We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location and food”
Review of Hotel Zur Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Zur Post
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Alpbach
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good central location and food”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed recently (2 adults and 2 children) for one week. The hotel is situated on the edge of the small town close to other hotels, cafe's and bars. The bus stop is a few yards from the hotel which makes it easy to access the gondola and other towns. There are some good walks from the hotel around Alpbach.

Room was comfortable and clean and spacious enough. Service was good and one small problem with room allocation was sorted quickly. All the staff were very pleasant and spoke good English. We were half board and enjoyed the food. Starter was a limited salad bar & soup followed by a choice of two main courses and a desert. Breakfast choice was ok with meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, cakes, juices, cereals, toast, etc. Bar area was small and smoking is allowed so was unsuitable for us and we just went to other bars in the area as they are close by. Small swimming pool and table tennis in back garden, pool was solar heated but a little on the cold side (some would say refreshing). Also sauna available on 1st floor which we didn't use.

There is a good childrens play area at the top of the Alpbach lift 'Lauser Land' which was suitable for all age groups. The bus rides & connections were good (10 mins to 25 mins to most other local towns and rail stations).

I'd be happy to stay here again and it was good value.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side (when facing hotel) have a good view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sulley92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    25
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
41
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel for 7 nights earlier this month. The hotel is well positioned in the centre of Alpbach, close to bus stops, and the few small shops in the village. During our visit the hotel staff did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable, all of the staff - cleaners, receptionists, bar staff , waitresses etc were very cheerful and courteous. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We had a nice balcony with a lovely view overlooking the valley and the village. We stayed "halfboard" and enjoyed a fine variety of 4 course Austrian dishes every night, breakfast was from a buffet with a good choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, cheese, meats, boiled eggs, bread rolls etc. If you don't want to roam the nearby hills, mountains etc you can relax in the hotels pool, small steam room and sauna. I very pleased to recommend this hotel and hope to visit it again.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies facing the road at the front/side of the hotel get most sun, but rooms with bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rewop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Post is a lovely place to stay. Staff are friendly and communicate well. The food is well presented. The soups and sweets were all excellent. We enjoyed the outdoor pool and the garden.Bedrooms were large and comfortable.Close to bus stop too! Would go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: Rooms at back look on to gardens and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dangermouse027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My partner and I visited Hotel zur Post for the first time this Christmas and couldn't have been more pleased with the loveliness of the place, the food and thankfully the weather too. We'd recommend this to anyone wanting a relaxing escape with gorgeous food (they display a mixture of traditional Austrian cuisine with local ingredients and a more European standard), comfort and a very impressive area of the Alps! We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here for 10 nights half board on a walking holiday in the Tyrol. The hotel was spotless and the rooms were spacious. Our room was cleaned (and tidied) every day. Breakfast was the ususal Austrian buffet type with a large selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, meats, cheeses, breads etc. Dinner was 4 courses, soup, salad buffet, a choice of 2 main courses and a sweet. We paid 49 euros each per night which we thought was very good value. All staff can speak very reasonable english and are very friendly. Reception will call anywhere for you. It is in the centre of Alpbach (a very beautiful village) with a bus stop almost outside. Information centre is 2 minutes away. Buses run every hour and were free with our Alpbachtal card issued by the hotel for the duration of our stay. This also gave us free trips on the Gondolas and chair lifts, and free entry into several attractions.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MYDArgyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntisland, Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Went for a week with Inghams.
Was here 2 years ago and the food has gone downhill since then.
New management working to very strict budget it appears.
Will not be back.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the car park or the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank les_goodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

went to this hotel in May a traditional hotel with plenty of traditional furniture the room was large with a seating area and balcony, the staff were friendly and spoke good english.
The food was good 3 star hotel food with a choice of main meal.
But,the bar was rather smokey (the uk has had a no smoking policy inside public buildings for a number of years) maybe we are not as tolerable as other countries now.
On the last 2 nights we were kept awake by a local teen disco until the early hours of the
morning.
I dont know if the disco was a one off special occasion or it happens on a regular basis

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galeforce88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpbach
0.3 mi away
Alpbacherhof Hotel
Alpbacherhof Hotel
#2 of 9 in Alpbach
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boglerhof
Hotel Boglerhof
#1 of 9 in Alpbach
339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alphof
Hotel Alphof
#4 of 9 in Alpbach
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Galtenberg
Hotel Galtenberg
#3 of 9 in Alpbach
152 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Wiedersbergerhorn
Hotel Wiedersbergerhorn
#5 of 9 in Alpbach
39 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pension Bischofer
Pension Bischofer
#6 of 6 in Reith im Alpbachtal
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zur Post

Property: Hotel Zur Post
Address: Alpbach 184, Alpbach 6236, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Alpbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Alpbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zur Post 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Alpbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing