We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here we are again”
Review of Alpbacherhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpbacherhof Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Alpbach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just back again today from our 6th visit in 4 yrs from this hotel,What can i say that people have not said before, Each time it gets better and better if that is possible !! After a flight delay of 4hrs what a welcome a lovely south facing room a meal to die for and everyone remembering us. Booked treatments in Beauty Spar for the first time and feel like a new woman, well done all the girls. Thankyou all must do it again.
Every member of family and staff here go out of their way to make your stay here very special ,hope everyone enjoys it as much as we do.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria186451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 275 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Here I am again, writing about the Alpbacherhof Hotel. This Hotel has just got better and better, yet four years ago my first visit (3 stars) was deemed a mistake (see review), but last years was a marked improvement with the introduction of the spa and relaxation rooms.
So what took my review to 5 star this year. OK, the spa area still there, (though as part of Ingham's offer, 25 euro off treatments voucher per person!!) but the dinner was now 5 course and the food was tastier throughout. Service was also improved though the occasional mistakes were still visible. Breakfasts were still the same, just as wholesome and varied.
This year's room was a bit of a disappointment compared to the previous years, but we got what we payed for at the time of booking. Smaller than before but comfortable enough and South facing with balcony.
Monika on the front desk can only be described as outstanding, thoughtful, helpful, full of joy.
Would like to know what tablets she's on !!!! buy a few boxes. Thanks Monika.
With Inghams, this year's ski hire is through Connies in the middle of the village, on the main road at one of the bus pickup areas. Doors open 8.30 am , get there early to beat the rush, to be in time for the 8.50 bus outside. The bus to Gondola takes about 6-8 minutes and stops right outside it. There is a closer pick up to the Hotel at the top of the small hill in front of the hotel, and to the left. Return bus will also drop you off here.
As I have stated above, 3 visits to this hotel has shown how it has improved. I'm just glad we went back after the first time!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GAZBOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just returned from the Alpbacherhof hotel booked with Ingham's for a ski trip with my other half. The hotel made the holiday as Alpbach we found has nothing there! The skiing was good but we found it confusing about the ski buses and sometimes they didn't turn up at the allotted time and we were standing about quite a bit. The hotel on the other hand was wonderful - food was out of this world and was indeed fine dining. The Spa and pool area is fabulous and was so nice to get back late afternoon have some soup and cake which was available from 3.00 p.m and go down to the indoor to outdoor pool and relaxation rooms - Fantastic! It does advertise as having wifi throughout the hotel - this is not the case - if you sit in one seat in the lounge/bar you get a weak wifi signal but that is about it - don't expect wifi in the rooms. Overall though it was a great break and most enjoyable stay at the hotel. The room was OK pretty standard and not the gorgeous room shown on the website of the hotel. I think those rooms are not given to Inghams guests!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the mountains lovely views and sunshine in the afternoon on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryChristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We've spent 4 days to this hotel and everything was perfect. We booked a romantic suite for 2 adults and 2 kids (2 and 4 yrs. old), which was enough size for all four of us.
The food was excellent. There was plenty of choice for breakfast, soup and cakes between 3 and 5 pm and a five course dinner in the evening.
Staff was very friendly, always happy to help. The children loved the swimming pool. All in all, we had a wonderful holiday and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeliaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is not only a stunning location, this extremely friendly and top quality hotel offered the best you could want from it's food, bar, service, spa and accommodation. Highly recommended! We were a large group with a 4 year old in tow and I can't praise the efficiency of the staff enough! Thank you for a memorable stay!

Room Tip: Ask for rear side view overlooking pool and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We went to the Hotel for a "big birthday" celebration, and we weren't disappointed! We had requested a Panorama south-facing room after reading other reviews and the outlook directly over the valley to the mountains was awesome. The room was a very good size with separate seating area, and was kept very clean with a comfortable bed. Wifi worked well in the room and was free. At all times the staff were very attentive and helpful. The spa is something else! - inside and outside pool, relaxation room, spa area with many different options, and other treatments like massage and pedicures available at similar prices to what you'd pay back in the UK. The views from the pool outside were something special and as we were lucky enough to have a good snowfall during our stay it was a great experience. We opted for the half board directly with the hotel... the food level is superb, with 5 courses including a great salad assortment most evenings. We never needed lunch as the breakfast is also brilliant, and towards the end of our week's stay we were actually dropping some courses in the evening because we were too full up - the staff don't mind that as you book in the morning from a menu selection. The village itself is charming with only a few restaurants and bars but a decent sized Spar just down the road for those little extras. It's a great ski OR walking location although the variety of the ski runs may not suit some very experienced skiers. While we were there in early January the resort and ski runs were quiet so there were no lift queues. There is also snow shoeing and cross-country skiing available.We met many English people in and out of the hotel who have been to Alpbach year after year and love the place. Last great touch - fresh soup and cakes for guests in the hotel between 3 and 5 in the afternoon, really nice way to sandwich skiing and the spa!!!

Room Tip: Check out the Panorama South-facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Have just spent a week staying in this hotel. We arrived late at night and were served a cold plate with lots of fresh bread and butter. We were asked what we would like to drink but discovered next morning we had been charged...thought this was a bit petty really.... Our room number 333 was NOT good. In the eaves and very shabbily appointed. On Sunday morning we made the owner aware that we were dissatisfied with our accommodation. No other rooms were available though if we wished to upgrade to a superior room we could for €32 per night. We were eventually placed in a much better room,of the same price range, on Tuesday. The food, staff and restaurant were all 4*... Friendly and helpful. We had a lovely time but feel the hotel gets its 4* status from the spa and sauna which is SUPERB. I enjoyed a wonderful massage and attended a therapy session provided by the hotel. We also had a romantic torchlit walk led by the lovely Lydia.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpbach
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boglerhof
Hotel Boglerhof
#1 of 9 in Alpbach
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alphof
Hotel Alphof
#4 of 9 in Alpbach
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zur Post
Hotel Zur Post
#5 of 9 in Alpbach
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Galtenberg
Hotel Galtenberg
#3 of 9 in Alpbach
158 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Wiedersbergerhorn
Hotel Wiedersbergerhorn
#6 of 9 in Alpbach
39 reviews
4.2 mi away
Schloss Matzen
Schloss Matzen
#1 of 6 in Reith im Alpbachtal
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpbacherhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpbacherhof Hotel

Address: Alpbach 279, Alpbach 6236, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Alpbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alpbach
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Alpbach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alpbach
Price Range: $202 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpbacherhof Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, seekda GmbH, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpbacherhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpbacherhof Hotel Alpbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing