We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's getting better all the time.”
Review of Der Berghof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Der Berghof
Ranked #9 of 46 Alpbach B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Every year, Der Berghof gets better. A little change here or there that gives it its own character. Unique in Alpbach, Der Berghof is neither a small guest house or a large grand hotel. A very stylish but simple, family run, hotel, bar restaurant that serves the best coffee in Alpbach. To many people like us, it is our holiday home in the Tirol. Whatever time of year we visit, we bump into friends from all over Europe. In a village dominated by large (Very Good) hotels, Der Berghof is an oasis of Austrian friendliness for those who prefer more simple personal attention.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 33 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2012

We first stayed at the Berghof 6 yrs ago when we learned to Ski having booked with Inghams, we enjoyed the whole experience so much we now come back each year and always stay in the Berghof. Alpbach is a lovely little town built in the traditional Alpine style with a good learner slope in the town and some great slopes very close by serviced by the efficient 'ski bus or Post buses' (inc in lift pass) Its not the biggest ski area but provides challenges for all levels and many people return here year after year such is the appeal of the place.
The Berghof sums that feeling up , its a small family run hotel with 10 rooms, it has a nice bar/dining area and is often frequented by locals as well as ski instructors. We stayed half board, there's plenty of choice at breakfast and a good 3 course dinner in the evening, plenty of carbs to top you up after a day on the slopes! There's an A la Carte menu as well and the owner, Erich, will give you an allowance if there's something you really want to try. The rooms are a good size and offer a great view of the mountain, its clean and tidy throughout and everybody's friendly and helpful.
In all our other holidays we have rarely if ever returned to the same resort let alone the same hotel , but Alpbach and the Berghof are exceptions and when we walk through the door on the first day of the holiday it feels so right.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krisb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We travelled with Inghams to Berghof and found it perfect. I like this type of small simple hotel. Clean & well run with great staff. The room was a small double for single use, my brothers room was smaller like a corridor, with 2 divans end to end & a sink in room it would have been a squeeze for 2 but ok as a single. Breakfast was a good typical buffet of cereals, cheeses & meats with the occasional boiled egg and plenty of tea & coffee ( in individual pots). There was no chioce of evening meal but it was a plentiful hot meal which I enjoyed. The soups were particularlly good. The hotel is literally round the corner from the bus stop and in the centre of the village.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricoshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This year was our third year in Alpbach - ideal location for the those looking for a less busy resort and good skiing. Stayed in the Berghof (5 of us, 2 families). The Hotel has only 10 rooms, our rooms were of a decent size (to dump ski wear at the end of the day) and overlooked the mountain.
Eric the owner was very friendly, as were the rest of the waiters, making us most welcome. Breakfast was the standard continental breakfast, if wanting cooked, the cook would do boiled eggs etc.
There were no choices for evening meals, but they are hearty and wholesome.
The bar/restaurant was nearly always full, plenty of atmsophere.
Location is probably close to ideal, just a couple of minutes walk from the Ski rental shop as well as the ski bus stop. Another couple of minutes gets you into the main area of the town, and not much further on to the supermarket just down the hill.
If thinking of staying in Alpbach, give consideration to the Berghof, good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GAZBOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

we stayed in the berghof hotel for one week in febuary 2010 it was a very friendly small hotel which we could not fault the staff were lovely and very friendly the food was lovely different dishes every night their was a lovely little bar where you could have a nice relaxing drink after a hard day on the slopes rooms were spotlessly clean all in all you coundnt fault this hotel we would go back

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Just returned from a week at the Berghof in Alpbach. It was wonderful. 2 adults and 2 boys aged 11 and 14. The welcome we received from Erich on arrival was great and he was referred to by our sons as the 'enthusiastic man' the whole week!! The rest of his team were so friendly and made us feel very welcome.
The hotel was clean and very well kept and the food delicious. We were a little worried that the half board option did not give us a choice, but we were never disappointed and every plate was finished every day by the whole family.! Home cooked and lovely.
The bar was full of locals and returning guest some who have been back for years and years.
I would definately come back here again
Thanks Erich

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Just returned from a week at the Berghof. We were on a winter non-ski-ing holiday with friends. This is a very welcoming, comfortable and spotless little hotel, very well run by Erich and his small team. Rooms were spacious with large balconies, very clean and wam. Food: breakfast was the usual continental style with boiled eggs, and was very fresh and plentiful, served by a very cheerful lady who also acted as chambermaid. Evening meals were very tasty and as two of us were veggie, they provided us with a good main course alternative every night. The two young men who worked in the bar were extremely friendly and always ready for a chat. Previous reviews here have stated that the bar closed at 9pm, which is NOT the case. It was always very busy until late and was used by both locals and tourists. The hotel has a large and loyal return clientele - which speaks for itself. We didn't venture out of the hotel after dinner, as the bar was lively and comfortable. Alpbach itself is a lovely little village, and an added bonus is the Albach Seenland card which is provided by the hotel, and entitled the holder to free bus travel within the region together with other benefits such as free entry to the local swimming pool. We used the bus extensively to visit the other villages - Rattenburg, Reith, Brixlegg, Radfeld and Brandenburg ( which is a lovely little unspoiled place). In summary: if you like small, personal hotels with impeccable service - you will love it. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovegoldens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alpbach hotels
0.0 mi away
Alpbacherhof Hotel
Alpbacherhof Hotel
#2 of 9 in Alpbach
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alphof
Hotel Alphof
#4 of 9 in Alpbach
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boglerhof
Hotel Boglerhof
#1 of 9 in Alpbach
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zur Post
Hotel Zur Post
#5 of 9 in Alpbach
74 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Galtenberg
Hotel Galtenberg
#3 of 9 in Alpbach
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haus Andreas
Haus Andreas
#5 of 46 in Alpbach
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Berghof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Berghof

Address: Hnr. 379, Alpbach 6236, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Alpbach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Alpbach
Price Range: $117 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Berghof 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Der Berghof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing