We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best 4* hotel in Alpbach”
Review of Hotel Alphof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alphof
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Alpbach
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel room was very good (large and clean bedroom, very nice bathroom, stunning views; we even had a comfy living room and thoughtful coat racks at the entrance). Service was also very friendly and attentive. But the hotel lacks a good restaurant/bar for drinks and dinner. It cannot compete with Boglerhof (also 4* rating) just down the road (closer to the Convention Centre, and right next next to the bus stop for the shuttle) - which has a more refined and modern decor, a much nicer restaurant that serves buffet lunches, and where people entertain for business lunches and dinners. And Alphof couldn't even deliver wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rypper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 151 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed there during Alpbach Forum, but never had a meal there. It is one of those hotels which could take a major makeover, those carpets..... Very alpine look. Breakfast is good, never made it to sauna or swimming pool. The most fascinating thing is the flower decoration in this village, how do they achieve this?? Truly stunning!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NRH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Have just had a wonderful two weeks early July in Alpbach and stayed at the Alphof Hotel. The hotel was great and the staff were very friendly. They didn't all speak English though so be warned if you are making that assumption. The hotel has a pool and also a well used Sauna - most guests use this naked (the most comfortable way to use a sauna) so again be prepared for this. We went in wearing trunks on the first day and were seriously frowned upon by some of the other (mostly German) users.. I don't think there are any hard and fast rules about this but it seems that 90% of the hotel guests were German while we were there and they clear ideas about how things should be done. When in Rome etc - we soon found ourselves getting naked too and relaxing alongside the other users so it was ok and really nice to have a sauna (no extra charge) after a good days walking. If you want to use the sauna when there is unlikely to be anyone else there then go just after dinner starts at about 1830.
The food was reasonable but I must admit to becoming a little bored and dissappointed after the first few days. It was perfectly acceptable but repetitive if you stayed longer than a week. Breakfast was the usual fayre of continental meats, cereals and fruits etc. There was scrambled eggs and bacon every day if you wanted something hot. Breakfast was virtually the same every day.
There also seemed to be a lot if flies around at the dinner table. I felt that they could have tried to reduce this problem with an electronic fly catcher or something. We ate out a couple of times at other hotels and they didn't seem to have the same problem.
There are plenty of outing you can go on from Alpbach and we went of many of them. A little expensive especially the Glacier one which had the initial cost of the trip plus the cost of the cable car rides plus the cost of the guided tour of the ice cave at the top if you choose to go there.
At Alpbach, you get a free card for riding on local buses and chair lifts etc. This is fantastic as these can add up to quite a lot of money.
There are endless opportunities for walking at all levels and the views are spectatular, the air is nectar and the people everywhere seem to be friendly and positive.
Even though i sound less than satisfied with some aspects of our holiday, I would strongly reccomend this trip - we enjoyed it much more than many previous holidays.
Stan Sanders

Room Tip: Ask for a room a lkittle higher up as they have entertatinment outside sometimes and it can be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Staniman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were booked into the Furstenhof which is next door to the Alphof. As part of the deal we arranged with Thomson Lakes & mountains we purchased the half board at the Alphof for evening meal. The meals (5 courses) were of excellent quality and quantity. We also had the afternoon cakes as well and there was a very good variety served between 15.00 and 17.00 daily including soup and fruit. The deserts were excellently presented and enjoyable to eat. The only downside was no complimentary tea or coffee with the afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Spent a week during the Spring skiing season .
Had half board meals here and used the "wellness facilities" and bar,
Stayed B&B at the Gasthof nextdoor.
Had some really great food, well presented with plenty of choice and an interesting buffet of salads.
The staff were, to be fair, willing and predominantly cheerful but perhaps needed more training or a better plan to serve all the tables in some sort of order .Some nights we'd wait 25 mins just to flag one down to see a menu and others we'd be greeted, sat eat and out within an hour.
I was incredulous when i read other reviews describing 'canteen meals', I hope to attach photos of the elaborate desserts taken after reading them but suffice to say they looked artistically arranged and were tasty and exotic.
Some nights we were serenaded by local folk music with the waitress joining in the singing and yodelling.
The louge bar was smartly decorated and comfy with an open fire and a well run bar with free nibbles (hygienic spoons for nuts BTW). It was open plan enough with several cosy corners to find a quiet area away from most smokers. Smoking is just part of Austria I'm afraid.
The pool WAS Too cold and small & noisy but the Saunas were great. Steam room was a bit plasticky and small and the relaxation room had no door so was not quiet, warm nor very relaxing.
Overall the hotel was god enough for a week's stay but better ones are down in the centre.
The ski bus only came up this high once an hour so was a little inconvenient.
There's nothing to cry about if you end up here though, it has its charms.

Room Tip: WiFi is only available in the hard to find conference room.They will let you sit in there alone but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stueeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for seven nights. The beds were comfy, the staff willing and located near to the centre of one of the most pretty alpine towns, Alpbach. The only downside was the food. Sometimes good, other times not so good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucywoodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My initial impression of this hotel was good - the family room was huge, the decor was 80s/90s Austria (just as I'd remembered it when I was a kid), the barman was friendly, the free cake/soup at tea (FYI - tea and coffee are paid for) was lovely, and the hotel was filled with happy dogs and other small children (mine is 15 months, so it was a good sign).

But by the evening I found myself irritated by the smoking policy in the bar/reception area. This is an open area, and it cannot be avoided if you are walking to and from the front door or stairs/lift. The disgusting smell was everywhere - and even went up the stairs and into my room (which was on the second floor close to the stairs). Having read about this in previous reviews, I thought people must be very sensitive, but I absolutely agree with past posters. As a non-smoker there was no-where for me to relax with a drink after dinner, and even in the morning heading down to breakfast the same group of people (including the owner) were puffing away, making me feel sick and making my hair and clothes smell.

As well as this, I found the service at dinner terrible. Every night we had to ask several times for our courses to come, most of the time we were ignored. One night we spent 3 hours at the dinner table, despite being the first people in the dinning room. One waitress was particularly sour-faced and unhelpful. The main courses also lacked quality and flavour (which was surprising for Austria - I love their cuisine) and was more like food you would have been served by a distant relative. The presentation was poor too - just slopped on the plate.

On yes - and they also charge if you drink a jug of tap water.

On the plus side - the breakfasts were great, as were the starters, salad bar and desserts. The reception team were friendly and helpful - they provided us with a packed breakfast when we left very early. The children's meals were good - but a little too salty IMHO.

The torch-light walk organised by the hotel owner was lovely and the gluhwein at the end was delicious.

The spa was nice too - but the pool was about 3 degrees too cold.

All in all - if you're a smoker then this will probably be a great place for you - but if you're not and have small children then I would recommend the Boeglerhof instead.

BTW - we booked independently, not as part of Crystal (whose guests occupied probably 50% of the hotel) but we were all treated the same way at dinner - with disdain.

Room Tip: Pay the extra 7 Euros per night for a family room they are huge. Ask for an extra pillow before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArabianPrincessQatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpbach
0.2 mi away
Alpbacherhof Hotel
Alpbacherhof Hotel
#2 of 9 in Alpbach
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boglerhof
Hotel Boglerhof
#1 of 9 in Alpbach
357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zur Post
Hotel Zur Post
#5 of 9 in Alpbach
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Galtenberg
Hotel Galtenberg
#3 of 9 in Alpbach
157 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Wiedersbergerhorn
Hotel Wiedersbergerhorn
#6 of 9 in Alpbach
39 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sport- & Wellnesshotel Held
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alphof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alphof

Address: Dorf 486, Alpbach 6236, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Alpbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Alpbach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alpbach
Price Range: $143 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alphof 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alphof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alphof Hotel Alpbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing