We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first visit for 47 years!”
Review of Hotel Zur Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Zur Post
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Alpbach
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have fond memories of going to the Gasthof Post in Alpbach in both 1966 &1967 as a small boy learning how to ski. We made a big detour to return this year, and weren't disappointed. Very warm welcome, fabulous room and bathroom, huge balcony overlooking the village, and really good food, and free wifi. Off street parking too.

It was a delight to be back, and really really hope I don't wait another 47 to go back!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony - superb views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 74 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

Our small group of friends had a one day sightseeing visit to Alpbach. For our lunch we found on a way restaurant of the hotel. Wery lovely interiuor, the feeling of old times, super servise. Our ladies loved very special potato pankakes, which are I suppose from historical Austrian dishes, and the goulash wit dumplings was very good as well. Highly recomended restaurant as the village you must to see...

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Vykintas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We are visiting Alpbach regularly for Easter holidays. And me and my parents love these restaurant for cozy interior inspired by typical Tyrol architecture. Good traditional food and perfectly cooled Weizenbier...

We can recommend to try these meals:
Käsespätzle
Bachforrele Müllerin art
And probably the best beef soup that keeps you warm in coldest winter

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had dinner in this charming hotel whilst in Alpbach this week.

From start to finish this was a wonderful experience. good food, great service and a very atmospheric restaurant.

By far outshone a certain four star hotel (see separate review) in the village. We will most certainly return here to eat next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orkneypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have stayed for many years at Hotel Post in Alpbach. This is a family run Pension style of hotel offering excellent value for money. Large buffet breakfast are served each morning. The a la carte dinner menu is excellent. We always stay on a half board basis as it offers the best value for money. The daily menus on the half board are varied with a fantastic salad buffet each meal.

The hotel Bar is cozy and attracts many locals. The hotel is located in the centre of the village right next to the Bus stop that runs a regular bus service to the Ski lifts.

What makes this hotel so special is the staff who are extremely friendly and go out of their way to offer a really top service. A particular thanks to the Housekeeping staff who always do a fantastic job cleaning and tidying the rooms.

A top tip if you need to either hire or buy Skis then go next door to Connys. They offer a fantastic service.

Room Tip: Try and book a Charming Room as they have more space . Rooms 102, 104 and 105. Book one night to eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieHungerford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I totally agree with the previous reviewer.
I too, ate here twice last week.
Food was excellent,fairly priced and the service was 2nd to none.
Both times the restaurant was busy so do book in advance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The staff of the hotel were very sweet and helpful. When we got into our room we loved it, however problem number 1-the heating couldn't be turned down and we sweated each night away! Problem number 2-the pillows were torture! In the five days I spent there I didn't get one night of proper sleep. Problem number 3-the wifi was a joke! It took half an hour to load one page, and that was if we were lucky!!

But otherwise the food was tasty with a vegetarian option and the hotel was cosy and very pretty. To get to the ski slopes we had to walk 2 minutes to the bus station and wait for a bus that was quite full. It took about 10 minutes to get to the ski lift. The village has everything one would need, a super market, souvenir shop, bakery and chemist.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rozinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpbach
0.3 mi away
Alpbacherhof Hotel
Alpbacherhof Hotel
#2 of 9 in Alpbach
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boglerhof
Hotel Boglerhof
#1 of 9 in Alpbach
359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alphof
Hotel Alphof
#4 of 9 in Alpbach
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Wiedersbergerhorn
Hotel Wiedersbergerhorn
#6 of 9 in Alpbach
39 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Galtenberg
Hotel Galtenberg
#3 of 9 in Alpbach
158 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sport- & Wellnesshotel Held
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zur Post

Address: Alpbach 184, Alpbach 6236, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Alpbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Alpbach
Price Range: $117 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zur Post 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Alpbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing