We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveler rating
323
56
12
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
56
12
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting beautiful hotel dining rooms church bells large bar hope to return outdoor pool pillow menu wide range of activities spa treatments tirolean style dinner menu lovely garden main lounge this family run hotel non skiers every evening
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 404 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Great Hotel in one of the best locations in Austria, Hotel is in the centre of the village, arrived late (9.30 p.m.), Check in was immediate and our bags were taken to our room whilst we went to the bar to try and find some food, there was no problem because they have a room service menu, they offered to cook something from the main menu but we declined.

Room,

We had a Sonnjoch room in the new wing, it was spacious and very clean, duvets were rolled on the beds which were 2 singles pushed together and a sofa bed made for our young son.
Bathroom was immaculate with shower, bath, hairdryer etc. Toilet was separate from bathroom.
Our room overlooked the mountains.

Food,

We went half board, breakfasts were what you would expect from a four star hotel, good buffet selection with a choice of hot breakfast (Bacon and eggs).
Evening meals were mainly themed, (e.g. Romantic evening meal on Valentines day) all evening meals were four or five courses and of the highest quality. Not much choice for children though and our son struggled a bit to find something he liked (even on the children's menu that was mainly carved from the adult menu, same meat less vegetables). Wine was reasonably priced.

Service,

All staff were extremely pleasant, the week we went was quiet (the week before half term) and the staff went out of their way to talk to us, all seemed happy in their work and genuinely interested in their guests.

Other,

The hotel offers a great indoor/outdoor swimming pool, spa and games room. We went on an organised candlelit walk, wine tasting in the Hotel cellar and a ski exhibition by the instructors (held right outside the Hotel) all for free. Live music was provided both in the intimate restaurant and the large Hotel Bar. This hotel is very family friendly although the sauna rules would probably make most Brit's wary of taking the kids near it. Television if you only speak English consists of BBC World news or Sky news, which was a disappointment for our son, there are plenty of board games and cards in the bar however to keep the family amused. It was our sons first time skiing and the location was ideal with plenty of blue runs for him to practice on and a nursery slope right next door to the Hotel. All in all a great holiday and Hotel we will be returning.

Room Tip: We had a room in the new wing with great views and plenty of space
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDUF, Manager at Hotel Boglerhof, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Fatlegs,

thank you very much for your review! It is a big pleasure for us that you have fully enjoyed your first family skiing holiday.

Lovely to hear, that you liked your room as well as the food and all the other infrastructure of the Romantikhotel Böglerhof. Thank you also for your compliment concerning our staff.

We hope, we may welcome you all again very soon and remain with kindest regards from Alpbach,
Family Duftner & the Böglerhof staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

First off and having read some of the reviews: to clarify about 'Romantikhotels'. In the bar we found a comprehensive history of the hotel and (with my school-German) I learned that the word Romantik tends to mislead English speakers. It is more (I think) about the heritage and atmosphere of the place, and certainly does not mean it is especially suitable for couples. That said, as a couple we DID enjoy our stay. It is very family-friendly and, if we had not been out ski-ing all day, we could have become tired of children running noisily in the corridors. But they were not doing it at night, so no problemn for us.

My 4/5 rating is definitely a 4+. The owners staff and make every effort to ensure guests are happy. We arrived about 9pm and found a big plate of cold meats, cheese etc in our room - very welcome after tiny food on the plane. Every evening there was something special: live music in the dining rooms, fondue evenings, free drink with owner, or special food like starters buffet (fabulous) or puddings buffet. Breakfasts were great too, lots of choice and every morning a mini-newsletter in English with what's-on, attractions in the area, history of Alpbach etc. (Perhaps some room for improvement with this - and translation of the 24/hr clock, e.g. 03pm just confused more than 15.00 would have!) but a nice touch & marks for effort.

So why not 5/5? The beds were a bit hard for our liking. There was no kettle, so no early morning tea - my husband was disappointed, having brought teabags from home! There is a no-textiles rule in the saunas/steam room, so my new tummy-flattering cozzie was only of use in the pool. Mixed naked saunas: a challenge for Brits I think. But the facilties are there and we did use them. Staff were smiling, friendly and efficient but busy bustling about - not the sort of place where they can stop and chat. On our final night we were woken up by loud noise close by, so the walls must be quite thin but the rest of the week it was fine. If we had been in more in the afternoons the children thundering about would have grated.

Tip re. dining rooms: a table is allocated for the week, but if you don't like where you are sitting on the first day, ask to be moved. We met someone who did this on the last day, a lone traveller who had been all week in with huge noisy groups. But if you ask they will sort it.

Overall it was ideal for us, our first ski trip in 20 yrs for me, 30 for him. We had the spa and pool for those first few days when we only wanted a short day ski-ing. The nursery slope (for our first day) is right by the hotel. It was very convenient for the ski bus. Plenty of intermediate runs for 1 week. Ate too much. Lovely Austrian red wine at dinner. And Alpbach has some nice bars! So very positive, we had a great time in a beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for the second-cheapest, not the cheapest rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDUF, Manager at Hotel Boglerhof, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Mrs. Liz C!

Thank you for taking your time to send us such a nice and detailled review! We are very glad, that you have spent an excellent stay in the Romantikhotel Böglerhof, which you did fully enjoy.Lovely, that you have even taken your time to read the history of the Böglerhof!

Thank you for giving us a 4+. It is a big pleasure for us and all our staff that you were very happy with all the different areas in the Böglerhof. Certainly we´ll work on our English translations...! At your next visit we kindly ask you to tell us at the beginnig of your stay, that you would like softer matresses - we have different ones to choose for our guests. Further we also have kettles at the reception and will be pleased to bring one up to your room for your early morning tea.

Dear Mrs. Liz C we are looking forward to welcome you again in our house and hope that it will not take another 20 years until your coming skiing trip. We are very much looking forward to welcome you in the Romantikhotel Böglerhof again and remain with kindest regards from Alpbach,
Family Duftner & the Böglerhof staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Firstly let me say that this is a beautiful hotel.

We stayed here 3 years ago to celebrate our 25th anniversary and enjoyed it very much. We returned to Alpbach this year and booked dinner in this hotel to celebrate our anniversary - what a total let down!

We had booked on a Wednesday night as they told us they had an extensive "Italian style starter buffet" - when we arrived at 8pm it was as though a plague of locusts had swarmed on the buffet, with only a few scraps left.

The main courses were bland in flavour though nicely presented.

WORST of all was the service, no wine list offered, plates left for 20 minutes between courses and it took us over 30 minutes to get the bill and we gave up trying to pay instead we had to walk out to the hotel reception before the waitress even tried to get our money.

if there had been anyone on reception we would have complained but instead we will vote with our feet and wallet and NEVER eat here again. Such a pity.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank orkneypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDUF, Manager at Hotel Boglerhof, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear orkneypat!

Thank you for your review and your impressions of your anniversary dinner. It makes us very sad, that you have obviously not spent a very delightful evening in our restaurant. We are deeply sorry for that and believe me, we will work hard, that something like this will not happen again.

It is lovely though that you have had some excellent memories from 3 years ago, when you have stayed in the Romantikhotel Böglerhof and that you are still thinking that the Böglerhof is a beautiful hotel.

Yours, family Duftner & the Böglerhof staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

How amazing is this hotel! The food is 5-star, the staff fall over themselves to help you out, Santa arrives on Christmas eve on a tractor!, Christmas is everywhere, the rooms are perfect - we just loved our first white Christmas here. There could not have been a more perfect place to stay. Thanks so much for making our Christmas so special

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 92Karen_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDUF, Manager at Hotel Boglerhof, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear 92Karen_C!

Thank you for your review - it makes us very happy, that you have had a wonderful white Christmas...! We did our best and it is very lovely that it has worked out! You came a long way from Australia and therefore it is double nice that you´ve spent perfect winter holidays in the Romantikhotel Böglerhof! Great, that you have fully enjoyed our food, the staff and even Santa Claus.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the Romantikhotel Böglerhof and remain with kind regards from Alpbach,
the Duftner family & the Böglerhof staff....as well as Santa...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

In twenty years of visiting ski hotels across Europe, we found this the best one we have stayed in. The accommodation and food are both excellent. There is a lovely spa area, swimming pool and bar, but what sets this hotel apart is the excellent level of service. We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDUF, Manager at Hotel Boglerhof, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Mr. Grant W!

We are very glad that you have found the Böglerhof after many years of skiing and would like to say thank you for your visit and lovely review! It is superb that you have liked our staff, the food, the room and that you have fully enjoyed the Böglerhof services! It makes us very excited to hear that!

We hope that we may welcome you again in our house and remain with kind regards from Alpbach,
family Duftner & the Böglerhof staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews