We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Tyrol!”
Review of Alpbacherhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpbacherhof Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Alpbach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Classic Tyrol!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A charming and comfortable hotel with excellent pool and spa facilities. My family and I have stayed there two years running for our skiing holiday. The staff are wonderful and the food is excellent. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: With a balcony that faces the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palmofski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    56
    16
    1
    3
See reviews for
69
142
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

One of the problems with reviews of Alpbach is that frequency leads to a lack of objectivity. Many people have adopted Alpbach as a sort of second home and will proudly compete for the number of years they have been visiting. The same sad self-delusion that leads many to regard the bar staff as personal friends has bred a sort of myopia about other aspects of the resort.

The Alpbacherhof is perfectly nice hotel with some outstanding features: the charming receptionist Monika, the excellent waiters Christophe and Peter, very good food - brilliant buffet breakfast and high quality supper.
The standard bedrooms are fine but no better, certainly not 4 star. I stayed in room 118 and had to crawl on my stomach to reach the plug sockets by the bed which are under the bedside table. The radiator was too hot to touch and had no means of turning it off or down - as a consequence we slept all three nights on top of the duvet and with the balcony door open. We had three terrible night's sleep. I reported the radiator problem to the receptionist (not Monika who works during the day) and was told someone would look at it. This never happened.
There is one switch to operate both the light and extractor fan to the bathroom. I once spent 6 months living 250 metres from the busiest helicopter pad in Europe and the operating noise of the fan gave me flashbacks. Consequence; there is no such thing a quiet visit to the loo in the middle of the night.

It is not a cheap hotel and much of extra cost is down to the excellent food (good value) and the ubiquitous Wellness suite which provides pampering and preening opportunities galore (valuable for some but not for me) . There is an indoor/outdoor pool but this is really for children or side-skullers who like to swim without getting their hair wet; it is no good for sport swimming.
The Wellness Suite is loudly eco-friendly which sits oddly with the rooms that plough heat out of open balcony doors! Maybe a rather British observation but i find something creepy in a Kasuo Ishiguro sort of way about lots of middle-aged people walking around in matching white towelling robes; I think I'll save that for the retirement home.

The hotel's worst feature is the bar - a charmless barman operating in a fog of smoke. It is not just the hotel guests but as one of the few bars in Alpbach that permit indoor smoking it is a haven for every nicotine addict in the resort. You will need to air your clothes on the balcony by day or bring fresh shirts and trousers for every night. Either that or just avoid the bar.

So in summary; it is fine and has some great aspects but be sure that the you will value the extras you are paying for. If you are smoking non-skiers or have a smoking non-skiing partner and value manicures and reading on the balcony this could be just the place for you. If not there is better value elsewhere. If you have young children and are agnostic about the risks posed by passive inhalation then this could also be a good choice.

Room Tip: Check that the radiator can be adjusted
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed for one week, double Romatic Suite for me and wife, and Alpine Single for my uncle. Alpine Single great size for one person with balcony facing the mountains. Romanstic suite, very big, with seperate toilet. double sink, dining table and sofa, small TV, radio. Balcony to side with views of moutnains, not as nice as front facing but still nice. Noisy between rooms though, this is new part of the hotel, maybe thinner walls. Lucky the little kid beside us was not too noisy :) It was the adults who came to room beside us on last night who were more noisy! breakfast great, plenty choice, dinner, well every night amazing, the chef does a great job, I work in this industry and impresses me how they manage to serve so many course to everyone in good time. We were looking forward to a buffet night, but not this time :( Maybe next time?! :) Pools wonderful, outisde and inside both heated. Had massages very nice with best massage tabole ever! Relax area nice with teas and mineral water. Dont be scared to get naked in the saunas etc, some seem to be shy, if you are just use a towel ;) Main thing ,the staff, all great from moment they meet you to the staff in restaurant and bar all friendly and very knowledgeable, looking forward to going in summer :)

Room Tip: Front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gav0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroxall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

we have just returned from a weeks holiday at the alpbachrhof hotel and now can't wait to book
the next one, what a charming and freindly hotel, the staff were so helpfull, we left 2 bags at the airport and they were straight on the phone to the airport to sort it all out for us nothing was too much trouble, food was great and the spa area a real pleasure i will certainly be back again.

Room Tip: we had a south facing room with great views across the valley and up to the ski runs the north side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just back again today from our 6th visit in 4 yrs from this hotel,What can i say that people have not said before, Each time it gets better and better if that is possible !! After a flight delay of 4hrs what a welcome a lovely south facing room a meal to die for and everyone remembering us. Booked treatments in Beauty Spar for the first time and feel like a new woman, well done all the girls. Thankyou all must do it again.
Every member of family and staff here go out of their way to make your stay here very special ,hope everyone enjoys it as much as we do.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria186451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARRICKFERGUS
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Here I am again, writing about the Alpbacherhof Hotel. This Hotel has just got better and better, yet four years ago my first visit (3 stars) was deemed a mistake (see review), but last years was a marked improvement with the introduction of the spa and relaxation rooms.
So what took my review to 5 star this year. OK, the spa area still there, (though as part of Ingham's offer, 25 euro off treatments voucher per person!!) but the dinner was now 5 course and the food was tastier throughout. Service was also improved though the occasional mistakes were still visible. Breakfasts were still the same, just as wholesome and varied.
This year's room was a bit of a disappointment compared to the previous years, but we got what we payed for at the time of booking. Smaller than before but comfortable enough and South facing with balcony.
Monika on the front desk can only be described as outstanding, thoughtful, helpful, full of joy.
Would like to know what tablets she's on !!!! buy a few boxes. Thanks Monika.
With Inghams, this year's ski hire is through Connies in the middle of the village, on the main road at one of the bus pickup areas. Doors open 8.30 am , get there early to beat the rush, to be in time for the 8.50 bus outside. The bus to Gondola takes about 6-8 minutes and stops right outside it. There is a closer pick up to the Hotel at the top of the small hill in front of the hotel, and to the left. Return bus will also drop you off here.
As I have stated above, 3 visits to this hotel has shown how it has improved. I'm just glad we went back after the first time!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GAZBOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just returned from the Alpbacherhof hotel booked with Ingham's for a ski trip with my other half. The hotel made the holiday as Alpbach we found has nothing there! The skiing was good but we found it confusing about the ski buses and sometimes they didn't turn up at the allotted time and we were standing about quite a bit. The hotel on the other hand was wonderful - food was out of this world and was indeed fine dining. The Spa and pool area is fabulous and was so nice to get back late afternoon have some soup and cake which was available from 3.00 p.m and go down to the indoor to outdoor pool and relaxation rooms - Fantastic! It does advertise as having wifi throughout the hotel - this is not the case - if you sit in one seat in the lounge/bar you get a weak wifi signal but that is about it - don't expect wifi in the rooms. Overall though it was a great break and most enjoyable stay at the hotel. The room was OK pretty standard and not the gorgeous room shown on the website of the hotel. I think those rooms are not given to Inghams guests!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the mountains lovely views and sunshine in the afternoon on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryChristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpbach
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boglerhof
Hotel Boglerhof
#1 of 9 in Alpbach
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alphof
Hotel Alphof
#4 of 9 in Alpbach
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zur Post
Hotel Zur Post
#5 of 9 in Alpbach
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Galtenberg
Hotel Galtenberg
#3 of 9 in Alpbach
153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Wiedersbergerhorn
Hotel Wiedersbergerhorn
#6 of 9 in Alpbach
39 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sport- & Wellnesshotel Held
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpbacherhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpbacherhof Hotel

Property: Alpbacherhof Hotel
Address: Alpbach 279, Alpbach 6236, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Alpbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Alpbach
#2 Spa Hotel in Alpbach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alpbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpbacherhof Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alpbacherhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpbacherhof Hotel Alpbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing