummi-bears and chocolate to satisfy even the sweetest tooth. For the adults' dinner there is again a good choice of salads as well as soups to start and a lovely cheeseboard to finish. The quality of the rest of the food didn't seem quite as good this year as when we first came. Buffet nights are best, with some very nice roasts. On a la carte nights you have to choose your main course at breakfast (maybe this explains why there aren't many takers for the liver and onion option) and the food tends to be quite stodgy. Dessert is for some reason regularly served before guests have finished their main courses, leaving you with a soggy mess instead of ice cream.

Because the kids' club/ ski school combo makes this such an easy ski holiday with small children, many of us have returned year after year, despite the infamous service levels, which as stated by a previous reviewer are something of a standing joke with the regular guests. Service is friendly enough as long as everything goes smoothly, but as soon as there are any issues the attitude of the staff (including the owners, who head up the front desk) is incredibly defensive and sometimes downright aggressive. The customer is simply never right. On arrival, members of our party have often been allocated completely different rooms than those they had reserved a year in advance (and paid a deposit for). On departure, there are often issues with items on the final bill. Don't expect anything to be resolved without an argument (and often not even then). Bar service is the slowest that any of us have ever experienced anywhere, and in the 5 years that I have spent a week there I have never yet seen the head barman crack a smile.

In short, I would recommend this to families taking children under the age of 7 skiing for the first few times, but we are unlikely to return again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EJC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is not the sort of place we would normally go to - the offer is very much built around children, and the place is full of them, running around at full speed and volume! However, we thought it would appeal to our five-year-old daughter.
She absolutely loved it! After a while, once we got used to the idea of living in a parallel universe populated by children, we started to relax into it, and much to my surprise I found the whole experience enjoyable. I thought they did it very well indeed. The rooms were perfectly comfortable, the food was absolutely fine - lots of ice-cream and pizza for the children, but plenty of adult-friendly fare as well. We did not experience the problems with service described by the previous reviewer. I found the front desk staff busy, but invariably helpful and very friendly.
The Galtenberg ski school, which caters for children rather than adults, was also very good. I was worried about our daughter being taught to ski at a school which was a side-line to a hotel, but we couldn't have been more pleased with them. The staff were very child-friendly, and made the whole experience of learning to ski into a big game for them. The staff ratio was high, and they looked after the children from 9.30-3.30, leaving us free to enjoy the slopes.
The hotel obviously has good links with Russia. The Russians have a slightly different approach to social interaction, and are not necessarily as convivial as Europeans tend to be. However, there were plenty of friendly Brits and Germans when we were there, and the atmosphere was very jolly. But be prepared for a large Russian contingent. And don't expect them to return your friendly smile!
All in all, a surprisingly good experience. The pressure to return is already on!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorwichFlyingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

i have just returned from a long stay in the Galtenberg and am still feeling very shocked and troubled by the rudeness of the hotel management throughout our stay. Having travelled the world for business and pleasure I have experienced most extremes of customer services but nothing can compare to the manageress/owner of the Galtenberg. I would be surprised if the hotel has any repeat guests. I should have known on the first night from her inpolite attitude at keeping several guests waiting over half an hour in a queue in reception for ski school vouchers. A 'sorry to keep you waiting' would have been welcome. The bill at check out for incorrect for many guests. When it was my turn in the queue (yes another queue!) I queried my bill she refused to recognise that her staff had made various errors. Her body language summed up her interest in the hotel - no eye contact with her guests, talking to her baby and her friends whilst guests were explaining where they were over charged. Half an hour later she was still at it and i was no further in having the bill clarified and being ale to start packing and put my children to bed. The guests in the whole reception / lounge area were all witness to this and also felt quite uncomfortable. I still feel deeply insulted and traumatised at how i was treated. I am very easy going and don't expect much, just basic manners. It really was the worst hotel experience in my entire life.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Mon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent Christmas at Galtenberg and had a terrific time. Ambiance is ... contemporary hotel with a bit of chalet, including open relaxation and bar areas. Staff are friendly and offer a very nice, hosted stay! Food was great - kids buffet was ideal for little ones - so prepare to overindulge. Coffee, tea and soft drinks are not included with regular meals. Room options offer various sizes and we had a lovely patio. Ski/snowboard team was very friendly, too, and felt connected with the hotel. Shuttle pick up from the slopes (200 m) and airport is included.

Room Tip: Ideal for kids under 10... parents let their kids loose, a lot, so stay clear of stairwells and elevators. Choose a 'bigger' room for comfort. Rooms are WARM - didn't wear half the sweaters we brought. Book shuttle times early. Bring shampoo. Hairdryer was good.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews