We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and good food”
Review of Haus Andreas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haus Andreas
Ranked #2 of 46 Alpbach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly and good food”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at Haus Andreas over Christmas on a Crystal ski package primarily for snowboarding.
First impressions were very good, Andreas welcomed us personally, and he was very friendly and gave us all the information we needed. He also has a great sense of humor and when he accidentally ‘married’ us on the booking in forms which we all had a good laugh about.
The Haus is typical Austrian style and functional, remember this is a guest house not a hotel, so there are no facilities other than dinning room/bar on the lower floor and a nice little room to use for reading, chatting and playing games next to reception. For us this is perfectly fine and is normal in a guest house in Austria.

Haus Andreas is just down a little lane directly off the main street in Alpbach and is perfect for access to all that the village has to offer. An extra bonus is that ski bus and Postbus stops no more than a minutes walk away, with the trip to the closest gondola no more than 10 minutes. InnerAlpbach is slightly further and I think is served by fewer buses.
The main house is down a slight hill so they have put the boot room in a second property they own (I think also you can stay there) that backs off the main road. If you’re a skier this must be a god send, I suspect, as it means to don’t have to wall up the hill in your boots.
Our room was slightly smaller than I would have expected but they still managed to squeeze in a seating area and we did have a balcony, mind you being on the village side of the house most of the view was of the house right next door. None of this was a problem as we were there to snowboard not sit in the room. The room was clean and the beds were remade everyday but don’t expect new towels or sheets during the week. This is typical practice in all Austrian Guest houses and adds to their eco credentials. I am sure that if you really needed them changed that there would be no problem.
The bathroom was quite small too but the shower was hot and powerful, you need to take turns in there though.. the bathroom I mean not the shower. It served its purpose well enough. If I had to have a grumble it would be to say that for me the towels were slight small and coming near to their end, so new fluffy bigger towels would have been great, my partner had no issue.. she is a lot smaller than me..

The dining/breakfast room has a good panoramic view of the other side of the valley and I think has recently been refurbished and although we never did I am sure you could sit there and have a few drinks after dinner.

Breakfast was standard Austrian bread, meat & cheese, with all the cereals you could want and ‘bacon’ and scrambled eggs. Coffee was good and strong and a fair size pot that gave 6 cups in total. Very important!!

Now, I have to say that having been to Austria a number of times we were expecting the food to be ok and of average portion size. Well I must say that this is where Haus Andreas excels. All the food we had was very good and portion size was more than you would normally get, every day we left the dinning room very happy and stuffed!! If we were to have one very minor complaint it would be that the choices invariably included something to please the English, I think we would have preferred everything to be typically Austrian but we do understand why they would do this, as most of the guests were English after all.
There is no fixed start time to dinner like a lot of guest houses and the food is cooked fresh when you go down to dinner.
Slightly unusually you have to choose your main courses for the whole stay on that first day. Again this is not really a problem for us.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
23
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

When we went on day trios the hotel supplied a packed lunch which was very poor and consisted of a dry bread roll without butter and a slice of cheese or ham, a smal. chocolate biscuit or a couple of sweets and an apple or peach - none of which was very appetising.

For dinner there was no choice for starter or dessert.

The room we had was on the top floor and although it had a large comfortable bed, it had insufficient lighting and the bathroom was tiny and again very poor lighting.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan123890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Alpbach couldn't be better situated for a walking holiday - over 900km of routes in the valley available. It met all our requirements in a walking holiday ... mountain streams and lakes to swim in, stunning views, amazing panoramas, lots of levels available, excellent network of Postbuses to get around. The whole area was beautifully pretty and Austria as everyone should experience.
The Hotel is excellent - extremely friendly owners and staff, very knowledgeable about the area and things to do, excellent food and service, ideal location for walks and Postbus stops and a balcony with stunning views.
We will definitely go there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for a week in August 2013. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Clean room, good breakfast, excellent location. Our room had a really nice view. Only negative thing was that there was no fridge in the room.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here for just over a week in August 2013, Picture book location, Spotless very
comfortable hotel spread over several buildings , Very friendly Family run hotel, Food
reasonable and varied, Nice and compact little village with a few restaurants and bars

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyKDQChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there during August while participating at the European Forum Alpbach. The service is very friendly and people do care about your needs. Clean with nice view and short distance from the centre this hotel is certainly a choice for someone visiting Alpbach. Some rooms though have a problematic connection with the wifi, especially the ones further away from the reception desk.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mixalis0026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The view from this hotel is superb and Alpbach itself is simply stunning (though it's a steep climb up from the main road at the bottom of the valley - better catch one of the regular buses to save your feet).

Andreas and Madeleine, the owners, were exceedingly helpful and friendly, whilst Adrienne (the evening waitress) was an angel. The food was excellent - there are two choices of main course every night, whilst the wine was reasonably priced and very good too.

The bus takes just 5 minutes to get to the Wiedersbergerhorn cable lift (15 minute walk, but that's DOWNHILL, remember!)

You receive a pass giving free travel within a 15km radius on the buses as well as free use of the two nearby mountain lifts AND the chairlift at Sonnwendjochbahn.

There are other restaurants in the village should you wish to eat out and there is a nearby Spar supermarket for all your day to day requirements.

All in all a very pleasant week's stay and I can certainly recommend this hotel as an excellent base for exploration irrespective of the time of year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiddleEnglander99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alpbach hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantikhotel Boglerhof
0.2 mi away
Alpbacherhof Hotel
Alpbacherhof Hotel
#2 of 9 in Alpbach
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alphof
Hotel Alphof
#4 of 9 in Alpbach
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zur Post
Hotel Zur Post
#6 of 9 in Alpbach
68 reviews
2.2 mi away
Furstenhof Guest House
Furstenhof Guest House
#7 of 9 in Alpbach
25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bergwald
Bergwald
#1 of 46 in Alpbach
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Andreas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Andreas

Property: Haus Andreas
Address: Hnr. 394, Alpbach 6236, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Alpbach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Alpbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haus Andreas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing